We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty middle eastern food, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zina's Restaurant

Zina's Restaurant
Praterstr. 55 | Nahe Praterstern, Vienna A-1020, Austria (Formerly Zina's Restuarant) (Leopoldstadt)
01 2121 881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 2,887 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tasty middle eastern food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Small bistro-like restaurant with a cosy atmosphere and very friendly service. Small selection but authentic and delicious. We had a selection of starters including humus and falafel and aubergines....just right. The bread basket included thin bread called lavash...fresh, thin as should be and just delicious. We also had the magic ravlioli, the real name shish Barak...very good.
İf the weather permits, you can sit at the tables on the sidewalk, the street lined with trees and not too much traffic.
İf you like middle eastern food....dont miss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience! Warm atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent a great evening with friends in Zina's - very interesting choice of food, nice atmosphere and friendly staff! Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I chose this place for dinner as it looked lovely from the outside and the reviews on Zina's website were positive. I think that maybe Zina's has been writing their own reviews as our experience was not good. The service was OK but the food was terrible. The dish my husband ordered was average but my dish was horrible. I wanted something light so I ordered the Costal Salad. It was swimming in oil. The dish was a glass bowl full of oil with a few chickpeas and even fewer tomatoes thrown in. The bowl had at least 0.5 litre of oil as the chickpeas were swimming in it, just like a soup. I could not eat it. We also ordered a side of homemade chips (which we were given a small bowl with only 11 chips for €2.90) and a Mediterranean bread selection (which comprised only 1 baguette slice and 2 skinny strips of lavash). Bread and potatoes are basic and cheap ingredients so I do not understand why a restaurant would serve such meagre portions. We will not be back. Try another restaurant as there are plenty of better options in this area of Vienna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

During our stay in Vienna we had walked past the restaurant a couple of times; it always looked busy and the food looked great. On our last night we ate there. What a disappointment.

We sat down outside and the waitress took our drinks order fairly quickly. The drinks came, along with the menus. It was 20 minutes until anyone came back and took our food order. Food on other tables came and went. Eventually our waitress came back and re-confirmed our food order - it was only two items; chicken skewers and lamb cutlets, hardly difficult. An hour after placing the food order the plates arrived!

The food was nicely presented, but this is where the praise ends. Chicken skewers were cold and raw in the middle. The spinach that accompanied the lamb cutlets was stone cold - not a nice combination and the cutlets themselves were different thicknesses, meaning that they were either over cooked or very under cooked.

In summary, the service was very very slow and the food poorly cooked. We will not return and would not recommend a visit to readers of this post.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zina's Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zina's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zina's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.