We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location old charm hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location old charm hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is centrally located on the main shopping street and close to all sights. We were upgraded to a suite which very spacious with a beautiful bathroom and nice view. Breakfast is a bit overpriced but worth a try for the nice view.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Welovetotravel1000,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious design of our rooms and the central location on Kärntner Straße.

We look forward to welcoming you again when your travel plans bring you back to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    147
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
72
161
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schwetzingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a 4 day weekend in Vieinna. We inquired in advance about the best possible way to arrive and received a quick repsonse and easy directions from the airport via the train. Upon arrival the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and courteous with information of the city. Even though the hotel is quite beautiful and in a suburb location it was unfortunately lacking. The entire hotel smelled of stale smoke...as well as our "non smoking" room. The bed was so close to the door, we had to enter one at a time.. Each day we were only given one bath towel, and found that a small towel I had used to remove my makeup was recirculated and used as a bath mat. None of our toiletries were ever replaced and strangely enough some small change we left on the desk was mistaken for a tip. All in all it was fine, but certainly not for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Christy B,

thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

Your opinion is highly valued and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences. Please be assured that we will discuss your comments with our housekeeping team to prevent future occurrences.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location of this hotel is wonderful. To the rear are the shops, cafes and restaurants of Karntner Strasse. To the front a small square with a fountain, several restaurants a taxi rank and a supermarket. The hotel sits in the themiddle of the main attractions. The State Opera, St. Stephens and the Spanish Riding school are all around about 300 metres away. The hotel, feels a little tired, and the cleanliness is not the best. (It took over 2 days for a used room-service tray to be removed from the corridor leading to the rooms on the 5th floor). The hotel bar on the first floor, viewable from the lift, was devoid of patrons for all 3 days we stayed there. On a positive note, the bedroom on the 5th floor was large pleasant and comfortable, with a small balcony area. Basically, this hotel is a good choice if you want a great location and intend to be out a lot. If you are looking for a hotel with great architecture and atmosphere you should consider other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Let me begin by saying that I loved this hotel. It was beautiful and my room was beyond comfortable after being put up at poor hotels for work prior to this weekend getaway. That being said, I showed up in gym clothes and with a backpack and was not given the warmest of receptions. I did not get a bussman to escort me up to my room with my multiple bags which I find completely unsatisfactory for a hotel of this class. Additionally, the staff in the dining room where breakfast was served were quite snobby althoug the spread was good. The bellman at the door and the woman behind the front desk of day two and three were quite pleasant. My overall impression of this hotel is that it is good. But, if you want exceptional service, dress the part.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

JMJ Such beauty in a room! Crystal chandeliers and beautiful painted ceilings and moldings!! The most comfortable bed I've ever slept on..All of this was swept away when a plumbing problem showed the real face of the hotel. The desk staff treated us like we were unable to grasp the concept of dirty water coming out of the pipes. They kept promising it would only be a few moments of inconvenience but it went on for hours and there was no attempt to communicate the original problem or any attempt tp correct it. This hotel needs to be instructed in customer service and communication and if it wasn't for the sympathetic housekeeping staff that understood what was really going on because they had to deal with the filth that was coming out of the sinks and toilets. Sometimes your supposed reputation gets in the way of improving your human skills. Maybe we weren't there repeat customers , that we were treated differently. If you decide to stay here, just hope nothing that isn't beautiful comes up, because they will not know or want to handle it properly!

Room Tip: JMJ Just remember you can exit and enter the building on either side of two different streets. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a 3 nights stay 8/11 May, we were having our wedding anniversary with our 3 sons in Vienna. I chose this hotel due to its location: the best in the town! you don't need any transport except to go to Schônbrunn (we rented some city bikes for free). We had 2 rooms, connecting rooms, one with a view on Neuermarkt: I recommend:it's a lovely place with a fountain, surrounded with nice buildings with typically viennese decoration, and VERY quiet; (Try to avoid the rooms on the other street, which is very noisy at night). The rooms are very clean, well furbished with seemingly old furniture, a huge bathroom, very clear with separate toilets, nice blue curtains in a viennese style. People at the front desk were very efficient end kind, patient with our poor German, but understanding and peaking English perfectly. Some rooms have a blacony we should have asked. The reviews on trip mentioned smoke above the bar, we noticed it once only, and very lightly though the bar was full: not a drawback at all!Toiletries were abundant and very good,, (nice blue lavender soap), and having all the usual facilities (safe, ...). Only one negative point: the turn down was made on the fisrt night, not on the second one, and not on the third one though I asked for it at the front desk (it may be because we were in the room at the moment but she might have knocked the door..). So don't hesitate to ask before you check in because it's a very pleasant moment when you come back and the room is "waiting" for you...
I highly recommend this hotel for it's location and service and the way it holds its promise. We booked via hotels.com.
We didn't experience the breakfast because we were in a hurry to visit but I heard other guests being very satisfied.
WE'll try to go back!

Room Tip: ask for a neuermarkt room, with a balcony, on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel ambassador was located within a walk to everywhere we wanted to go. It was off the Kaertner Strasse, but no noise traveled up to our spacious and beautiful, elegant, old world but updated (modern bathroom) room! We highly recommend this hotel when in Vienna, and we will definitely stay again on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Vienna
#48 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#63 Family Hotel in Vienna
#69 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.