We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our top two places we have stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of our top two places we have stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, lovely and very relaxing. The outdoor courtyard was a wonderful place to relax after a busy day with a glass of wine. The staff sent us to two local restaurants where we were the only tourists and the food was fabulous and near the hotel. It is only about a ten minute walk to the Town Hall and the inner circle. Great location to walk and take public transportation. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    100
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
94
333
40
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel and the staff there. I had never been to Vienna before and was trying to plan a romantic Christmas proposal for my then girlfriend. Conrad and the staff at the hotel went above and beyond to help me with my plans and the quality of the hotel itself certainly set the scene perfectly.

The room was incredible and the attention to detail throughout was fantastic. The breakfast lived up to the high expectations set by other reviewers on this site. The location was perfect, tucked away on a quant side street but a short walk to the main attractions.

If visiting for the Christmas markets as we were there are quite a few within a short walk from the hotel. We can recommend the horse and carriage ride from the hotel, particularly as a prelude to a proposal. In our little Christmas fairytale back at the Hotel Rathaus Wein & Deign she said YES! Now we are due to marry in just over a week and look forward returning to this hotel for our anniversaries over the years. Thanks again for helping to make our engagement so special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived jet-lagged and were able to rest very well. overall it was Nice location, Rooms were Large and very modern. The staff was very nice and helpful. Great breakfast. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had a wonderful two week stay at this hotel while in Vienna. The rooms were clean, spacious and well-thought out. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. And the breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend anyone visiting Vienna check in to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuchu, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wine boutique hotel in the back street of the city hall. There is not near by the central ring acrually, but once you walking around magnificent city buildings like as "lathaus", museum street, you may not feel so far.

Not to mention a sense of the interior decoration, the people of the front desk were so kind above all. The room name called Hirtzberger (every room has a winary's name) was sophisticated not like as its wine character "simply".

Almost all internal wine can try at the wine bar and reasonable price both by the glass and bottle.
What I should mention specially is a taste of its breakfast. really good!
Many kinds such as cheese and jam, cold pastry..., I feel it as if I thoroughly enjoy the breakfast in the winery or pension in the countryside.

Use for business and with friends,single, anything is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four stayed here for four nights in July after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed.

The hotel organised two (very reasonable priced) rooms next door to each other, which were both clean, bright and surprisingly spacious. The comfy beds with a storage space for suitcases underneath were a particularly smart design feature.

The buffet breakfast was amazing and the staff always obliging. The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet area just a short walk away from central Vienna and close to public transport lines and three supermarkets.

If we are ever in Vienna again we'll definitely be staying here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Accurately described, a really lovely hotel not far from the museum quarter and near an underground station. Flat rate of 37 euros each way door to door from the airport. (Arranged through hotel in advance)
As number two hotel, it was expensive and the only criticism we had was that we would have liked breakfast to be included for that price and it wasn't. Breakfast is 17 euros more for full buffet style. 10 euros for less.
The room was very lovely and spacious. Great shower. Our view outside was a huge wall with a mural but we didn't spend that much time in the room to be honest. The staff were excellent and we would recommend staying here. They also have another hotel on Saltzburg.

Room Tip: This is hard because it is a large building in an Austrian street with no particular views in all fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guests from the UK!

Thank you so much for your kind review on TA!

Yes, in some terms we are really a little bit quirky!

But the picture for your TA-membership is quirky, too... :)! It represents the interior side of our toilets in the rooms! Obviously you have enjoyed it and had the time to take a picture of it!

All the best from sunny Vienna to UK.

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unusual hotel concept in Austria’s capital, Vienna. The Hotel Rathaus Vienna Wine & Design represents the Fleischhaker family’s pleasure concept with its vinophile philosophy. At every step you will be confronted by the theme of wine in the modern design hotel: the wine cheese on the breakfast buffet, the wine guglhupf with your coffee, the wine cosmetics in your room – wine is simply everywhere.
Intensive dealing with a vintner is the invitation of each of these 39 tastefully furnished rooms. The individually designed double rooms are each dedicated to a top Austrian vintner, who provides noble wines for the “somewhat different” minibar.The director Conrad Schröpel and his team are happy to share the sensory experience of drinking wine with their guests. The wines of the Vintner of The Month are discussed unpretentiously in the wine lounge over glasses of wine, and knowledge of wines and vintners is exchanged in an uncomplicated manner. Tasting are also naturally organised on agreement – for individuals, interested guests and for small groups or conference participants. Austrian delicacies, prepared according to recipes by the house chef Klaus Fleischhaker, round off the hotel’s unique indulgence offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.