We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design to your Saves list
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria (Josefstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Rathaus Wein & Design was a haven in Wien. Really really good value for really spacious well-appointed comfortable rooms, with thoughtful touches. Although, if you want a kettle, you need to ask for it. The different wines associated with each room was a lovely touch, but left me wondering about the wines in the other rooms, and wanting to try those too!
As everyone has said - GREAT breakfast spread, only downside that it wasn't included in our room price.
In terms of location, it was just a few streets from Museumsplatz & Rathaus, in a quieter part of town. Still within easy walking distance to the Museumsquartier, but not as handy to the dead centre of town. A few supermarkets close-by, and a couple of restaurants, but not buzzing by any means. A little further to walk to find food. My parents preferred to order a taxi, rather than walk the distance. They also found it a bit far from the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus stop. In warmer weather maybe this distance would have been a bit easier.
The staff are very helpful. We were very impressed with their service in all matters. They even let us have a day room after we checked out, as our flight did not leave until nighttime.
I would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    137
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
123
450
52
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Best breakfast we ever had - very fresh and great diversity.

Beautiful large rooms - with nice details (e.g. Romantic lighting in the bed canopy, wonderful large rain shower, electricity in the safe so that you can charge your equipment whilst it is locked away, big oriel windows)

In the evening you can sit in a cosy atmosphere and drink wine

The managing director Mr. Conrad Schröpel is a perfect host. He seems to be always on duty, offers great guest service, gave us excellent tipps what to do and where to go. Took care of all our dinner reservations etc. He is extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

Also all members of his team were very friendly, attentive and offered great service.

We will definitely come back!

Thank you Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design for this wonderful experience in Vienna!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in late January during our first trip to Vienna and chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews.

The Hotel met our expectations and more. The rooms were generously proportioned and well laid out - with a wall separating the bathroom and bedroom areas whilst maintaining an open plan. The room had three large windows looking out over the street below (Lange Gasse).

Each room is dedicated to a wine-maker (or in our case, a Schnapps manufacturer) and is decorated and stocked accordingly. The individuality of these rooms mean you don't have to be a wine aficionado to appreciate the attention to detail.

The reception staff were also helpful and efficient. We had laundry washed, airport transfer booked (and changed) and postcards sent off with remarkable speed and care.

The surrounding area isn't happening, but the hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Rathaus metro station and, in the opposite direction at least, a range of decent restaurants.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly if large room sizes and individuality are important to you. If you're a wine aficionado, you won't find more suited accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel rathaus Wein & Design just before Christmas as a family Christmas treat. The hotel staff were most welcoming and our room was lovely - very comfortable for a family of four and good value. The girls enjoyed the breakfast especially - vanilla slice for breakfast was their idea of heaven! There was much more on offer though which provided us a great start to the day. We selected the hotel based on trip advisor and we were not disappointed, the location was great, the staff friendly and plenty of space in our room. Our only negative experience was that there was often a smell of cigarette smoke coming through the air vents and outside of our room which was strange given that it is a non-smoking hotel. I would still strongly recommend this hotel as a base for a stay in Vienna.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear guests from the UK,

thank you very much for your lovely recommendation on tripadvisor. We are happy you and your family have enjoyed your pre Christmas break here in Vienna and in our hotel.

So good to learn you have enjoyed the rooms, the quality of our breakfast and the service attitude of my colleagues. What more you can ask for if you are running a hotel!?

Regarding the smoky smell in your room: our hotel was and is an absolutely nonsmoking hotel, however, we were faced sometimes with some smoky smell in our hotel in December, that´s true. The reason for that was (and I would like to stress WAS, as the problem was solved after a few days) that one of our neighbours got a new fireplace and chimney, which obviously didn´t work properly at the beginning. We reported this also to the chimneysweaper in charge of our neighbourhood and this problem has been solved within a few days. However I feel sorry for you if this smell war irritating and inconvinient for you. But again, still no cigarettes in our hotel, it definitely came from the neighbour´s chimney.

Currently we have renovations in our hotel and will reopen late February. More colours, a new entrance hall, new floor decors and a lot of funny, wine related details will make sure, our guest will feel home, but different than at home.

We would love to welcoming you and your family again and send you our best regards from winterly Vienna,

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is fairly close to a metro station and thus well suited to start off and tours around the city. The double room had two adjacent beds, not a queen or king sized bed. The "view" was across a small courtyard onto a wall. Also, the shower with a glass door is not in a separate bathroom, offering potential for some awkward moments (as a couple, we didn't mind). The usual amenities such as TV, safe and minibar were as to be expected, with the minibar offering a larger variety of wine than usual.

The service was impeccable. The bar/restaurant offers one of the most diverse breakfast buffets I've ever seen.

Overall, I can recommend the hotel. When we're back in Vienna, we will however be looking for a different hotel (but possibly regret it).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guests from Switzerland,

thank you very much for staying with us and for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

However there is one point I cannot share with you: the beds! All our beds are king-size beds, however, this is true, with two mattrasses, but one frame. I hope it was not the wine in our winelounge that made you feel the beds are drifting... ;) Kidding!

Again, thank you very much and hope to see you again, if you prefer a room with a city view next time, just ask for it. We always try to fulfill all the wishes our guests may have.

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

First off,let me begin by saying we use Tripadvisor for all our information gathering when planning a vacation. This will be my 1st review and I have to say, our stay at the Hotel Rathaus was fabulous. (Email me and I can give more details if needed)
We stayed over NYE with a few days after that. We booked the hotel a month or so in advance and began communicating with Conrad S, hotel manager. Conrad was extremely quick in responding to all my questions etc over email. He booked NYE dinner for us close to the hotel in an old monastery which was fantastic. He even scheduled a driver to pick us up which was cheaper than taking a taxi. We did a wine tasting in the hotel bar area courtesy of Conrad and staff which we highly recommend if you are are a wine lover. The hotel was in a great location easy walking distance to city center and tram. Each room is named/themed after Austrian vintners which made them really interesting and unique. Off hand, I can't remember the name of our room, but ask for their "honeymoon" room. Awesome roomy shower with rain shower head.
What really made the trip - On NYE we had come back from dinner and didn't really have any plans for celebrating at midnight but Conrad and his staff went out of his way to make it extra special for us. He took us up to the roof of the hotel where we got to watch all the fireworks over the city (with bubbly) at the stroke of midnight! It was a 360 degree professional fireworks show all around the city, even in the streets. Who knew Vienna was such an awesome NYE destination? Honestly, it was such a surprise we still can't believe it happened! When I say "roof" I don't mean roof deck, I mean roof with antennas, vents etc!
.
We cannot thank Conrad and his staff enough for ALL the "extras" they did for us during our stay. That is why we are writing this review - We had exceptional service in a great hotel with AWESOME staff! Thank you Conrad, we truly appreciate everything you did for us to make our stay off the charts! Please extend our thanks and gratitude to your staff, as they too went out of their way to accommodate us. Cheers!
Justin & Melaine

Room Tip: Ask for the "honeymoon" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just one night in this wine themed hotel. Would have liked to have stayed longer. Superb room; welcoming staff; and excellent restuarant. It actually has a bar which is open 24 hours a day.Will definitely return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear guests from Wales!

Thank you very much for your kind review on TA.

To be honest I have had to take a look into the dictionary regarding the word "quirky"... :) and had to smile when reading the German translation!!!

Well, quirky in a positive way should work..., but anyway we are happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to hosting you again soon for more days than recently.

Best regards from the "quirky" wine hotel in Vienna.

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.