We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linzer Strasse = the way to LINZ :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosen Hotel Europahaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rosen Hotel Europahaus to your Saves list
Rosen Hotel Europahaus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzerstrasse 429, Vienna 1140, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Linzer Strasse = the way to LINZ :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

For me was the best choice. I was on the way to Salzburg (Linz, Germany, Switzerland, Italy...) and I had free parking (which is gold when you stay in Vienna). The Hotel is situated in a castel's parc and is near to the highway to Linz. The price was around 42 Euros with a breakfast for two (last minute booking). The rooms are big, the windows are big, the beds (double beds) are big. Yes (as I saw in other reviews) looks like a student campus but is functional. There are also minibars in the rooms (you can keep your food there) and flat screen TVs. The bathroom is large enough (a shower, hair blower and a sink). The room was perfectly clean and free of bad odours. The staff was friendly and supportive (they show me the way to reach the city center and the way to Linz). The breakfast was not "deluxe" but good enough (coffee pot on the tables filled with a good quality coffee), salami, ham, yogurts... buffet (all you can eat). The waitresses were very serious and young, "old school" dressed :-). At 4 minute walk is a tram station (Linie 49) which combined with Subway no 3 helps you to find Stephansdom in 30 minutes. The least but not the last is the large parc with old trees and grass fields between them, you can have a picnic there if you want.The bottom line: it was fun and cheap to stay there.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the north side are quieter because on the south side is a train railway (but fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
27
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here with a school group - having stayed in wonderful hotels for the whole trip, this was a real let down. It is basically a student dorm, no air con, rocks for beds, slow/non existent internet connection, extremely rude hotel staff, tiniest bathroom I have ever been into, broken tiles in room, strange and limited breakfast... the list goes on. Definitely avoid here, when staying in Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

For the price you pay (in Vienna!!!), the hotel is rather good - a bit old fashioned, but spacious and clean rooms, free parking, buffet breakfast, very nice and quiet location near a park. Although it's far from the city centre, the tram station is only 200m away and the tram takes you to the very centre in some 25min. The receptionist was really kind, gave us a map and explained how to get to the city centre, etc.
The first problem they need to solve as soon as possible is the breakfast staff - it's awful! When we went to have our breakfast the first morning, I was shocked - some 30% of the tables were occupied and almost all of the remaining (already empty) tables were covered with dirty dishes! The staff was walking calmly and seemed not being aware of the fact. From my experience as a traveler, the staff clean the tables as soon as possible, sometimes even before you leave. Another annoying thing was that german-austrian tradition of serving the coffee directly to the customers in those thermos-like "kettles". The only difference from Germany was that in Germany they notice new people in the breakfast area and bring you your coffee. Here, however, every morning I had to ask for my coffee - the staff was walking in vain, doing nothing and didn't even bother to serve the tables. With 5-7 people having breakfast, they were so "busy", that they didn't notice that there was no hot water for making tea, no glasses for juice, no more cheese, etc. Unbelievable! Such a mess with so few people at breakfast! In general, breakfast is poor - basically bread, butter, cheese, ham and yogurt.
Wi-fi works properly only in the lobby. Don't expect double bed, no matter that you've clearly indicated this while booking the hotel - you'll get 2 separate beds in different corners of the room. But having said that I must admit that in Vienna this is quite a good choice for the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel is simple and clean. Breakfast included. Nice park outside.
I'd like it more if there was a kingsize bed, not two-part.
Very good choice for two nights, and not spending time in room.
Parking is free and safe, which is big plus.
Location is OK if having a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

we stayed in this hotel in June 2014, just for one night - it was good, nice room (nothing special, but for 50 euros per night for two and with brekfast - in Vienna?) ,nice location, breakfast was great (they have boiled eggs - you just need to ask for them and in 1 minute you have one) , there was fridge, air condition, hair dryer, bed was comfortable, even if it was older, there are more restaurants around so you just need to choose one, nice park around, where you can sit and relax - definitely it was good decision to stay in Europahaus in Vienna! (maybe for longer trip you can choose a better hotel, for short stays it's really fine)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in december 2013. The hotel is not really a hotel, it's a student-dorm. The beds are worn- out, so are the pillows and bed-spread. You get your own bathroom which is a plus, even though it is very small and not exactly spotless..
The price is ok, considering you also have breakfast for the money. Breakfast is also nothing much, no eggs, boiled or otherwise. Good hotel if you need a place for 1 night and don' t care much about breakfast.
If you are a picky person, go for another place!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as our daughter was a resident in the dorm area of Europahaus. It met my expectation. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. We had a triple room and it was large enough to accommodate us comfortably. Breakfast was always good and the food was fresh with the hot stuff always hot and the cold sty puff always cold. Breads, meats, yogurt, juice, etc. a typical European breakfast, at least compared to my other experiences. The staff was always quick to answer questions and offer assistance when it was needed. Bus stops directly in front of the hotel and the train station is only 3 bus stops away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosen Hotel Europahaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Hotel Europahaus

Address: Linzerstrasse 429, Vienna 1140, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosen Hotel Europahaus 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rosen Hotel Europahaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosen Hotel Europahaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.