We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westend City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Westend City Hostel to your Saves list
Westend City Hostel
Fugergasse 3, Vienna 1060, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't recommend it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

On the good side, the reception staff are friendly and helpful, but...

... the hostel doesn't feel good value for money and I wouldn't recommend it for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Sorry but there are much nicer hostels in the same area.

I paid 25 euros for one night in a dorm, which included a free breakfast. It was the most tasteless, awful breakfast I've ever had at a hostel, nasty muesli, white rolls and instant coffee. I'd have rather opted out but booking online gave me no option to do this. Stuff like juice, cheese, eggs, etc cost extra, no way was I paying for anything more considering the quality of the basic stuff.

The dorm room was very basic and passable, though with a slightly dirty bathroom. There were lockers but no locks were provided. People in my room just slept where they wanted and the reception staff just allowed this, despite assigning you a specific bed when you'd paid. Okay, but a bit pointless then...

The worst thing is, after sleeping one night here I had a small cluster of extremely itchy, lingering bites on my stomach. I didn't see anything creeping in my bed and I was provided with clean sheets. But I really think these were bed bug bites. I've encountered those nasties before and I know what the bites look and feel like. Obviously this just happens in hostels sometimes, but it can be an indicator of lax cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsaneh N, General Manager at Westend City Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest, hygiene is extremely important to us . The rooms are cleaned daily by our housekeeping. In case of problems guests can come at any time to the reception. If there are bed bugs in the room, we would ask you to announce it immediately at the reception. In such a case, the exterminator will be notified immediately and the room is locked. There was no note neither by you nor by other guests at the front desk, and we do not even know in which room you were. You probably have taken the bed bugs with yourself from another hostel.

For the lockers guests can use their own padlock or buy it at the reception. There are in the lounge sufficiently free guest safes .

Our free Breakfast (only for Guest booking on our Homepage) includes fresh bread, 2 sorts of jam , honey, tea butter, spread cheese, meat spread, nutella, Philadelphia cheese, cereals, tea and daily fresh prepared filter coffee. Our guests are free also to deposit their purchased sausage and cheese goods in our fridge during the stay. For 4 EUR we offer all inclusive breakfast including aditional chees, sausage and orange juice.

Our hostel is located in the center of Vienna and is surrounded by numerous of shops, restaurants and supermarkets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
3
8
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed for almost a week in the Westend City Hostel with two other friends while were were in Vienna with our University. We stayed in an 8-bed women's dorm, which was bright, comfortable and clean. For the most part we had good roommates, although one complaint I have is that there isn't an age limit for guests like there are in many other hostels. Our first night was spent with three older women who made frequent middle-of-the-night trips to the bathroom.

The location of the hostel is also excellent. It's a 5-minute walk from the Westbahnhof where my train came in, although my friends told me it was quite a haul to the airport.

The staff were all very friendly as well, and the room was cleaned every day.

If you have a room like we did that faces the front street, it is pretty loud. And staying there in the summer means keeping the windows open 24/7 because the rooms are stifling. We didn't try the breakfast because it costs extra, but we used the small kitchen in the common area.

Overall it was a good stay, and definitely worth the 17 Euro per night we payed.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the ground floor not facing the street because the rooms on the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulmarra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The room was average and what we expected. The breakfast wasn't anything special all. The location wasn't bad, really close to Westbahnhof, there is also a large shopping street only a few minutes walk away. The cooking facilities were limited to a microwave and a kettle but it's enough to make do. The wifi didn't reach our room which was annoying.
There was just something about this hostel that was just a bit strange. It mostly came down to the guests, which I know is beyond the control of the staff, although the behaviour of one guest in particular definitely put a dampener on our stay and it seemed to go ignored by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Really solid hostel close enough to the city centre to be good. Metro station 1 minute away. Hostel itself was clean, comfortable. All the staff were super friendly and willing to help when it came to finding things to do and recommending things. Decent

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were going to be in Vienna for 3 nights, but cut our visit short partly because the weather was horrendous, but partly because we felt pretty uncomfortable in this hostel.
It is not close to the centre at all, the subway will become your best friend. We usually walk everywhere but in bad weather conditions it is a horrible walk.
The bunk bed that was left in our 10 bed dorm was one stuffed into the corner behind other beds and behind the lockers, so it was difficult to get in and out. The lockers were behind the door/beds and there wasn't anywhere for the bin to actually go.
WiFi is only available in the common area but it is good signal there. Plugs are difficult to get to in the rooms, but easy to access in the common area.
The common area is pretty nice and has sofas, a kitchen and table football. We also found that the staff were pretty friendly and helpful when we wanted to cancel our third night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Myself and 4 friends were taking part in a charity hitch hike called the big hitch, where we were aiming to travel from London to Budapest without spending any money. We arrived in Vienna around 10pm and did not need to leave for our next train until 6am the next morning therefore visited this hostel as a safe place to stay for a couple of hours in the night. As we were not allowed to spend any money the hostel receptionist kindly agreed to let us stay free of charge in their common room. We were all very grateful as it was raining outside and it didn't seem worthwhile getting a room for the short space of time. The hostel was in a perfect location to the westbarnoff train station with plenty places to eat and drink surrounding and the receptionist we met was very welcoming and helpful in helping us with our voyage. We did not get to check out any bedrooms but the common room we stayed in was cosy and sociable. And the hostel itself was also very clean. If we are ever back in Vienna we would definitely come back and stay properly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I spent a couple of nights at the Westend City, which, is pretty centrally located for the things you'd probably want to see and do. I found the hostel a little strange though, and more so the guests - which, I know the management have no control over to a degree. It appeared that whole families were living there, which felt that you were in the way. It was fairly clean, for hostel standards. It was however very much regulated like no noise after 8pm or a 100 Euro fine, and the lift is turned-off between 10pm and 7am - again, to prevent noise. I'm assuming there's been lots of complaints, from the neighbours? Breakfast wasn't much, but, okay if you need a little to get you going. I did find it funny that instead of juices, you had the substitute of water - which I know, is much healthier!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westend City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend City Hostel

Address: Fugergasse 3, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WESTEND CITY HOSTEL!Our Hostel is the most centrally located youth hostel right in the heart of Vienna. Enjoy your visit in a quiet location with a stylish and charming atmosphere in a beautiful newly renovated historical building (built in 1876). We are located next to the railway and metro station “Wien Westbahnhof” and the most popularshopping street of Vienna Mariahilfer Strasse.The City Center is within 15 minutes walking distance. All major sights, museums, restaurants, cafés and discos can be reached quickly by foot or by public transportation.What we offer:breakfast buffet + free bedlinen + shower & toilet in every room + free lockers in the room and free luggagestorage+ free wifi + free map& travelguides and information + 24h reception + laundry room + Internet access + comfortable common area with satellite TV & table football + simple guest kitchen+ vending machine and coffee machine + courtyard with seats.How to find us:From “Westbahnhof“ (about 3 min):Leave the main hall of the Westbahnhof and cross the main road "Gürtel" towards"Innere Mariahilferstraße" (towards city center). On the „Christian Broda Platz“ take the first right onto "Millergasse", then the first left onto "Fügergasse".From “Wien Meidling“ (about 15 min): Take U6 to „Westbahnhof”.From the “international airport”: Take the CAT or S7 to "Wien Mitte" and then theMetro U3 direction "Ottakring", exit Westbahnhof; or take the bus from theairport to "Wien Westbahnhof".From “Südbahnhof- main train station” (about 20 min): Take the tramway 18 to “Westbahnhof“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Westend City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westend City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.