We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt

Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt
356 Tag Im Jahr Von | Wollzeile 10, Vienna A-1010, Austria
+43 1 5125765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cafe Diglas, one of the classic traditional Viennese coffee houses in a very central location. Open 365 days a year for its guests, 8 clock early to 22:30. Here you can start your day with a wonderful selection of breakfast offerings, reading newspaper croissants, enjoying fresh out of the oven. And at noon we will drive with 5 different, again created daily menus. We inspire hearty Viennese cuisine with new variations. For dessert, there's then, as befits a true pastry Temple, the famous stake. But apricot dumplings and plum dumplings, each have a seasonal permanent place on our map. The snack is a separate issue, take one look at the display case filled with all the delicacies that are baked fresh every day her grandmother's recipes. The real Diglas guest know that you should not be late, because at delivery the souffles are lukewarm and not yet eaten the coveted banana slices. At 19 h leads the pianist the evening. We show you how you can end the stressful city life gently with a glass of wine. A fluffy pancake-Diglas
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Another visit to one of our favorite cafe, this time for a light lunch. We took 2 of the menus of the day with some beverages and we did not got disappointed. All servings was tasty and the service was fast and professional. In my opinion is a good choice for a coffee or a quick meal, although the prices are a little above average. You must visit the high tech toilets !! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    185
    53
    18
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well balanced and consistent ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is probably about my tenth visit here and finally I have the time to write about it.
Cafe Diglas is well known for the cakes which are way better than Aida kondoterei down the road. But I am often here for the menu of the day which has 2-3 courses with 4-5 types and their wonderful Melange cafe. This time I had menu 3; potato mushroom soup, branzino with salad and apricot cake with vanilla ice cream. The 3 courses worked so well together; one ends up completely happy with the nutrient, taste and presentation. A nice Melange coffee and a final visit to the clear glass toilet, sense of well being is complete.
Some reviewers complain about the waiters; I find really nothing wrong with them. Essentially the same guys and same methods since last ten years; I look forward to their familiar face and never changing polite efficiency.
What has a little disturbed me this time was some not too intelligent tourists who takes flash enabled photo while I am still inside the toilet, effectively voiding the light protection. Argh! If u must take a photo, think to disable the flash and respect ppl about their business inside the toilet!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great cafe to sit outside people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stopped here for coffee & cake.great atmosphere & service. The daily cake special was delicious. The ladies bathroom was an experience!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Started well and went bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We moved to Vienna a few weeks ago and initially loved Diglas for its local feel, great cakes and live piano music. However we have lately been disappointed by the disinterested, "studied superiority" and "I don't care about you" attitude of some of the waiters....too bad. Once we started going downhill, we started noticing the warn-out interior decoration in bad need of renovation and of course, the absurd toiled with transparent glass doors of the cubicles. Shame :(

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“We recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

With thousands os places to eat this one came into our taste because we found an outside spot to sit, the food was really tasty and well presented

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.