We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wary because of reviews but very pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Corvinus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Corvinus to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Corvinus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 57-59 | 1060 Vienna, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wary because of reviews but very pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was staying here for a work trip and was travelling alone. I'd read reviews which had made me wary of the location, about paying in cash up front and about poor service. However, I loved this little hotel and felt very safe away from home.

The location is on one of the main strips in Vienna, I was a 5 minute walk from a large supermarket which was perfect. The entrance to the hotel looks a little run down, and I didn't use the lifts instead choosing the wide staircase every time.

The hotel owner was lovely, he asked if I would be paying up front, and I simply asked if I could pay on check out and he said this was no problem. From there they couldn't do enough for me, even bringing me cups of tea to my room whenever I wanted. (there was no kettle in the room but there was a well stocked mini bar)

I was in one of the rooms which I think is away from the main street so it was very quiet. The room was pretty small but I was very comfortable, and had space to do my work and with great wifi!

Breakfast was pretty good, lots of meats, cheese, eggs and bread and great coffee.

I was really happy here, and would definitely go back. The location alone is fantastic making it easy for shopping, and also for getting to the airport as you're only a short walk away from a subway stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
32
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for four nights while visiting Vienna. It is located in a convenient area only a block away from the Metro and from there only a couple of stops to the center of the city.

While we were there there was quite a bit of construction going on, so it was noisy in the morning since the workmen started early. Mariahifer Strasse is a busy street with many stores and there was quite a bit of street noise at night too. It was unusually hot when we were there, and getting the air conditioner to work correctly was a struggle. We had to ask the owner a couple of times for the remote control for the air conditioner; I think he thought it would be sufficient just to keep the windows open, but that didn't work because there wasn't much air in the room and there was a lot of noise from the street.

The room was modern and the bathroom crisp and updated. The breakfast in the morning was good, but got repetitive after a few days. The coffee was wonderful.

There is a beautiful church that we enjoyed visiting next door to the building where the hotel is located.

The Hotel Pension Corvinus was a convenient, reasonably priced, and nice place to stay during our trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: It would probably be better to get a room that faces the inner courtyard, not the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here recently for two nights. My first impression was not good, The gentleman checking me n who i belive to be the owner barely spoke to me, he did have various conveersations with other staff and another guest (who he got up walked away from the desk to get the other guest a coffee leaving me waiting for my room) when he finnnally got around to checking me in he informedd me (at 3pm) my room was not ready and wait there a few minutes... eventually he brought me to the room and stood waiting for a tip I presume all that was missing was the hand out,
The room was lovely, very clean a real credit to housekepping and the bed was comfy. The hotel itself is in a brilliant location maybe 10 minutes from all the sights and there is plenty around the hotel to keep yourself occupied. also free wi fi in the hotel is a plus. Foe those first time travellers who would not be good with buses etc the hotel provide a transfer to the airport for around €30. mini bar in the room with €2.50per item is not too bad either.
on check out there was another gentleman there not friendly either. the owner went down to the room to check everything was ok he then came back up shouting that i had brroken something. he accused me of breaking a window in the room. a window that I did not use. he said if it was not me it was my guest... I travelled alone? he told me it would cost €100 to fix I think to appeal to my better nature to offer money needles to say I did not as I did not touch the window. he then proceded to explain my bill how much Bed and breakfast was, What? breakfast oh thank you very much for informing me that you serve breakfast when I am checking out!!!!

For the sake of the hotel they need a new front of house man. You are working in hospitality start acting like it!!!

Room Tip: Do not expect much on service from the owner. everything else is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second stay here, and it felt like coming home. It is a small and comfortable hotel on the upper floors of a building on Vienna's busiest shopping street, bustling by day and quiet at night. It is beautifully located, a block from a subway station, just a couple of stops from St. Stephan's Platz one way and the Westbahnhof the other, and a comfortable walk from the Ringstrasse and Naschmarkt, very near the restaurants of the Spittalberg area. The host, Zoltan Esti, is very accomodating and helpful, arranged to have our laundry done and arranged for a ride to the airport. Comfortable beds, good breakfasts, and a computer in the lobby for our use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherlodec6
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked our reservation six months in advance of our stay. While we were traveling around Europe, I got a message telling me there was a problem with our reservation (from a third-party booking agency). Because I didn't know who this agency was, I contacted the hotel directly about our reservation. I was told they indeed canceled our reservation-but they did have "one" room left (of course, that would have been MY room they just cancelled). I could, however, make a new reservation, but because congress was in-town and they were fully booked it was a significant increase in-cost. (That would have totally blew our budget!) It appears they "cancelled" our reservation, but when we called about it it - they wanted more money. They put us in a horrible position trying to find a hotel, at the last minute, in a city where all the hotel rooms were sold-out. This is why I booked six months in advance. We walked by this hotel during our stay and "checked it out' to see where we would have been staying. The entrance was in a scary alley-type/hall-way which was all under construction and the elevator was very tiny. Our friends stayed at a hotel next door and complained about the noise - so I can imagine this property was loud, too. Awful - I would not recommend!

Room Tip: To find a good room - choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

With booking.com and my IPad an error was made and a reservation was made for a night I was already booked elsewhere. The gentleman called at midnight asking if I was coming and I told him a mistake had been made and I wanted the next two nights. The price went up 50 euro for the next two nights. He gave me no refund for the night the mistake was made. He tried to get us to pay cash but we raised a ruckus on that front. The rooms was incredibly small, the beds were funky, and the street noise both nights from late night partiers was terrible. I would NOT recommend this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you do your homework on reading reviews and check the room out before you give payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just like in the other review I was taken aback when checking in because of the small elivator taking us to the 3rd floor and a locked door at the entrance to the Hotel. But my doubts were dispelled very quickly after an extremely friendly welcome by the owner of the Hotel. The room was pretty nice, very clean with a nice big and tidy bathroom. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. I slept away hardly waking up in the night. The only drawback (and it is not the Hotel's fault) is that it is increadibly noisy in the mornings startingt from around 6:30 am. There is a major renovation going on downstairs. Frankly speaking I don't know if the noise is made by them or people cleaning the steets. But be prepaired to lots of shouting and trucks unloading something really heavy. I can't say anything about the breakfast as I never used it.
The location of the Hotel is perfect to me. It has the U-bahn that will take you to most historical places. But actually you can reach them by walking if you are a fan of walks.
So, I recommend the Hotel if you don't mind early wake up ;)

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms facing the inner yard but if there are do ask for it because tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Corvinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Corvinus

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 57-59 | 1060 Vienna, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#95 Family Hotel in Vienna
#112 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pension Corvinus 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Corvinus Hotel Pension Vienna a cozy, family-run hotel directly on the Mariahilfer Strasse, Vienna's biggest shopping street, just a few steps away from an underground station. Corvinus Hotel Pension offers newly renovated, spacious rooms with air conditioning, soundproofed windows and free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel. Also an internet corner is available. The subway Station "Neubaugasse"(line U3) is located in the immediate vicinity. From there you can reach St. Stephen's Cathedral, the heart of the city, in a few minutes. Many attractions such as the MuseumsQuarter and the State Opera House can be reached from the Corvinus Hotel Pension also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pension Corvinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corvinus Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Corvinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.