We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay in Vienna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable stay in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Leonardo Hotel in Vienna was a rewarding stay. The comfort room was small and the shower was a challenge at times considering my height. Nonetheless the room was inviting and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is located one block away from one of many access points to the U-Bahn system. This was highly convenient when reaching any desired destination in the city. The street food vendors, shopping access down the main street, and dining choices were immense and highly satisfying. This is a great location outside the central city and I would recommend it for anyone looking to save a little cash to benefit more sightseeing. Keep in mind that you will have to pay 9 Euros a day for internet access unless you are willing to wait to use one of three computers in the lobby area. Internet access was fairly quick and with my personal wireless sharing on my laptop, all of our devices were connected without much of a hassle. We did not partake in the expensive breakfast served in the hotel restaurant in exchange for cheaper local choices from many café’s in the Westbahnhof central station area. This experience has me looking forward to another visit to Vienna in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    222
    106
    31
    19
See reviews for
85
224
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Although the room was quite small, it was rather clean and comfortable, with kettle and a small fridge, good working air-conditioner. The hotel is 3 min. from Westbahnhof station, convenient for parting to Salzburg, Munich and some other cities.
Rooms on the higher floors have a nice view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The previous poster, from Atlanta, seems to have stayed at the Leonardo about the same time we did, so I will second everything in that post and confirm that it is a good place to stay in Vienna, especially during a severe heat wave like the one that struck the city this August.

The hotel was clean, attractive and well-organized. Our room was large and comfortable -- and cool! The staff was well-trained, polite and professional. Breakfasts were ample and good, well worth the price rather than walking to the shopping district for pastries.

Even though the rooms were cool, the lobby seemed overwhelmed by the heat coming through the glass entry. I am sure that made life uncomfortable for the staff, but it did not seem to faze them. One thing I noticed here and at two other hotels on this trip was the absence of free wifi in the lobby. The Leonardo had a computer station in the lobby, so anyone in need of a e-fix could get it there. Or use their smart phones, as a lot of people seemed to be doing.

One other factor in the Leonardo's favor is the little restaurant and beer garden, Zum Hagenthaler, just outside the front door. Even though it is not part of the hotel, that adds another circle to my rating for the Leonardo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is our second year staying at the Leonardo in Vienna. Last year we stayed a few weeks after they finished the renovations. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very nice. The room also has great AC which was nice to have during the hottest week in Vienna of the summer. The hotel is located very close to the train station and the underground/trams. There are also several restaurants and grocery stores near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoVienna, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your us well at our hotel. It would look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is just opposite the Westbahnof station so good location if travelling by train and handy for the metro into the city. If you come out of the right exit from the station you can see the Hotel name - look for the sign. Couldn't fault the hotel. Great room, very clean and had tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. Good coffee. Staff in the dining room and reception were very friendly and helpful. Air con was good. As you will have read the WIFI wasn't free but if you are on holiday and don't need it for business use there are 3 machines in the reception with free printing which we were always able to get on when we needed to buy train tickets etc. There is a restaurant across the main road called Backo which is worth a visit if you want to eat locally. We had a bad experience at West End a couple of doors up from Backo. Also it is easy walking distance to the Stadthalle Stadium if you are going to a concert there which was one of the reasons we were in Vienna. We hadn't realised that when we booked so that was a bonus for us and there were lots of bars near the stadium to go in afterwards. Would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we had a "comfort" room which was very nice. Not large but perfectly big enough - I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoVienna, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are the positive feedback regarding the restaurant and reception can continue. For our guests, we ask a rich breakfast buffet with a large selection. Our nearly new rooms with air conditioning and good access to public transport, the Leonardo Hotel Vienna repeatedly praise.WIFI we ask in the lobby and in the rooms, but that is not free. The Buisness station available to our guests at all times free of charge. We are pleased that they recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our stay started on a not so great note. We were assigned room 512 that had a really bad smell in the bathroom like something's rotting in the drainage. While we complained to a few staff and asked to switch rooms, they said they could not really do that for us - one assured us that they will send housekeeping to freshen up the bathroom and it will be as good as new - what rubbish the smell did not go away and actually intensified during the evening. In any case, the floor was not fully occupied and it seemed that the staff then were just to lazy to do the paper work for the switch.

Luckily, during the evening, we had the pleasure of being served by Weiss Stefan, who immediately apologise for the inconveniences and offered us a choice of 507 or 509 - we ended up with the former. It was Weiss Stefan that really turned around our initial bad impression to a good one. Stefan even went to our room to assist us when we could not get the (very tight) safe open.

Other not so great things about it: Although our package came with unlimited complimentary local and overseas calls, the phone was down for 2 days and there's nothing they could do about it since it was the weekend. The housekeeping's really not so great too - forgot to replace our shower gels on day 1, towels on day 2 and they did not wash the cups on day 3. We had complimentary daily internet but that was a pain to use as well because of the daily rotation of userid and password which we had to request from the front desk.

That being said, I was willing to overlook all the above because of the genuinely great service from Stefan and that the hotel was still quite new (teething issues), the perfect location of the hotel, and that it was highly affordable as compare to other similar hotels in Vienna during my period of travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days with my girlfriend. It was very close to metro station. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. It had a mini-fridge and a boiler for tea and coffee. The room also had a TV. The channels were free but te films they offered were 12.50? each. The wi-fi is also not free, but you can use the computers in the lobby for free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeonardoVienna, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Canberk,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna. Certainly we offer not only Pay TV channels, we may provide our guests with a range of more then 40 TV channels in 6 different languages.
I truly hope to welcome you back here in Vienna at the Leonardo hotel.

With best regards

Stefan Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan’s Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.