We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dstrikt Steakhouse

Dstrikt Steakhouse
Schubertring 7 | The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna 1010 , Austria
+43 1 31188150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,867 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $17 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dstrikt Steakhouse is a farm-to-table steakhouse restaurant in Vienna for meat and local produce lovers. Guests experience an authentic local dining adventure enjoying the finest selection of Austrian meat cooked on a charcoal grill and served with delicious side dishes prepared from local products such as sauteed young spinach with braised garlic, cheese Spaetzle or purely enjoyed with Dstrikt's homemade bread. Beer from local microbreweries is another highlight adding to the ultimate Austrian dining experience at Dstrikt Steakhouse. The unique selection of wine focuses on a hand selected range of Austrian wines.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the Ritz and after a long day of shopping and museum visits we didn't have the energy to go in search of a different dining spot. We expected the dining room to be better than average and in fact it was a superb experience. The staff were friendly and efficient, the atmosphere comfortable and the food was beyond great.

An added bonus was that I felt the cost was very reasonable. Given the quality I would have expected the bill to be higher.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FORT MYERS
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Vienna's best in food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had dinner at the Dstrikt while staying at the attached Ritz Carlton. It was a terrific experience starting with the impeccable service. White asparagus was in season and we ordered two seafood entrees that included this delicious vegetable. We were not disappointed, the meals were fresh and oh, so tasty. The entire evening was delightful, we simply sat back and enjoyed every moment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Viennese with fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great service, interesting suggestions, first quality. Try the Wiener Schnitzel (probably the best in town) and the lamb. Winni Brugger (the chief) is well known from his other restaurant (Indochine) in Vienna, which we visited many many times. Dstrikt is more Austria-centered. A great, pleasant surprise!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
“So Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Yesterday I went to the Ritz-Carlton Dstrikt restaurant for dinner. It was a perfect evening!
Delicious food, lovley atmosphere, excellent wine and a fantastic service. Need to give a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gone Austrian, no Flair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were delighted to accept an invitation to dine at Dstrict, newly opened in the Ritz Carlton Hotel, especially as top gourmet cuisine is limited in Vienna. The presence of the chef, Wini Brugger, seems a bit pretentious as his larger-than-life signature on the wall dominates the space seen through the window when you look into the restaurant from the Ring.
Brugger is from Tirol and received his creative accolades originally in Vienna through introducing Austrian/Asian fusion food – a style already long established in California and a great addition ten years ago as a counterpart to tafelspitz and wiener schnitzel. Therefore, with anticipation, I looked at the menu – what? Austrian/predictable international?

The atmosphere is beige drab in a chic modern way. Breads were uneventful, some scattered with bits of hard prosciutto. The whole egg as first course was the best part, deep-fried in breadcrumbs, yolk still runny with a puree of potato and mock caviar. Then came lobster, which sounded Italian in preparation but was no more than a small tail and claw out of the shell, rubbery and tough. When my host asked me what I thought of the dish, not wanting to offend, I simply commented, ‘too bad the (supposedly) home-made linguine was cold, not hot’. I was thinking this lobster must come from Metro where restauranteurs shop for what you cannot get here otherwise – Canadian tasteless frozen lobster but of course this is not a sea country. Having said that, lobster is sent in fresh so perhaps mine was just overcooked. My husband had zander (pike perch) with spinach, nice and boring but, in all fairness, perfectly cooked.
And when it came to dessert, how many decades has the hot chocolate cake originated by Vongerichten been on a menu as well as the classic crème brule?

Whether Mr. Brugger was in the Kitchen or not (I presume not that evening), his having gone full circle back to his roots is a disappointment for this food lover. I almost feel apologetic when I say he should leave basic Austrian cuisine to the real beisls such as Rudi’s or Ubl as well as top of the rank, Plachutta. Equally on this pricey level one should take note of the creatively prepared Austrian delights at beautiful Steirereck or French cuisine at fantastical Le Loft.
Wini Brugger is much needed but with an original flair that may be in hiding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dstrikt Steakhouse also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Dstrikt Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dstrikt Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.