We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz to your Saves list
Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coburgbastei 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

In terms of atmosphere, more like a boutique hotel, but in a grand renovated palace.

I had a split-level suite that was very well equipped: kitchen, complimentary drinks, loose-leaf tea, espresso machine, separate guest toilet, two flat-screen TVs, Bose stereo, small laptop with complimentary Internet (first time I see this), bathroom with separate shower and toilet. Some of the decoration and layout is quirky, and the cupboards look shabby.

The hotel is quiet and you do not see a lot of staff around, but service is very good: check in in the room, welcome with champagne + fruit + chocolate + cake, full turndown service. Some of the textiles (bed mat for turndown, spa robe) are from the excellent Porthault brand, which I use at home but rarely come across in hotels (Frette, for example, is more common).

The spa on the top floor is not very large but of high quality: fitness equipment with TV screens, wet and dry saunas (+ cold plunge pool, which is very rare in city hotels), pool. In addition I had the spa all to myself for a few hours.

I did not try the restaurant but I did have breakfast in the bistro, which is a la carte and first rate, especially the freshly prepared thin pancakes (Palatschinken) with home-made apricot jam.

Very expensive (watch out, rates are going up for 2009) but worth it, considering the size of the rooms and the overall performance.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
19
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with our 18 month old baby and we couldn't have done better. I had looked into this hotel but didn't book our stay here because we didn't see many reviews. Now that we've experienced it, I must share it with others. We actually started at the Hotel Sacher and moved to Coburg when we didn't get the room we reserved at Sacher. We walked to Coburg and asked if they had rooms available and they showed us one of them and we were sold. Palais Coburg was an amazing property and is what anyone would consider to be pure luxury. The hotel is an old palace converted to a hotel and the service, amenities, and accommodations are all fit for royalty. The room we stayed in had 2 floors with a bedroom and a huge bathroom upstairs and living room, kitchenette and half bath downstairs. Everything was extremely luxurious and the attention to details (from the switch of the light fixtures to a bathrobe for my baby) was amazing. One thing we really appreciated about this hotel compared to the Sacher was the friendliness of the staff. They were laid back and helpful in every way without making you feel uncomfortable. The restaurant where we had breakfast everyday (breakfast is included in your room rate) had great food with fruit tray, hot breakfast options, fresh juices, etc. The staff always made us feel comfortable despite my kid spilling drinks on the table and wanting to run around the place. Another bonus for this hotel is its spa/pool which is not common for European city hotels. The facilities were immaculate and we had the place all to ourselves every day we went there. So, what is the downside for this place? It's expensive. Although if you add in breakfast for two (at least 50euros) and free internet (which costs 25euros/day elsewhere) you are getting the best value relative to the other 5 star hotels in Vienna. It costs us 50euros more per night to stay here but it was well worth it. If you are planning to splurge and are used to traveling where everything is done just right, this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Accommodations and Service
  • Disliked — Price but was worth it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

Very comfortable suite, staff were friendly and attentive without being overly intrusive or too formal, which can often be the case in luxury class hotels. Garden with outdoor bar and eating area was great as weather was surprisingly hot - 30C! Hotel located within short walking distance of Cathedral and v. near to 'ring road' where you can catch a tram which will drop you near to many of the tourist sights. Formal restaurant was good too - an amazing wine list if you are a wine buff! Gym and pool small but adequate and best of all hardly used so I had the pool to myself everyday.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster United Kigdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

This place has to be experienced to be belived. As my title says, I have reviewed over 40 5star hotels throughout the world and this is the only one that I have ever awarded 5 stars to.

If you are in Vienna and can afford the the rooms then treat yourself and stay. There is no city hotel that comes close to the discreet and wonderful Palais Coburg. If you arrive by car, you are in for a double treat with the magic valet parking facility. The staff are all wondeful, the bedrooms sublime, the first hotel where you do not need to upgrade to a suite or big room because even the smallest rooms are huge duplex's.

Well done the Palais Coburg for showing all the other so called 5 star establishments how it should, and can be done. And Im including Mandarin Oriental and all the hot Carribian "hot spot" hotel in this.

All the reception staff /concierge/hotel designers of the world top hotel should be sent to Vienna to witness how thing SHOULD be done.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz

Address: Coburgbastei 4, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palais Coburg Hotel ResidenzThe Palais Coburg in the heart of Vienna offers culture and luxury comfort to its guests in elegant ambiance. Here it is possible to experience six centuries of building history in an architectural piece of art which was built on the former defence wall of the emperor's city, and as it was in the 19th century , the late residence of the House of Coburg-Gotha with its grand ceremonial rooms is still a venue for elegant representation. Furthermore the Palais Coburg is a place for culinary indulgence, presentation of rare wines and a house in which guests, who love the extraordinary, like to linger.35 suites offer guests of Palais Coburg between 54 m² and 165 m² - an average of 100 m². Most of the suites are spread over two stories and each is uniquely furnished and presents a fascinating combination of valuable historic elements, technological conveniences and modern design. Each suite is dedicated to an important member of the Sachsen-Coburg and Gotha family dynasty who was significant in the history of Palais Coburg. In this way the suites of Palais Coburg also honour the service of royal families from Great Britain, France, Hungary, Portugal, Bulgaria, Belgium and Austria.Chef Silvio Nickol and his team are synonymous with creative cuisine of the highest level. The gourmet restaurant at the Palais Coburg is a place of comprehensive, contemporary dining culture. Creative interpretation of classic dishes and exceptionally composed innovations as well as subtly arranged interaction of food and wine are the main topics. In the wine list more than five thousand positions are listed.The sommeliers are devoted to the care and best presentation of fine wines and Chef Silvio Nickol provides adequate creations to accompany the exceptional vintages from the Palais Coburg Wine Archive .The Basteigarten Restaurant we will offer our guests light and creative cuisine throughout the day. Also, the concept with two exceptional premises, the Garden Pavilion and the Wine Bar which exhibits the harmonious integration of a modern architectural element into a historic setting, will remain unchanged.The extensive Bastion Garden is also available to our guests during the warm months of the year. Leisurely hours can be pleasantly spent under the large trees in the attractively arranged garden while enjoying superb cuisine. Exquisite coffee and a comprehensive breakfast choice offer an inspiring day’s beginning. A lunch menu that displays finesse without being pretentious can be enjoyed with an outstanding selection of wines. Freshly baked cakes, pastries and famous Viennese coffee specialties invite one for a relaxing afternoon break. In the evening, our extraordinary selection of wines can be enjoyed with exceptional dishes created especially to accompany them.The Palais Coburg has several event venues which offer various ambiences. The Bastion Foyer in the entrance area exhibits a distinctive combination of modern architecture with historic architectural substance. Above the city mural, one gains entry to the mundane Coburg vaults in the first cellar storey. The red brick walls of the underground casemates take one back to the Renaissance era and immerse the guest in the history of the Palais and the Bastion of Vienna. In the second story, the Beletage, one finds the Johann Strauss Concert Hall and the Ceremonial Rooms which have been restored to their original splendor from the 19th century. Two outdoor staircases lead from the Ceremonial Rooms to the Bastion Garden. The office rooms of the Beletage offer modernly equipped offices in rooms with elegant and historic atmospheres. All of these venues are furnished with high quality materials and modern technology to ensure the guests of Palais Coburg an exquisite experience and make the aspired goals of event organizers possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.