We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design to your Saves list
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€300 (EUR)
Ranked #6 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We read all the great reviews on tripadvisor, and thankfully the hotel and staff lived up to our high expectations. I can't recommend this hotel enough.
Each room is linked to a local wine maker so our mini bar had examples of both white and red made by the local producer. The room was huge, with one of the best walk in showers I've ever had.
The breakfast is as good as the pictures on the hotel's website promised. A massive selection of cured meat and cheese, with enough cakes and pastries to satisfy and sweet tooth.
In the evening you can sit in the bar and sample the extensive wine list. Wine is sold by the glass, and the half bottle which is a great way of trying a few wines, without getting too merry before you go out for a meal
The staff were friendly and courteous, and came up with 2 great recommendations for dinner - one local and one towards town. They also arranged an airport transfer for us as we arrived on a late flight which was very welcome
The location is nice and quiet, about 10-15 minutes walk into the main town.
A brilliant stay - thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    128
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
113
404
50
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The service was second to none - lovely food and wine (of course!!) and nothing was too much trouble. Ideal location just on the edge of the main city centre with many great food options and attractions nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our experiences reflect the previously written excellent reviews. From the original booking right thru our stay we had a very pleasurable time. E-mail exchanges before we arrived were prompt and helpful, including arranging an airport pick-up. We were greeted by Conrad and looked after by courteous and attentive staff. Booked room 404 which is light and airy with a large bay window. Breakfast was an enjoyable adventure as described by others and we also sampled their wine list late one evening in the bar area. A fantastic stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 404. Overlooking front of hotel with rooftop views of part of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had read all the recommendationas and reviews for possible hotels for our recent stay in Vienna. After staying in the Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design recently, I can say that this place lives up to all its highly rated reviews! The location, rooms, service , and staff were all excellant. It is a place for those who love good wines and food. The breakfast is outstanding and the staff was so helpful with any of our needs or answering our questions. Conrad and staff thank you again for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed good as the hotel is located on a quiet street. The 4th floor has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raanana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel during early May.
The hotel is located in a quiet street, 3-5 min walk from the ring.
All members of staff were extremely nice and helpful.
The room was very comfortable, modern and well equipped. Amazing shower, as other reviews mention as well.
(There was indeed no need for a coffee/tea maker in the room, since at all hours, even late at night, it's always possible to bring up to the room a pot of tea/coffee from the reception.)
The full breakfast (17 EU) is nice, plenty of variety, but we expected slightly more.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor is good, so less noise from the street (although it's usually quiet enough). Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Combined business and pleasure by extending a business trip. My wife, and I, stayed a total of eight nights. A wonderful wine themed boutique hotel with very friendly staff. The place has a great vibe. Wine bar open 24/7. Our room was bright and spacious and atypically large for a European hotel. Other attendees, of the conference, who chose to stay here also raved about their stay.

Our only criticism - it was a hot week, in Vienna, and the air con was not turned on in the guest rooms. Open windows meant listening to loud American voices phoning and skyping home in the early hours of the morning.

I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderfully refreshing place to stay while in Vienna. Very spacious modern rooms, great wines in the mini bar. Wine bar off reception and terrific breakfast. Stayed 3 nights and the staff were very friendly and helpful, felt like one of the family by the time we left. Easy walk to Undergroud, trams and Ring Tram - and some quite nice restaurants close by, which is appreciated after a long day walking around wonderful Vienna. Upon my return to Vienna some 3 weeks later (with a tour group) - we stayed at the Hilton Vienna Plaza which was very disappointing. If you want a great place to stay, with very spacious rooms at a reasonable price, this is it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#5 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.