We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cafe - great cakes !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt

Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt
356 Tag Im Jahr Von | Wollzeile 10, Vienna A-1010, Austria
+43 1 5125765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 2,866 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cafe Diglas, one of the classic traditional Viennese coffee houses in a very central location. Open 365 days a year for its guests, 8 clock early to 22:30. Here you can start your day with a wonderful selection of breakfast offerings, reading newspaper croissants, enjoying fresh out of the oven. And at noon we will drive with 5 different, again created daily menus. We inspire hearty Viennese cuisine with new variations. For dessert, there's then, as befits a true pastry Temple, the famous stake. But apricot dumplings and plum dumplings, each have a seasonal permanent place on our map. The snack is a separate issue, take one look at the display case filled with all the delicacies that are baked fresh every day her grandmother's recipes. The real Diglas guest know that you should not be late, because at delivery the souffles are lukewarm and not yet eaten the coveted banana slices. At 19 h leads the pianist the evening. We show you how you can end the stressful city life gently with a glass of wine. A fluffy pancake-Diglas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good cafe - great cakes !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a good cafe, with an outstanding selection of cakes / deserts on offer.
The live piano added a little something to the atmosphere.
Busy on a Sat evening, with a lively crowd.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    182
    53
    18
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, interesting decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were headed for the Figlmuller Restaurant based on a recommendation from someone we met on the train to Vienna. After watching a horde of tourists going in, we decided to dine elsewhere, which is how we found Cafe Diglas. Great atmosphere, very good service and good food. Prices were all pretty reasonable. We returned the next day for coffe and kuchen in the afternoon and dinner that evening. Can you tell we liked it? I would certainly recommend Cafe Diglas for anyone in the area around St Stephens.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Curates Egg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

First night in Vienna tried one of their reasonably priced set menus (15€) which consisted of beautifully cooked duck breast, figs, gnocchi and chanterelles followed by a very heavy but delicious chocolate pud.

Liked it so much that we visited again a couple of nights later. Again chose one of the 2 course set menus. It was so uninspiring that I've banished from my mind so can't remember what we had but it was certainly not a patch on the previous offering which was a great shame as I was ready to sing their praises from the rooftops. Thats life I suppose.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place for coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I often make at least 5 coffee stops per day. We came here one evening after a long day of exploring Vienna. They have fantastic coffee and the best bread pudding I have ever had, it was perfect. There was a man playing the piano the night we went which I enjoyed. The staff are quick to get irritated with you for not speaking German and the prices are very high, even for Vienna. Still a nice place to stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a coffee and a cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice place to enjoy a nice cup of coffee and try some local delicacies. Friendly staff and interesting decor of the place. We found there was more seating in the back and overall it was a lovely experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Diglas am Fleischmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.