We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely but needs to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schubertring 5-7, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Bloomfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely but needs to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We always stay at Ritz Carltons whenever we travel but on this trip we stayed at the Four Seasons in Budapest and Prague and they were much more upscale. The rooms at the Ritz would be difficult for an elderly person (not us) with the stairs on each floor and in the rooms. The breakfast that came with the rooms was disappointing. Eggs were always runny and very little selection compared to the comparable meal at the Four Season Hotels. If there is a choice in the future between the two chains I will pick the Four Seasons from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    79
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
98
170
22
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and I cannot recomend it enough.We had 3 club rooms for 4 nights but only paid for 3 and one of the rooms was upgraded for free to a suite which had a bathroom to die for.The club lounge is open for 24 hours,which is perfect for late night snacks and drinks,and the staff both in club and out could not be more friendly and helpfull.I especially like to mention Luzie in the club lounge who left a variety of goodies for us when we returned late from a music concert one night. The food in the lounge was local and excellent,and we really didn't need to eat out at all. The staff at the club lounge , reception and concierge have the perfect attitude to service,and I like to recomend them all for a medal! and that goes for the management too for producing a near perfect hotel in the perfect spot in Vienna

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTORIA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Fantastic hotel. The concierge came to our immediate aid when a taxi driver tried to overcharge us, and from then on the Hotel impressed us even more. We stayed in a Club room. The room was very spacious and quite luxurious. The Club services were the best we have ever experienced anywhere in the world.Firstly it is open 24 hours a day, which is fabulous for a late night coffee or snack. The breakfast,evening canapes and desserts were wonderful. The staff were always helpful and very welcoming. The swimming pool and area were a very relaxing place after a full day of sightseeing. We stayed four nights and wished it could have been longer.
Hotel staff everywhere should take a leaf out of the Ritz Carltons attitude to their guests and we would have very happy customers worldwide. They should be very proud of themselves.

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed three nights, traveling with another couple. We paid for our stay with Marriott Rewards Points, and were very pleasantly surprised by how well we were treated considering we were not cash customers and also not high level Rewards members. We do usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels; but we are very casual in appearance, so there was no feeling on our part that all their guests are not treated as warmly. We were given a fantastic room with a balcony (room 323). Our friends got a package which included breakfast and the 3rd night free, so their stay became very reasonable as well. All the staff were super friendly, especially Pablo in the lobby bar/lounge. Two complaints about the lounge would be the chairs are not very comfortable for their intended use and while we were there; on two occasions, an unruly toddler was allowed to scream for an extended time. Awkward for staff; but a discreet suggestion to the parents would have made the experience tolerable for the other adults trying to relax and visit. The rooms are new in a historic renovated building. The bed may be the most comfortable I have ever experienced. The rooftop bar has great views; but the street-side bar was so smoke- filled it was not an option. The location is great and an easy walk to the restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Del Mar, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff here are great and my room is so comfortable. The hotel is a very short walk to the city center which is no matter because i have eaten so much local food. lol The spa is great as well! In some other hotels they charge you to use the steam room and pool. They do not here which i thought was really cool.Room service is great and quite fast it seems. There is a beautiful girl who delivers it every morning whose face i will miss seeing every day i must say. All my best to the staff here.

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I had room 405 which is a standard room and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The building is beautiful (as you can read in many reviews), but what made our 10 day stay so perfect was the staff and service. We had a beautiful, large room on the 2nd floor with lots of amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable once we had the maid remove the heavy comforter for a lighter blanket. We like to have breakfast in our room and called room service every day. They were cheerful, polite and efficient. The food was fresh and nicely presented. The front desk people always greeted us coming and going (not by name until about the 5th day). Simon Schindler has to be the greatest concierge we have ever met. And we've stayed in 5 star hotels all over Europe. He was so helpful to suggest the right restaurants (Dom Beisl and Cantinetta Antinori) to name just two. And when we discovered that the Concert I booked on line from home was not confirmed, he made a call and we had VIP tickets to the Golden Hall of the Musikverein in a flash. The Atmosphere Bar on the roof was a delight and even if it's chilly they provide blankets. We were able to enjoy Vienna and relax at the Ritz !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pleasant stay at the Ritz in Vienna - location is fairly central, between Stadtpark and Schwartzenberg Cafe (two of my favorite places) and not a bad walk to the Kartnerstrasse and Stephansdom. Hotel exterior is unassuming, but the interior decor is up to standards and the room comfort (bed, bath) is excellent. In fact, the bed is one of the best I've experienced, with top quality linens, perfect duvets and excellent mattress comfort. Room design is very good, with the large hidden closet/dressing room and the small coffee bar (love that nespresso!). Small seating nook is very pretty but not especially comfortable. Service is impeccable, less snooty than the typish Viennese, but still impressively professional to the smallest detail. And could the front staff be better looking? So GQ.
Did not try the lobby breakfast, as prices were high compared to the more preferable area cafes. Would I stay here again? In comparison to the nearby Imperial, it is probably less luxurious, but definitely has a younger, more stylish vibe and is more in touch with today's Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna

Address: Schubertring 5-7, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.