We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stylish place in the city center.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Lovely stylish place in the city center.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely place just at the perfect starting point of a day in a city. Old apartment style with all new facilities. Windows totally mute surrounding city traffic. Welcoming staff. No complains, just perfect impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    153
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
165
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just enjoyed three nights at this hotel. Staff were very welcoming when we arrived and, although we were early, our room was ready and we could have it immediately. It would appear that there had been major refurbishment in the hotel - our bedroom and bathroom were fresh & clean. With BBC World available on the TV and free Internet access, it was just fine.

On our first night, we dined in the restaurant. Although it lacked atmosphere, the food was good and the service excellent. The glazed Dining Room gave a nice view over the square.

The situation of the hotel was just perfect - cathedral, opera house, Hofburg Palace, museums etc were all in easy walking distance.

The only thing that stopped me from giving this hotel an Excellent overall rating and Excellent for Service was the breakfasts. The two young staff, when unsupervised, were far from efficient; and at times quite rude. When an elderly lady mentioned that there were no glasses next to the orange juice, it was brusquely pointed out to her that there were more glasses on the shelf above where the hot food was served - at the other end of the room! And they charge €25 per person for breakfast! The answer is to take breakfast at one of the many coffee houses nearby!

Apart from the breakfast experience, we had a first class stay at this hotel, and we shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift shaft, as there is an atrium and smoke drifts up from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked for three days and I have to say that I realised the high value of its location when I tried to make a plan for the top ten attractions that we had to see before we leave. So, Ambassador it is only 3-4 minutes walking distance from Stefansdom and Mozart house. It is also very close to the metro station U1 line.
10 minites walking from Hofburg, 7 minutes from Spanish Riding school, 20 minutes from Museum of Natural History and Kunsthistorishes.
You can reach the known coffee shops such as Hawelka, Demel, Central, Europe, in maximum 10 minutes walking distance. It is located on Karntner street which is one of the greatest commercial roads of Vienna and in 3-4 minutes you can also reach Graben street. Moreover nearby are qualitative Viennese restaurants such as Drei Husaren, Ferdinand, Frauenhuber (coffee shop-light meals) etc.
The room was a classical double (see attached photos). It was spacious and comfortable with classical decoration and romantic atmosphere. The bathroom was just good but not so luxurious for a 5-star Hotel. The personnel willing to assist any time we asked for it. One disadvantage of the room was the luck of many international and English hearing TV channels. Most of the TV programs are in German, thus if you still need to watch a movie in English you should rent it with an extra charge (5-12 Euros).
The hotel doesn't offer a spa or swimming pool, so if you are lovers of relaxation, the hotel will not meet your expectations.
Finally I can say that our accommodation was a positive experience and the highlight of the hotel is its convenient location. But I believe that real category of it, is a 4-star hotel and definitely not 5-star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked this hotel for the location as we were only for one night in Vienna attending the Operaball. Location could not be better. 200 meters walk from the Wiener Staatoper, in Kartner Strasse. Kind and welcoming staff at the reception. The room was very big, but old fashioned, I did not like the decoration at all and would expect more from a 6! star hotel. There was no tea/coffee maker in the room. Bathroom looked old but clean. We got back to the hotel around 2 in the morning and thought they would have rooms service for some late night snack. Unfortunately they had not,but the guy at the reception suggested a great local place at Albertina, where a lot of Operaball guests had their famous bratwurst. All in all we had a good but not outstanding stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed there in May 2012 with my mum for 2 weeks. We found the hotel to be very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were oversize. We were in Rooms 405 and 406, which faced the busy side and didn't find it too noisy. The windows are double glazed which stops the noise. We are planning to go back this year and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you have a day or two in Vienna and want to stroll and enjoy its spirit this could be good solution! With a modest lobby and the reception desk, hotel is getting more and more interesting with every meter you are in! Nice hallways, with room tags with names of famous persons that stayed in, spacious rooms in old Viennese style. Downside is expensive 25 euro ,,sub-modest" breakfast and 35 euro parking from 23pm-11am!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is situated half way along one of the main pedestrianised shopping streets. 5 min walk to the cathedral + subway and 5 mins in other direction to State Opera House. Stayed in a themed room which was huge and beautiful. Reception staff were friendly + helpful. Only complaint was bar prices were too high (probably why it was empty!) + breakfast was 25 euro each, but we strolled down to the opera house cafe + paid 8 euro each instead! Overall a great hotel + will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Vienna
#50 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.