We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better hostel right down the road...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westend City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westend City Hostel to your Saves list
Westend City Hostel
Fugergasse 3, Vienna 1060, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better hostel right down the road...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Westend was our first choice upon arriving in Vienna. We were not happy with the customer service. They were rude, snippy and short with us. We arrived around 7am since we took an overnight train from Prague. We waited in the lounge area from 7am-noon since we couldn't check into our room until 2 or 3pm, which is normal. However, I went to the front desk around noon to ask if they had anything available yet and the receptionist was surprised that the last representative didn't offer this to me, there were some available. In fact, he actually put-down the other representative by saying that "he's new and doesn't know anything." I didn't appreciate that.

Anywho, it's a clean place, nice little lounge area and small kitchen. But, if you walk 7 minutes away, to Hostel Ruthensteiner, you will be VERY happy! We were! I am going to write a review on them now... Check it out if you'd like.

Room Tip: Shared rooms are cheap -- but ladies, some traveling men do not shower much, and they snore. Also, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Westend City Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you felt you were not warmly received by our employees.
Our employees have the instruction to treat all guests friendly.

Generally, the check in time is at 14:00 clock. We need time to clean the rooms and perform any maintenance. The day desk was kind to let you check in at noon in a cleaned room.
We have a free luggage room where the guests can give their luggage prior to check in and after check out. So guests can explore the surroundings and the city while rooms are beeing cleaned.

If one of the guests in the shared rooms disobeys the house rules or is uncomfortable for other guests, then we will ask the unpleasant guest kindly to take a private room or to check out.

We have at www.hostelbookers.com an overall rating of 84%. 830 out of 967 customers would recommend our property.

We wish you all the best for your future travel.

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
8
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Big, clean rooms and a fantastic, friendly staff! Breakfast is included (rare in Viennese hostels), common area to hang out & plan your day, great location and pretty affordable.
The location is great! Near to Westbanhof station, restaurants, shops and bars. They give you a very useful map when you check in too which has the sights, bars and restaurants marked on it. Also provide a nice simple breakfast and free wifi!

Thank´s !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

great place. nice and quiet. simple breakfast but free. best location close to city center
staff was very helpful. especially the guy in the morning. always ready to help. and cute ;)
very weak WIFI signal. but free!!!
all in all a very pleasant stay. would definitely come again. they offer you an excellent city map
enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Me and my two friends stayed here for 4 nights in July. We stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was definitely an experience. The service was fine, i have read the other reviews about the service, but we personally didn't have any problems. The room we stayed in was clean the lockers were big but be warned you do have to provide your own lock otherwise they are pretty useless. The area is close to a really good shopping district, local supermarket and train station. The social area in the hostel is fantastic and a lot of people do gather there either to chat, meet new people or before going out. We met a lot of fantastic people here, some who we continued travelling with. We enjoyed our stay here and if we were in the area would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

Hostel is in a great location. Rooms were fine. Staff were dreadful, v unhelpful. Unable / unwilling to answer v basic questions. Acted like they were stoned half the time. If the staff were good, hostel would be great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsaneh N, Manager at Westend City Hostel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest, we are sorry that you were not warmly received. The unfriendly receptionist is no longer working with us. with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed in a mixed dorm with a friend. The room and beds were okay. Great location--walking distance from the train station and the shopping area. Breakfast was simple but all-you-can-eat so it was okay.

Had a bad experience though with the staff and lockers-- my locker was broken and when I went down to the guy at the reception area to complain, he basically said that there was nothing he could do and that I was going to have to live with it. He didn't even offer an apology. I don't really expect superb service from a teenager working at a hostel but I also don't expect to be shortchanged for something that I paid for. Was too tired to argue so I just let it go and stashed my bag in my friend's locker.

It would've been an okay place and I would have recommended it to others but considering what lousy staff they have and the variety of hostel options in Vienna--I'd recommend you look for something else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Only stayed one night but seemed very nice - the dorm was a good size and there were big lockers for each bed. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was big and clean.
There was a common room downstairs and people seemed friendly, but the kitchen seemed limited to a microwave, kettle and sink. Also breakfast was quite basic - just cereal and rolls but not unpleasant. It's in a good location - right on Maria Hilfer Strasse which is a main shopping street with lots of cafes and restaurants, also 5 minute walk from station to take the underground.
Quite expensive for a hostel but that's just Vienna!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westend City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend City Hostel

Address: Fugergasse 3, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WESTEND CITY HOSTEL!Our Hostel is the most centrally located youth hostel right in the heart of Vienna. Enjoy your visit in a quiet location with a stylish and charming atmosphere in a beautiful newly renovated historical building (built in 1876). We are located next to the railway and metro station “Wien Westbahnhof” and the most popularshopping street of Vienna Mariahilfer Strasse.The City Center is within 15 minutes walking distance. All major sights, museums, restaurants, cafés and discos can be reached quickly by foot or by public transportation.What we offer:breakfast buffet + free bedlinen + shower & toilet in every room + free lockers in the room and free luggagestorage+ free wifi + free map& travelguides and information + 24h reception + laundry room + Internet access + comfortable common area with satellite TV & table football + simple guest kitchen+ vending machine and coffee machine + courtyard with seats.How to find us:From “Westbahnhof“ (about 3 min):Leave the main hall of the Westbahnhof and cross the main road "Gürtel" towards"Innere Mariahilferstraße" (towards city center). On the „Christian Broda Platz“ take the first right onto "Millergasse", then the first left onto "Fügergasse".From “Wien Meidling“ (about 15 min): Take U6 to „Westbahnhof”.From the “international airport”: Take the CAT or S7 to "Wien Mitte" and then theMetro U3 direction "Ottakring", exit Westbahnhof; or take the bus from theairport to "Wien Westbahnhof".From “Südbahnhof- main train station” (about 20 min): Take the tramway 18 to “Westbahnhof“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Westend City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westend City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.