We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rooms Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rooms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Rooms Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Schlenthergasse 17, Vienna 1220, Austria (Kaisermühlen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #4 of 107 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A friend and I stayed three nights with Eva towards the end of this month. The location is a bit outside of town but a quick U-Bahn ride to pretty much anywhere you need to go. The room was nice and the breakfast was a welcome change to the other B&Bs we stayed at during out trip. Eva gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and must do sites. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
74
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

The B&B is located in a quiet suburb of Vienna, but is only a 5 minute walk to the metro which gets you downtown in 15 minutes. The breakfast was good and included eggs cooked to order, small fruit bowl, bread with home made jam, fruit and cheese, coffee and tea. The owner was helpful and pleasant and tried to make our stay enjoyable. She has taken great care in decorating the rooms. The basement room is bigger and cooler, but dark and the upstairs room was smaller but brighter.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomianki, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Close to metro station and VIC. No problems with parking a car. Nice rooms with Wi-Fi and very comfortable mattress. Delicious breakfast with variety of bread, jams, cheese, fantastic onion marmolade, fruits, eggs and perfect espresso. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was a very disappointing three nights stay. The room was badly organised. There was no space either side of the bed for clocks, spectacles, water etc, so we had to use the chair. Service was completely missing. We hardly exchanged a word with the owner. Breakfast was OK, but again impractical. The table was crammed full of stuff, which meant you were always missing jars, boards etc around. Not once were we asked whether we would like more tea or coffee. No advice or support about vienna apart from a map. And they want cash!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
book22, Inhaber at The Rooms Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Peter!

First of all thank you that you decided to stay in a our bed&breakfast. I take your critical comments very seriously and would like to clarify a few things to all our future guests and mainly to all the readers of this review.

I do remember very well that the days that you were at our place, - and I apologize sincerely, that I did not spend enough time with you in answering questions or making recommendations. This was clearly not ok from me but for my excuse I have to say that it was simply some of these days were you just don't know what to do first and you run from morning to evening and still don't finish. I think everybody goes through this sometimes and I really regret that as a result you felt "neglected".

I did greet you in the morning though, that is for sure, and you could have said something then. And here is what I don't understand, - why not say something right away? Why is tripadvisor being used afterwards in order to let out all the frustration? You did not give me any chance to fix things. Even the room, if you were not happy we could have moved you. But without knowing there is nothing I can do. This is quite an unfair practice and I do not like this about tripadvisor.

This is a bed&breakfast and I would like to stress that this is a family run small individual place. We do not have a concierge, a 24 h front desk, a bar, etc.. Our rooms are all different, one smaller but has a balcony, one in the basement, all different designs and interior. And that's what makes this place charming.

Our guests enjoy sitting on the big table with people they just met from different places of this world and exchange their experiences. Handing over plates to one another has never been a problem here. Is it more enjoyable to queue and fight with 100 other people over a huge buffet packed with jams in tiny plastic containers manufactured in huge factories and pre made scrambleded egg that is just being poured out of huge jars into chafing dishes?

Our breakfast items are home made and made to order and we avoid any unnecessary waste. We always aks our guests if they would like more coffee/tea. It is hard for me to believe that in your case we made an exception. It must have been a misunderstanding.

And: we do take credit cards. You just have to ask....

You did not have a great time here, and I am truly sorry. Please contact me, maybe there is still something I can do about it.

All the best,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed six nights in March 2012.The rooms B&B provided early check-in when we arrived very early in the morning. It is located very near to the Mall and Metro station. It takes less than 10 minutes to VIC.The room is nice, warm, comfort, safe and pleasant to stay, and the bathroom is clean. However, our room is on the second floor so it was a little bit difficult to get our big bags up and down and the Wi-Fi was not available sometimes. Breakfast was better than we expected, served with variety of bread, cheese, a small cup of fruits, eggs, and good espresso. The hotel owner is very nice and very helpful. We appreciated for all her helps and enjoyed our stay at the rooms B&B very much. We will stay at the rooms for our next trip to Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed with the Albranes family for 4 nights during Feb. 2012. We found the hosts to be extremely welcoming, friendly and most helpful. Eva seems well informed about Vienna and the area and is happy to share her knowledge.
The room we stayed in had a private entrance, was well equipped, big, clean, well heated and decorated with a touch of authenticity which is much nicer than the usual commercial hotels. The wireless connection worked well and so did the other electric appliances.
The breakfast is served in a lovely veranda probably much nicer in the summer when the garden is in full bloom. The food is rich and tasty. Someone there must understand something about good food.
The rooms are located in a quiet neighborhood of Vienna just a two minute walk from a local supermarket and a giant mall were you can shop until you drop! Opposite the mall is a train station to the city center and to all the attractions of Vienna (also a bus directly to the airport). The train runs every few minutes.
We loved Vienna. We enjoyed the room and recommend it warm heartedly. We are sure to come back some time in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a great three nights this quiet neighbourhood in Vienna,
this accomodation is 5 minutes walk from the metro station,
which brings you fast in the city centre.
And the shuttlo/bus to the airport stops nearby.

The rooms are are on the first floor in a beautiful house with tasteful arabic inspired interior.
Bathroom was clean, and offered decent comfort.
Breakfast was delicious, offered different choices.
The owner was very friendly and helpful.

Only good memories about this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rooms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms Bed and Breakfast

Address: Schlenthergasse 17, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rooms Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, a family run 4 room bed & breakfast, is located in a newly built house in a green and quiet neighbourhood next to the old danube river. Yet it is still very close to the city center. All rooms are different and individually designed and offer a very special atmosphere. A big porch and a garden are available for the guests. A spacious bathroom, satellite TV and WLAN are standard in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Rooms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rooms Hotel Vienna
The Rooms b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rooms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.