We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stay there for my mother 50th birthday. Got updated to a junior suit as they hear about the reason for our stay. The location was middle of Vienna, between of the Opera house and the St. Stephen's Cathedral. Amazing staff, clean and luxuries yet very homey. Will definitely be my number one choice of hotel in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sadie Y,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate that you have chosen the Ambassador Hotel Vienna for your mother's 50th birthday.

We hope to see you both back soon.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    146
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
72
161
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newaygo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel provided a very comfortable room and I was impressed with the helpfullness of the staff. It was a bit difficult to loacte driving in at night. My GPS kept wanting to send me down into a pedestrian only area that I think is the actual hotel address. finally found the entrance which was on the other side of the building. It is centrally located, very close to the Underground and the desk clerk was very helpful in assisting me with directions on how to catch a train to Prague from there and even printed out the train schedule so I could look at my schedule and decide which trains I needed to catch. I would stay here again. They also provide detailed city maps and complimentary toiletries. I was in Prague for the day on my birthday and when I got back to my room that night the staff had left a birthday card and some Austrian chocolate. It was a nice, and unexpected suprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jounieh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Ambassador hotel is a very nice hotel, the rooms are convenient, the breakfast is well arranged and it tastes good, the staff is "friendly", great location (central of Vienna).
I recommend it to every one who wants to enjoy his stay in this beautiful city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear fouadtahan,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful review and recommending the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a spacious room on the 4th floor, only accessible by long, winding hallways and a circular stairway. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was large and for once, there was plenty of room to unpack our clothes and toiletries. We had a little balcony, but there was a massive stone architectural accent which completely blocked our view of the street below. Breakfast was not included, but because the location was so perfectly central, we found a great spot just across the street where we ate outside every morning. The bar was very comfortable and quiet and we played cards there every evening. We had an especially helpful woman working at the front desk who helped us find any kind of restaurant or unusual sight in the Vienna area.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main shopping drag, facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear bickles27,

Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and for your review.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the layout and comfort of our spacious Business Class Rooms.

We always strive to provide top-quality service and are very happy that our front desk staff left such good impression. Please be assured that we will share your comment with the mentioned employee.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was a bit hard to find since it has two entrances. One is right on the mall side and can be a bit noisy if your room in located there. Very centrally located close to the underground. The bones of the hotel and wonderful very elegant but it could use a decorator's touch for a better choice of color, fabric and wall paintings especially in the common area. The breakfast room is very cheerful surrounded by windows and the food is good with unusual dishes to try.

Room Tip: The rooms on the mall side are noisy at night. People stay up quite late hard to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Elaine,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Ambassador Hotel and Restaurant on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to constantly develop and improve our services.

It is great to hear that you liked the atmosphere of our winter garden and the seasonal specialties of our restaurant.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Check in was very easy with attentive staff that issued us with a street map etc. We had a problem where we needed info sent to us via e-mail. Within minutes there were print outs waiting for us (with a smile!). The rooms were well-equipped, free WiFi and complimentary toiletries. Excellent restaurant for dinner and breakfast, wonderful food and very polite staff who made you very welcome. The hotel is perfectly positioned in the centre of Vienna. All sightseeing from museums, churches, Spanish Riding School and opera, just a few minutes walk in a clean and friendly city. Trams and underground stations within easy reach, even the walk to the main Mitte Vein station just 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This year we decided to go to Vienna. A beautiful city with old charme. The Hotel is traditonal , in the center near to "Kärntnerstrasse". The room clean and the staff friendly. It was a good choice. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Roger S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

The Ambassador was built in 1898 and is one of the most traditional hotels in the city. The hotel features the typical Viennese charme, combined with modern amenities.

We really appreciate your kind words and will forward your feedback to our team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you as our guests again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Vienna
#47 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#63 Family Hotel in Vienna
#69 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.