We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectations - Gross Dissapointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“High Expectations - Gross Dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was a little spoiled coming from a fantastic hotel in Salzburg, Austria (the Bristol), but all things considered this was hands down the worst hotel of our trip. We arrived late from Salzburg (around 19:00 local time) and were given perhaps the smallest room in the hotel (probably because we booked through expedia), but it had a really large bathroom. As my companion and I took of our jackets we noticed that the bed linens were covered in hair, as if the maid staff got tired and took a nap in our bed. This was a little distubing, but not that huge of a deal, nothing a fresh coat of linens couldn't fix. That's until my wife went to use the bathroom and saw that the toilet seat was covere din dry urine. We immediately packed our bags and brought them downstairs and informed the desk. The desk staff seemed to be bothered by the fact that we were requesting a room change, and they made us wait 20 minutes in the lobby for our new room. According to the desk attendant, the need authorization to put us in a different room because of the rate we booked and the fact that there was onyl one other room available. When we got up to the room, the bedroom was in fact larger (by area) and had one more window for more ventilation (as the room got quite hot even without the heat on), however the bathroom was half the size of the previous room (although it was cleaner). As it was the end of the trip, we just bit our lipped and hunkered down. I would imagine that a hotel trying to compete with the likes of the grander hotels on Kartner Strasse or the Opern Ring, that they would have been mortified to have guests be greeted with such distrubing conditions. I have had a similar experience in the States with the W hotel and we were immediately upgraded to a much nicer/larger room and given a hotel credit for one night because of the distubance. That is how a hotel guess should be treated and the Ambassador should learn a lesson.
Despite the miserable opening to our stay, the owrst part about the hotel was the lounge was opened to the first three floors near the elevators. Thus there was a powerful odor of cigarette smoke whenever you were going to or coming from the elevators. I realized during our trip that smoking is handled differently in Europe, but it became ridiculous when you were coughing on the way to your room. Our room was situated well away from the elevators, I could only imagine how uncomfotable it would be for the 4 or 5 rooms that opened up to the lounge atrium.
All in all your money can be better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not stay anywhere near the elevators if you do not like cigarette smoke odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    127
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
142
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times but after my last visit I will look for somewhere else. The rooms are old fashioned but not in a charming way - they are just tired. The bathroom was clean but old. Breakfast was good but it is now a full buffet style breakfast and only the eggs are cooked to order. No allergy pillows or kettles in the room, and given the above it is extremely expensive. Location is still excellent and staff helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location couldn't be better to explore Vienna! Its in the middle of karnterstrasse and in between the Opera house and St. Stephens cathedral. I liked the rooms and restaurant, no complaints there. I do have to mention the front desk staff, since they were hit or miss. It seemed like they either couldn't be bothered with questions or were not knowledgable. Maybe there was some training going on, but they were not up to the quality they should have been. Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had the oportunity to stay here 3 weeks ago (October '12) and found it not only in an excellent location in the city but a very nice hotel. Staff helpful and the room very nice. Albeit a little expensive but it was nearly worth the money. Everything near like the shops and the Catherdral, opera house etc.

Room Tip: the rooms were hot, for me anyway, so turn down the heaterss if you are not used to that kind of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for six nights and had high expectations thinking of it as a 5 star hotel. But we were told that the stars are just the logo. That explained it... we were lucky the door man was there upon check-in, but in other hotels they would open the door for you each time. Also, the house-keeping was a little sloppy and I told the management when checking out. The 25 Euro Breakfast we skipped had the Continental instead. The breakfast room was very busy, and it took a while till we were served and I had to ask for steamed milk. So, there is a wonderful Billa grocery store nearby where we bought yoghurt and fruit and then we would go out for coffee at one of the best Vienna Coffee Houses. All nearby, the Opera, the Dom, the Cafes and Restaurants, even the castle, the parks etc. .. we walked to the Bellvedere to see the Klimt exhibit. All in all we enjoyed our room when we came back after all this walking and relaxed there. So spacious.... a lot bigger than our rooms in Prague and Cesky Krumlow... but that is another review. All in all it was worth it and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was there with my husband for a conference. I recommend strongly this hotel mostly for its location, very practical and in the middle of the old district. The rooms are very nice and spacious not as much as the bathrooms. The only lack in the rooms is that there is no drink making facilities in the rooms.
Regarding the staff of the hotel, we had a bad experience with the personnel of the reception. The personnel at the reception is not really fluent is English, they are not very helpful probably because most of the time there is only one person to help all the guests at the reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Located in Kartner Strasse, the main street for shopping, between two metro station, the hotel is the perfect spot to visit the inner stadt, with lots of shops and traditional cafe.
We were in a classic double bedroom. The room was luxury decorated in classical viennese style, bathroom up to date but simple and quite minimal, with double basin and bidet.
I would appreciate one piece of bed but the bed was made of two single bed, maybe this is how they create a double bed. The hotel was clean, quiet and reception and restaurant metre are trained to high standard. I really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Karntner Strasse 22 / Neuer Markt 5, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#54 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.