We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sans Souci Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sans Souci Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burggasse 2 | 1070 Vienna, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Expensive, but worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

In a nut-shell: Central location, GREAT service, quite, tidy and comfortable room, delicious breakfast & exquisite spa. Perfect if you ask me!

The story version: My wife and I arrived to the hotel (for a 4 night stay) in the morning hours and were greeted by the bell boy who took our luggage, we were then offered a cup of fresh orange juice and the receptionist, Elena, explained us all about the hotel and its' key features. Elena was very service oriented, took us to our room and was available at all times for our questions/needs.
Aside of its central location, the restaurants, pubs, shopping areas, museums etc. around it, the hotel and its staff gave you the right feeling from the moment you woke up to breakfast, where many high quality products were served in abundance, down to the evening time when we returned after a full day of Vienna, to the comfort and luxury of the hotel's spa.
It was truly the perfect way to start and end a day!

Maxim & Natalie

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast, and don't skip the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SansSouciWien, Manager at Hotel Sans Souci Wien, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Maxim S,

Thanks a lot for this very nice review! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and surely hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best from Vienna,
Your Sans Souci Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    56
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
233
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a wonderful and quirky hotel. The decor is fabulous with a purple theme. It is in a great location and straight from the reception it impresses. We were lucky enough to stay in a Junior Suite which is a great size with a separate walk in wardrobe and a separate toilet. It took a while for me to figure out out to reduce the temperature on the heated toilet seat but I got there in the end!

The staff were all friendly and I would certainly stay there again and hopefully I will. The only issue we had is that the room was constantly hot no matter how much I tried to adjust the temperature. We resorted to having the window open all the time which was not too bad as we has a nice view over the Museum Quartier.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a great size and a room on the street side really brings you in touch with Vienn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The room - 5 stars
The breakfast - 4.5 Stars
The staff - 5 stars
The SPA - 5 stars the saunas are look brand new
The restaurant 4.5 stars (litle bit pricey)
The location - 6 stars
One of the best hotels i stayed, and i believe i have my share of 5 stars resorts and hotels.Take advantage of this excellent lodge on a wonderful city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SansSouciWien, Manager at Hotel Sans Souci Wien, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AlvaroAntonioNet,

thanks a lot for taking the time to review our hotel in such a nice way - we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best from Vienna,
Your Sans Souci Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Positives:
Stylish, light, airy rooms with high ceilings and beautiful tall windows.
Great location if you want to be close to the Museum Quartier and public transportation of all kinds.
Very nice indoor lap pool- narrow but long- about 2.5 lanes wide and chest deep. No chlorine (?) which was nice. Attractive spa area in basement.
Excellent sound proofing and air conditioning when windows are closed.

Beautiful small breakfast area with outstanding, attentive service. Also bright and airy- surrounded by windows. Breakfast was excellent and if we go again will try it for lunch or dinner. We did have a delicious lunch nearby at the Museum Quartier- sorry I don't recall the name- it was a casual restaurant with gorgeous tiled ceilings located off the lower courtyard.

Outstanding bellmen, especially the Syrian guy.

Negatives:

Our superior double room was small- expected in big cities- but stylish and clean, brand new.
I found the modern, tree trunk style bedside table/stands quite annoying. Since space and storage are at a premium, we needed more storage options than a cool looking artistic, undulating form with only one top surface. A traditional bedside table with shelves would be much more practical and helpful to most travelers.
Closet space was adequate for a short stay but small- again, a cool looking metal cabinet.
The black matte tile bathroom floors showed every water spot- must be why most bathroom tiles are shiny.

Maid service: the E European (?) maids were very pleasant and did a good job although some had limited English and were difficult to communicate with. In general, however, San Souci's maid service policies were a true short coming and would prevent me from considering this hotel to be five star even if we were staying in a more spacious suite.

Our room was never cleaned until mid afternoon. It's true that nightly turn down service was offered which is a plus. But each afternoon I had to call the front desk to inquire when the maids would be arriving- this was inconvenient when we returned to our room in the afternoon and wanted to relax or nap and the room still hadn't been made up.

The front desk told us that new departures/arrivals come first! If you have laundry you must take it to the front desk yourself- the maids are not responsible for this. Beware of paying a weekend premium for laundry if you leave the bag in your room expecting maids to come in in the morning and take care of it. Laundry is not done in-house but sent out. To be a five star, I think they need to hire more maids so that rooms can be cleaned earlier in the day and also, have maids in charge of taking the laundry to the front desk.

In general, a good stay- we might stay here again- not sure- might prefer Stephansdom location. The hotel attracts a stylish, younger clientele- many seem to like it. It's nice staying in a brand new, spiffy property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SansSouciWien, Manager at Hotel Sans Souci Wien, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear anonj,

Thank you very much for this detailed review on our hotel and services - we really appreciate your feedback!
First of all we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As to the housekeeping services: we always start cleaning the rooms in the morning and thereby respect our guests wishes. If the service was not up to our standards, we truely apologize and will pass on your feedback. We'll also pass on your compliments to the staff in question. Thank you!

We still hope to welcome you again in the future!
Alle the best from Vienna,
Your Sans Souci Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is fabulous and very close to the historical centre of VIenna. The Hofburg Palace, SPanish Riding School. the Rathaus are only a very short walk away. Our room was lovely and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel does have a tram going by next to it but our room was very quiet. The receptionist and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, only hot breakfast however are eggs cooked in different ways; scrambled, fried, boiled. There was a wide selection of fresh pastries, yoghurts and fruit. This hotel is a fabulous boutique hotel in the heart of Vienna. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in three different 5 star hotels in Austria and Germany in October and this one so far surpassed the others. It is very very stylish and sparkling new and the staff were all outstanding. We had a great dinner in the restaurant and the included breakfast was also very very good. The hotel is boutique so smaller but absolutely lovely and the service was amongst the best we have had in many years of travel. This hotel books up so book early and upgrade to a superior room the extra space is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On our continued quest to see the world my wife and I visited Vienna, Austria.
We stayed at the Sans Souci Hotel in the Master Suite and it was simply fantastic.
The Master Suite is incredibly spacious offering a very large bedroom with an extra large king size bed, walking wardrobe, 42+ inch TV, excellent modern lighting, large windows with great views of Vienna also equipped with electric blinds.
The suite offers a separate lounge which is also very spacious with dining table and chairs, several antique sofas and again a 42+ inch TV, excellent modern lighting, large windows with great views of Vienna also equipped with electric blinds.
The bathroom is simply wonderful, it has his and hers sinks, a separate large walking shower, an amazing electric toilet with heated seat and jet wash and best of all a super huge round bathtub.
You can also tune the TV to music stations from around the world and you have a separate volume control in the bathroom so as to relax in the huge bathtub with the music of your choice.
For added convenience there is also a second separate toilet.
The Suite has turn down service where they also give you fresh towels.
From what I understand the hotel has had a recent refurbishment and you can see this as everything is absolutely spotless and super clean.
The service we received from all the staff was perfect, they could not do enough for you .
The breakfast was in my opinion interesting as the chef has given a modern twist on some classic dishes and it worked very well. Also the choice for breakfast was brilliant.
The hotel has a small but lovely bar where you can sip Champagne till the early hours.
A nice touch from the hotel was they served us Champagne in our suite on arrival.
As for the location, it's about a 5/10 minute walk to some of Vienna's amazing sights.
Lastly as I do not want to bore you with over long reviews, every major city in the world could do with a Sans Souci Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SansSouciWien, Manager at Hotel Sans Souci Wien, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ren64,

thank you ever so much for this lovely detailed review on the hotel and also the nice pictures! We really enjoyed reading it!

Good to know you've had a good time in Vienna! We surely hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best,
Your Sans Souci Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sans Souci Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sans Souci Wien

Address: Burggasse 2 | 1070 Vienna, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Spittelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sans Souci Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated between the traditional 1st and trendy 7th districts, the recently reopened hotel Sans Souci Wien is nestled in a prime location. The hotel's interior decoration by yoo, and filled with original works of art, make a stay at this hotel a unique experience. The individually designed rooms combine the intimate enchantment of a Boutique Hotel with noble design. The "La Veranda" restaurant, the Hotel bar and the small yet refined "Le Salon" event room offer an outstanding experience of splendid yet subtle luxury. This Vienna luxury hotel also boasts a holistic wellness oasis on 450 sqm - the Sans Souci Spa Club. Guests feel indulged and cared for in three saunas including a ladies' spa, a steam bath, a sun meadow, rest rooms and two treatment rooms where sublime treatments with Vinoble natural cosmetics nurture body and spirit. One of the biggest highlights of the Sans Souci Wien is its fitness centre, including a 20 meter long sports pool and a modern, well-equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sans Souci Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sans Souci Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.