We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel which I would recommend to my friends.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 370 hotels in Vienna
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous hotel which I would recommend to my friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Vienna for a long weekend between business trips to Austria and Germany. When booking this hotel, I was concerned that the location would be further away from the main attractions since we only had a short time in Vienna. We found transportation to be no problem - about a 10 minute walk to one of two U Bahn stations located close by. The amenities included mini bar stocked with wine and beer for purchase, free wireless Internet, every toiletry you might need (including washclothes), and complimentary breads and olive oils to have with your drinks in the evening. Unfortunately, it rained one day and we were offered umbrellas to take with us. We considered purchasing a Vienna card for our visit but we were advised that the 48 hr ticket for transportation might be a better value for us. We were able to purchase this at the hotel and were given instructions on how to validate the card. The staff could not have done anything to make our stay in Vienna easier or more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    101
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
95
334
40
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Rathaus Hotel. It's in a great location of a quiet side street, but there are restaurants and groceries within one block away and the metro stop within five minutes walk. The rooms are large, with a modern design, and are all named after Austrian wine makers. Cute hotel, and the staff was great with all our questions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good location on a quiet street, good service and excellent breakfast. I really liked the Wine -idea, that was implemented into details. Exellent shower products and enough of them ( I always tend to run out of those small packages). No gym, was probably the only minus, but a good day stroll around the city, would you use gym anyway...?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter and I felt like we splurged and went to heaven in this gorgeous boutique hotel! The Hirsch room was divine, the elegant chair, the way the blinds revealed a pattern in the dark. Each detail was artistic in a minimalist decor. We loved it and to have a teenager say " this is the coolest hotel we have been to so far!" And yes, it was. Now I know she has good taste. The breakfast is fantastic and the service wonderful. After we had walked all day touring Vienna, it was great to return to the comforts of the room. An Austrian man who I met at a party here in Indianapolis, IN told me about the hotel and when he said, "it was where he and his wife preferred to stay in Vienna", I trusted his opinion. So glad I did!!!! It's an experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wine theme and are decorated very artistically!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The only reason for not giving 5 stars is that there is no gym. Superb breakfast. Great Wines in the rooms and minibar. Location is very good. Nothing bad to say about this. If coming to Vienna, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design. It was a great comfort knowing that after a long day of touring Vienna's sites that we would come back to an incredible room and the warm hospitality of the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a family room if you have 4 people or more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a 3 night break in Vienna as part of a birthday trip. ThIs hotel is perfectly located for exploring the city being 5 minutes from both Rathaus and Volkstheater Metro stations.

The staff here were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, both about the local area for nearby restaurants, and for their knowledge of local Austrian wine. We spent one evening sampling a good selection of Austrian Rotwein, all very good!

The room we stayed in (304, Preisinger) was spotlessly clean and well equiped. Despite being on the front on the hotel, it was very quiet. The beds were also extremely comfortable - haven't slept as well as that in a while!

Conrad and the team were really helpful in organising a surprise birthday breakfast (complete with cake an candle) being delivered to the room too. The fact it was then complimentary on check out was a really nice touch!

If you're staying in Vienna for a few days, definitely give this place a try. Everything you could want in a hotel, without that 'chain hotel' feel. Fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unusual hotel concept in Austria’s capital, Vienna. The Hotel Rathaus Vienna Wine & Design represents the Fleischhaker family’s pleasure concept with its vinophile philosophy. At every step you will be confronted by the theme of wine in the modern design hotel: the wine cheese on the breakfast buffet, the wine guglhupf with your coffee, the wine cosmetics in your room – wine is simply everywhere.
Intensive dealing with a vintner is the invitation of each of these 39 tastefully furnished rooms. The individually designed double rooms are each dedicated to a top Austrian vintner, who provides noble wines for the “somewhat different” minibar.The director Conrad Schröpel and his team are happy to share the sensory experience of drinking wine with their guests. The wines of the Vintner of The Month are discussed unpretentiously in the wine lounge over glasses of wine, and knowledge of wines and vintners is exchanged in an uncomplicated manner. Tasting are also naturally organised on agreement – for individuals, interested guests and for small groups or conference participants. Austrian delicacies, prepared according to recipes by the house chef Klaus Fleischhaker, round off the hotel’s unique indulgence offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.