We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Kafeehaus in Wien!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt

Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt
356 Tag Im Jahr Von | Wollzeile 10, Vienna A-1010, Austria
+43 1 5125765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #353 of 2,867 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cafe Diglas, one of the classic traditional Viennese coffee houses in a very central location. Open 365 days a year for its guests, 8 clock early to 22:30. Here you can start your day with a wonderful selection of breakfast offerings, reading newspaper croissants, enjoying fresh out of the oven. And at noon we will drive with 5 different, again created daily menus. We inspire hearty Viennese cuisine with new variations. For dessert, there's then, as befits a true pastry Temple, the famous stake. But apricot dumplings and plum dumplings, each have a seasonal permanent place on our map. The snack is a separate issue, take one look at the display case filled with all the delicacies that are baked fresh every day her grandmother's recipes. The real Diglas guest know that you should not be late, because at delivery the souffles are lukewarm and not yet eaten the coveted banana slices. At 19 h leads the pianist the evening. We show you how you can end the stressful city life gently with a glass of wine. A fluffy pancake-Diglas
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My favourite Kafeehaus in Wien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great any time of the day or evening. The most fabulous cakes you could imagine. Least pretentious of all the Viennese coffee houses. Go there!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    182
    53
    18
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Throwback to classy past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Popped in for a late night coffee and cake. Traditional is the key word - booths for couples, classically decorated, live pianist, courteous waiters. Cakes looked great and apfel strudel was as tasty as it could be given that it lacked a little freshness - no fault of the cafe, it was late. Coffee was good, although not fantastic, just good.
Recommended if you're in the area, but not if you have to travel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Tea Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Came in here to try the studel after reading it was one of the best in Vienna. Had a really nice hot chocolate follwed by apple strudel with whipped cream, strudel was good but was expecting better. Was thinking afterwards I should have had their chocolate cake. There were loads of deserts on offer, could have been there all day trying them out.
The cafe was finely decorated with comfy chairs and chandeliers, staff were pretty and pleasant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A friend had recommended this place so I was happy to stumble upon it as I was walking in the area. The dessert selection is pretty good, not the most extensive, but they have some nice options. The service is completely fine, not particularly friendly, but it's a big cafe and busy. I was glad we found this place and would be happy to stop by again. I wouldn't travel great distances to come here, but if you're in the area it is definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great find for a wonderful cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Walking back to my hotel after a concert, I came across Café Diglas - it looked warm cozy and I ventured in. Atmosphere was wonderful - I ordered chicken schnitzel and it was melt in my mouth delicious, with potato salad on the side - a perfect late night meal after a long flight and touring day. Then the tour de force - a wonderful Hungarian piano player came and serenaded us for the rest of the evening. Sacher torte to top it off, and yes another glass of wine.
Excellent value and wonderful atmosphere - put it on your drop by list!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.