We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna to your Saves list
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Service, amenities and location are top notch! Worth the money. My husband and I took advantage of the free bikes they have for loan to guests to ride around the city. Spa is small but high end. The hotel is in walking distance to several nice restaurants. Breakfast was not included in our package. While the hotel food is exquisite, it is pricey so we opted to eat at a nearby bakery-cafe with the locals most mornings. Just beware that many cafés in the neighborhood are closed on weekends. If you are in Vienna to see the sights, make sure to allow time to enjoy the luxurious appointments in the room - iPad, amazing bathtub, etc.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    72
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
99
297
20
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels although the level of service and hospitality here is outstanding! Every single element was excellent. Every staff member displayed a warm, friendly, yet highly professional attitude where it was their pleasure to be of assistance. You can tell the staff are happy and looked after as they are proud of the beautiful boutique hotel that they work in. The food amazing, the service amazing...enriched out stay in vienna!
Highly recommend the BMW bike ride around the ring! And Martin on concierge !

Room Tip: Just book here it is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Kempinski Vienna is very well located. Service is good and you can rent there bikes for free. Our room was too small but very clean. The bathroom was nice. The food is just ok and expensive. We had breakfast at the nearby motto am fluss which is more tasty and on the Donau river.
Overall if you get a reasonable price I recommend staying at this place in Vienna

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed there during 4 nights for wedding anniversary.
The experience was fantastic. The building is very beautiful and the comfort is extremely high. You feel pampered. The iPad in the room offers many services, including operating the tv, the air conditioning or the lights. The restaurant is excellent and the service is very personal. The best place in Vienna!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a very quiet room, take a room giving on the internal patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

good - brunch (expensive but good), lobby appearance, umm??

bad - wifi did not reach room and they could not get direct ethernet connection to work (i had critical, time-sensitive business issues to deal with at the time) & inept keystone-cops-like response to it from the front desk, room smelled like urine especially in the evenings (may be a vienna city-wide sewer issue, don't know), two bath towels & one soap bar for three people in a suite, did not have the bed configuration i'd reserved (had to vacate while they changed the furniture), 'modern' light switches supposed to be cool but you have to tap them a dozen times to get them to work, no trash can in the bathroom. i could go on but whatever, they're just coasting on being a nice looking building.

before you read whatever ex post facto response management puts up here, please see my personal review history. i don't always stay at 4 star hotels nor demand perfection, and i tend to be much more positive than negative as a reviewer. this hotel is not horrible (i.e. it has look of a nice hotel), it's just the worst value dollar for dollar that i've had in a long, long time. my negative comments may seem like nits, but it was 600 euro a night so maybe i'm feeling entitled to expect a little more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Mr R.,

I am terribly sorry to read your comment about your recent stay at our Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

Without going into detail and without trying to excuse or justify any of the service deficiencies you have mentioned, I would simply like to apologize to you for not having been able to wow you about our level of service - this, amongst other services, has been our success since the hotel opening and I am very proud of my team for ensuring the highest level of personalized service day in, day out.

Hence, my disappointment but at the same time knowing this reassures me that we will be able to do better in case you give us a second chance.

With kind regards,

Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed unfortunately only two nights in this stunning hotel. Great mixture of historical building and modern design. Rooms not to biggest but all spacious enough for a comfortable stay. Latest technology with iPads for placing room service orders etc. Top attentive and friendly service. Definitely my place in Vienna!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel is good throughout. Well staffed except for concegue where it is difficult to obtain their assistance especially if you are on rush. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant accessible to guests.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.