We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent culinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edvard

Edvard
Schottenring 24, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)
+43 1 23610008082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $50 - $106
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Creating true flavour does not require many ingredients, provided they are of supreme quality, harmonise well and are prepared with consummate skill. Head chef Philipp Vogel and his creative team use only the freshest seasonal ingredients to create simple, yet sophisticated culinary treats. 1 Michelin-Star & 15 Points Gault-Millau
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

According to Tobias Winderl, the Gastgeber, the restaurant changes its menu every couple of weeks so you will always be able to try something new. Much of the produce is locally grown in the nearby area, so it is fresh and often unique. The chef is creative, inspiring and masterful. Each dish had a combination of at least five to six different elements that when combined exploded with flavor. We enjoyed each of the three chef complimentary tastes, then indulged in a four course meal. We can honestly tell you it was the best dining experience we've ever had in our lives and we are grateful that we made reservations two weeks before arriving in Vienna. It was well worth it. The service was excellent and the food was superb. A must try. Price to value was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    11
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Imaginative dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A very comfortable dining room with plenty of privacy and a lovely view to Schottenring outside made the overall experience very pleasant.
We were greeted and served by very friendly and smiling waiters and set for a three course meal which took us in a lot of directions with an imaginative use of very fresh and lovely ingredients.

My first was blackwurst on potatoes, lamb lettuce and onions. In Denmark, blackwurst is mostly served hot with apple stew and cinnamon - a totally different serving - and thus this serving was a quite different adventure. I really enjoyed it.

The deer with strawberries and asparagus in a lovely balsamic sauce was also a new combination in my universe. I thought to be a success.

Our rhubarb dessert was the evenings most debated course. I was very fond of it as it had a lot of hidden gems, I thought to be terrific, whilst my mother thought it to be terrible. But she is wrong and I am writing this review, so it was good. ;-)

There were some small flaws along the way, but it doesn't shadow the overall experience as being very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Creative menu and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Edvard on Saturday June 7, 2014. The slogan says "Fresh cuisine" which says it all: fresh ingredients, fresh combinations of those ingredients, and fresh presentations, along with a fresh young, enthusiastic and engaging staff that made our evening highly enjoyable.

We were greeted by Tobias Winderl, who, we soon discovered, knew everything about the menu, the extensive wine list, and fine food in general, and he shared his knowledge in a very pleasant and friendly way. He seemed genuinely excited to have us at the restaurant, and all night long he and the servers all were friendly, engaging and attentive. This was a little surprising because we don't speak any German and sometimes language problems as can be a barrier. Not here. All of the staff were accomplished English speakers, and seemed genuinely friendly.

The food itself was wonderful and a couple of the dishes uniquely unforgettable. The opening amuse bouche was a goose liver pâté in phyllo dough. I could have had another ten servings of that. And my deer loin with strawberries and balsamic sauce was worthy of last-meal status, especially when paired with a suggested local wine. Finally, the parting gift from the chef was some sweets, one of which - a chocolate covered frozen cherry ice cream on a stick - made me glad the deer loin hadn't been my last meal.

In the best fine food restaurants you get great cuisine and a great staff. At Edvard you certainty get both. Besides Tobias, with his extensive knowledge and engaging personality, there was also Natascha whose friendly smile, quick laugh and wonderful service made the evening truly memorable. I highly recommend Edvard for its take on "fresh cuisine."

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A new high end dining place in Vienna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Vienna isn't exactly rich in fine dining restaurants. Hence, Edvard is a welcome addition! Unlike most hotel restaurants, it offers exquisite cuisine served in a stylish (yet not over-styled) ambiente with impeccable service. Four experienced and much-travelled diners agreeing (as we did) that the evening was just perfect - this don't happen too frequently. BTW, also wines by the glass were extraordinary and tasting of two or three before deciding was generously offered. An experience to be recommended and repeated. Not overpriced at all considering the quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were in Vienna for a 2 day trip including a Robbie Williams concert. For the second day we booked a good restaurant for the second day (online booking) and we were not dissapointed.
Staff was very friendly and the food was excellent!
And when we left we even got a pastry as a present for the next day! Great idea and ofcourse was also very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edvard also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Edvard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edvard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.