We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real style and perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 368 hotels in Vienna
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Real style and perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with everything that you would expect from an old style Viennese hotel in terms of room size and furniture. It is located in the most central position which meant that we were able to visit all the main sights on foot.

I would have given it five stars but for the fact that the price of the breakfast was ridiculous at 25 euros and nothing special. The breakfast should have been included in the cost of the room. There are plenty of nice coffee shops around where we had excellent breakfast for half that price.

Having said that I would recommend this as a great base for visiting Vienna. There is free WiFi in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    120
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
58
131
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayedfor four nights at the ambassador hotel situated on the Ringstrasse. The situation of this hotel is excellent for sight seeing eating out shopping. Our room was very nice on the second floor, the only downside was that immediately we left our room the smell of cigarette smoke from the bar area was overpowering. The bar area was open and of course in Scotland we are now so accustomed to a no smoking policy in all public areas so perhaps that is why it seemed so u comfortable to us. Apart from this I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you for your travel to Vienna,
We we to cafe central for breakfast this was a good time to visit this wonderful cafe as later in the day there are many large queues.
We did the three city bus tours which was helpful and allowed us to get a better idea of this lovely city.
We at eat the Italian restaurant Firenze and theaustrian restaurant Fhurich both very close to the hotel. On our last night we ate in Le Ciecle at the grand hotel Vienna - wow it was fab expensive but worth it!
We went to a concert at the Imperial hall which was excellent and our evening at the Gold Hall
With a wonderful ensemble was the highlight of our trip, we also managed a tour of the Gold Hall prior to the concert.
The shops are fabulous and the Christmas decorations quite beautiful
We had wanted to visit Vienna for some time and this was our 60th birthday present to each other the trip was even better than our expectations,

Room Tip: Our room was quite and overlooked the main shopping area with all the lovely Christmas lights,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was a little spoiled coming from a fantastic hotel in Salzburg, Austria (the Bristol), but all things considered this was hands down the worst hotel of our trip. We arrived late from Salzburg (around 19:00 local time) and were given perhaps the smallest room in the hotel (probably because we booked through expedia), but it had a really large bathroom. As my companion and I took of our jackets we noticed that the bed linens were covered in hair, as if the maid staff got tired and took a nap in our bed. This was a little distubing, but not that huge of a deal, nothing a fresh coat of linens couldn't fix. That's until my wife went to use the bathroom and saw that the toilet seat was covere din dry urine. We immediately packed our bags and brought them downstairs and informed the desk. The desk staff seemed to be bothered by the fact that we were requesting a room change, and they made us wait 20 minutes in the lobby for our new room. According to the desk attendant, the need authorization to put us in a different room because of the rate we booked and the fact that there was onyl one other room available. When we got up to the room, the bedroom was in fact larger (by area) and had one more window for more ventilation (as the room got quite hot even without the heat on), however the bathroom was half the size of the previous room (although it was cleaner). As it was the end of the trip, we just bit our lipped and hunkered down. I would imagine that a hotel trying to compete with the likes of the grander hotels on Kartner Strasse or the Opern Ring, that they would have been mortified to have guests be greeted with such distrubing conditions. I have had a similar experience in the States with the W hotel and we were immediately upgraded to a much nicer/larger room and given a hotel credit for one night because of the distubance. That is how a hotel guess should be treated and the Ambassador should learn a lesson.
Despite the miserable opening to our stay, the owrst part about the hotel was the lounge was opened to the first three floors near the elevators. Thus there was a powerful odor of cigarette smoke whenever you were going to or coming from the elevators. I realized during our trip that smoking is handled differently in Europe, but it became ridiculous when you were coughing on the way to your room. Our room was situated well away from the elevators, I could only imagine how uncomfotable it would be for the 4 or 5 rooms that opened up to the lounge atrium.
All in all your money can be better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not stay anywhere near the elevators if you do not like cigarette smoke odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times but after my last visit I will look for somewhere else. The rooms are old fashioned but not in a charming way - they are just tired. The bathroom was clean but old. Breakfast was good but it is now a full buffet style breakfast and only the eggs are cooked to order. No allergy pillows or kettles in the room, and given the above it is extremely expensive. Location is still excellent and staff helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location couldn't be better to explore Vienna! Its in the middle of karnterstrasse and in between the Opera house and St. Stephens cathedral. I liked the rooms and restaurant, no complaints there. I do have to mention the front desk staff, since they were hit or miss. It seemed like they either couldn't be bothered with questions or were not knowledgable. Maybe there was some training going on, but they were not up to the quality they should have been. Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had the oportunity to stay here 3 weeks ago (October '12) and found it not only in an excellent location in the city but a very nice hotel. Staff helpful and the room very nice. Albeit a little expensive but it was nearly worth the money. Everything near like the shops and the Catherdral, opera house etc.

Room Tip: the rooms were hot, for me anyway, so turn down the heaterss if you are not used to that kind of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for six nights and had high expectations thinking of it as a 5 star hotel. But we were told that the stars are just the logo. That explained it... we were lucky the door man was there upon check-in, but in other hotels they would open the door for you each time. Also, the house-keeping was a little sloppy and I told the management when checking out. The 25 Euro Breakfast we skipped had the Continental instead. The breakfast room was very busy, and it took a while till we were served and I had to ask for steamed milk. So, there is a wonderful Billa grocery store nearby where we bought yoghurt and fruit and then we would go out for coffee at one of the best Vienna Coffee Houses. All nearby, the Opera, the Dom, the Cafes and Restaurants, even the castle, the parks etc. .. we walked to the Bellvedere to see the Klimt exhibit. All in all we enjoyed our room when we came back after all this walking and relaxed there. So spacious.... a lot bigger than our rooms in Prague and Cesky Krumlow... but that is another review. All in all it was worth it and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#47 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#64 Business Hotel in Vienna
#64 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;