We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and easy access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simm's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Simm's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simm's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Simmeringer Hauptstrasse 55-57, Vienna 1100, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 368 hotels in Vienna
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great value for money and easy access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel is easily accessible by car and underground. Rooms are spacious, well furnished and breakfast very good. The only think I would warn you is parking garage. Ask reception for clear instructions to get to Hotel parking garage. There are two next to each other and one is only for long term parking (who would thought that 13 hours is a short term parking). if you park in it anyway, the fine is 50 EUR. Yes, 50€.
I was lucky and the person on the other side of the ring bell, just let me out, when I complained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
dear guest,

thank you very much for your vote and that they reflect their impressions here. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

your General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
48
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Hotel Simm's. It was a great comfort knowing that after a long day of touring Vienna's sites that we would come back to an incredible room. A very good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest

We are very concerned that our guests feel comfortable. Thanks for your entry.

Best regards

your General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 5 days in Simm's Hotel in june 2013. It is situated near the metro station Zippererstraße U3 that goes directly to the center of Vienna, Stephansplatz. On the same street you have many markets such as Billa, DM, Profi from where you can take the beverages or even food because the hotel does not have a restaurant to take the lunch or dinner. They only offer you the breakfast in the morning and a minibar (empty) in the room. Of course you can buy drinks from the reception.
A small advice: all shops are closing at 19:00, and a few at 19:30 so you should get your beverages earlier. We were walking all day long and reached hotel at 21:00 or 22:00 so we had to make the stock earlier.
The bed was excellent for us, so as the pillows. It was very quiet as we took the comfort plus double room and had Soundproofing. We had a coffee machine in the room and some coffee capsules.
We did enjoyed our visit at this hotel and would come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Hotelgast,
es freut un sehr, dass Sie zufrieden waren und bedanken uns sehr herzlich für Ihr Bewertung.
Mit freundichen Grüßen
die Hotelleitung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You don't expect to stay in the city centre on coach tours . This hotel has an underground next door and a tram line across the street with quick and easy transport. There is also a very good supermarket next door. I had researched the hotel that Newmarket had said we were staying at but it was changed at the last minute and even the guide Linda didn't know it. Not at all helpful. The blind leading the blind. No dinner facilities in the hotel and there was only a cafe and a pub across the street . Not much else in the vicinity. We were far too tired to go back into the city after a very long day where Newmarket deemed that after an early start and a long journey from Budapest that doing a 3 hour mostly walking tour of Vienna was a great idea with mostly elderly clientele and our guide said we really should go back into the city centre because it was so easy totally ignoring the fact that we were hot sticky and exhausted .Newmarket should never have booked us into a hotel with no restaurant or air conditioning in the rooms .Having said that the next day when we were refreshed we found it easy to go in to the Opera, Cathedral and found great restaurants. Hotel is minimalist and modern not quite finished in parts with a few snagging problems. Not much in the way of extras like toiletries but good hairdryer . Walk in shower no bath. Fabulous t.v but only one english channel BBC World News which only deals with foreign affairs etc.Free wifi throughout. Breakfast was fine . Not much hot food for veggies but lovely breads , cheese and yoghurt and fruit. Staff friendly and helpful. Air con not on in rooms and it was hot and very humid. Thunderstorms . It was on in restaurant and lobby. One of the group asked for a G&T priced at 10.30 euros.I might just pay that at a 5 star in the city centre but not in a hotel far out and in not a particularly salubrious area. I might stay there again for the right price but not suitable for a tour group .Tiny lifts so took ages to transport cases up to rooms by ourselves. Very worryingly we tried the emergency exits and they were locked.A disaster waiting to happen?

Room Tip: Ask for aircon to be switched on. Check the doors on the emergency exits are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
Best regards
the general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My short stay in this hotel was fine, but I’m not sure I would recommend it to a tourist, simply because of the somewhat crummy location. The 11th district of Vienna is a drab, working class suburb; it’s not seedy or dangerous, but there’s simply nothing of interest to the visitor. There are a few shops catering to a low budget crowd, a couple of (somewhat grungy) eateries, and the rest is all railway tracks and council estates – Brixton this ain't. The area is completely dead at night – again, not dangerous, but there’s simply no reason to walk around.

On the positive side, the hotel is right next to the tube station, and with Vienna’s excellent public transport, you are in the centre of town in fifteen minutes. The hotel is also very accessible to Wien Mitte station, where you get the fast train to and from the airport – this is the main reason I ended up staying there. So it is definitely a doable alternative to the generally overpriced hotels in the 1st district. Just don’t plan on doing anything in the neighbourhood; you would be staying near in town all the time, eat dinner around there, and only come back to the hotel to sleep. There is a bar on the ground floor of the hotel, but it is hardly a happening place, and there really isn't much reason to go there.

The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are done in a hip, upbeat way; the fittings can be on the cheap side, but nobody promised you a rose garden. The rates are reasonable so you get what you pay for. The wifi is free and is excellent, and the breakfast buffet is pretty good for this price range. All in all I have no real complaints – I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to stay there again, but if all the alternatives were too expensive (as was the case this time), I wouldn’t hesitate either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review to our hotel. Our location is very well because the underground is near by.

Have a good time.

Best regards

The general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I live in this area of Vienna and am reviewing this hotel on behalf of my in laws. The hotel is very contemporary and stylish with beautiful rooms. It is situated right next door to the U3 underground station making the city center just 15 minutes from your door. This is all fine BUT the area itself has nothing for the city breaker and I mean nothing. Almost everything worth seeing is on the other side of the city. I was shocked to see such high prices for this district. Even the bar has 1st district prices. This would be the perfect location if they eased off on the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. WIr hoffen, es hat Ihnen gefallen. Sie waren in unserem Haus zur Kongresszeit und deswegen gab es auch dementsprechene Preise. Der Tagespreis ist stets abhängig von der Belegung und ändert sich laufend.

Wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und verbleiben

mit freundlichen Grüßen

die Hoteleitung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Simm's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simm's Hotel

Address: Simmeringer Hauptstrasse 55-57, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 368 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simm's Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Simm's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simm's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;