We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design to your Saves list
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€300 (EUR)
Ranked #6 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
“pretty nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

i was in rathaus last july good experience very friendly environment and helpful stuff small walking distance from the city center (around 10 minutes) nearby the shopping malls i highly recommend this hotel if you want to relax and have time for your self

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    128
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
113
404
50
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat gan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have just returned after four nights in Vienna at the Rathous. I can only join the former positive opinions of my predecessors . This is an excellent hotel that provides an experience of hospitality at an affordable price . The design of the rooms, the attention to detail and the fact that this is not a big hotel , but small and intimate hotel make the differnce . In terms of location, the Rathaus is in excellent location - within walking distance of all the attractions in the old city . Location outside the ring actually becomes an advantage, since it is within walking distance from quiet streets with restaurants and shops . had the Hotel managers wanted to make the experience even more perfect , they were considering to put tea and coffee making facilities. However, it is still a wonderful place with professional and courteous staff . We enjoyed staying in the Rathaus very much! ! !
The Weinbaum

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were close to the purple line underground and we were at a walking distance of Stephanplatz.

All of the rooms have an Austrian wine name. Ours, was the Pöckl Room (406). It was a very quiet room, spacious and functionnal.

Breakfast was excellent. Lots of fruits, good variety of cold meat, cheese, vegetables, jams. Excellent coffees. They would prepare eggs the way you wanted them. They had Viennese pastries, yogurt, juices etc.....

The personnel were always smiling and helping you with any requests. We asked that they booked restaurants on 2 occasions and we really enjoyed their picks. We would definetely go back.

Room Tip: Found a nice Italian restaurant called "Oliva Verde" not far from the hotel. Worth trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Though unprepossessing from the outside this hotel in beautifully designed within. Our room was very spacious and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Two bottles of very reasonably priced wine were in the room and a mini bar. Only a couple of minor criticisms - the room took quiet a long time to warm up, there were no extra blankets in the room at night and a kettle would have been nice.
The reception staff were very laid back and friendly. On our arrival we got lots of good 'insider' information on the Christmas markets. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were outstanding - very cheery (as demonstrated by my boiled egg which arrived in a woolley hat with a happy face drawn on).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Arriving later than expected due to delays on our way down to Vienna, we were welcomed by the news that we were upgraded to the suite.
We could not wish for a more appropriate room to celebrate my wife's birthday in.
Luxurious and spacious as you would expect, but there is one small thing which would have been nice to have in the room; a water boiler and the possibility to make your own tea or coffee.
The selection of wines partly made up for that, though..
Super friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and great location.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've stayed three nights and we've got an excellent experience.
Closed to the center city (ten minutes walking), quiet and elegant rooms, awesome breakfast and they're even pet-friendly (we have a cocker).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the penthouse suite, room 501 from 11/25-30. Negotiated breakfast to be included in room rate. Their breakfast is filling, great quality and all you can eat. They serve incredible made-to-order eggs and a well stocked variety of coffees, teas, cereals and cold fare (think antipasti) to be included in rate. Three to five blocks to U-Bahn (subway), Imperial Palace attractions (Treasury, Albertina, Butterfly Museum, etc.)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear guests from California,

thank you very much again for staying with us in November.

I hope you have enjoyed your stay in Vienna, although it was rather cold here (November!) and you were used other temperatures from California... :)!

Thank you also very much for reviewing our hotel so positively, may I, however, correct one thing: we are a 39 rooms boutique hotel. Maybe some guests, when reading we have only 13 rooms, think that it wouldn´t make sense to send an enquiry to us... :)! We are, however, always happy to receive enquiries for our wine themed hotel and love to share our wines and all the stories about this wonderful drink with as many guests from all over the world.

Enjoy the Christmas time at home and all the best for the coming year for you and your family!

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#5 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.