We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding lounges and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld to your Saves list
Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schottenfeldgasse 74, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding lounges and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved staying here. It was very elegant, refined and visually appealing. We stayed here as part of a River Cruise with Viking. The hotel was so lovely we could settle down after a busy day of site seeing and thoroughly enjoy a fine dinner and pleasant evening without going out again on the town.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    132
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
128
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu Town, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good and clean hotel near all the tourist attractions, located in an interesting neighbourhood. Good value indeed for the room type and services provided. Check-in and check-out was done in a lightning speed. Staff helpful and professional, especially the girls at the front desk. My room (junior suite) was clean, spacious, comfortable bed, good quality linens, pleasant balcony, OK furniture. Rich and well-presented breakfast. Drinks at the bar a bit expensive.
Only some minor problems: No cutlery and pen/stationery in the rooms. Limited bathroom amenities (dispenser style) but they did the job anyway. Ventilation in the bathroom very noisy -almost disturbing- during the night as my room was very quiet.
Small advice: The entrance to the hotel should be renovated as it looks plain and unimpressive from the outside so it can add that little extra needed for a good first impression. A polish of the junior suite's floor would be a nice touch that could instantly transform the appearance and atmosphere of the room.
In general terms, my experience with Falkensteiner am Schottenfeld was really positive and I would certainly recommend the hotel. Return? Probably yes, but see how it goes first.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean, and big. Personnel is kind, but few people of the staff are able to speak english! One day I called reception in order to have breakfast in my room. Reception redirected my call to the kitchen were a woman who didn't understand a word of english, hung up the phone because she didin't understand me.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear SASACT,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our rooms, the cleanlieness and our staff.

Please accept my sincere apologies that not all aspects of your stay did meet your satisfaction.
It shouldn't be an issue to help with your Room Service Order in English and I'm really sorry to read that we weren't able to support you in an appropriate way. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better satisfy your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

We will certainly work on these important issues. Despite this disappointment I do sincerely hope that you will be returning to the Falkensteiner Hotel am Schottenfeld at some point to give us a second opportunity to convince you with our high service standards.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed only for a night but as always Falkensteiner is, stay was pleasant, great staff, fantastic breakfast. Location is very good to city centre and it's anyway very quiet place. From the room especially I could not hear anything, so I could have nice sleep.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Miha B.,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review, this is very much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm so happy to read that the staff was able to assist you in pleasurable way.

Again, I am very thankful for your comments and I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future.
In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With kind regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We stayed in this hotel after a 2+ weeks vacation in the U.S. It was by far the best hotel we've stayed at during this vacation, and I have hard time remembering the last time we were this impressed with a hotel property. There is nothing I can suggest to the hotel management that should change, quite the contrary, please keep doing what you have been doing!! Hotel has a fashionable boutique feel, is extremely clean and the personnel is extremely helpful. Breakfast buffet was the best we have had in a long time, and we are vegan so we at times struggle to enjoy "regular" buffet breakfast. Staff was vey helpful with sightseeing advise, and all bartenders were pleasant and attentive. Restaurant has an excellent hip feeling too. Hotel is a short 10-minute walk to the downtown. Excellent Excellent!!!

Green Features: water conservation, electricity is activated with the room key card.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Jana K.,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben ihre Eindrücke über Ihren Aufenthalt im Falkensteiner Hotel am Schottenfeld in solch ausführlicher Form mitzuteilen.

Es freut mich sehr, dass Sie Ihre Zeit bei uns derart genossen haben und das Sie mit unserem Service, Ihrem Gästezimmer, unserem Frühstück, dem Barteam und der Lage des Hotels vollkommen zufrieden waren.

Ihre ausführliche Bewertung ist ein großes Kompliment für uns, wofür ich mich recht herzlich bei Ihnen bedanken möchte.

Mein Team und ich würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns im Falkensteiner Hotel am Schottenfeld herzlich willkommen heißen zu dürfen.

Beste Grüße aus Wien sendet Ihnen,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obernai, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Although the hotel is in center, when you enter in you have the impression to come into a protective nide. Quiet, very nice, big and clean room. Dinner was qualitative, and breakfast rich and also of high quality products... A place to recommend with no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Dominique M,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review, this is very much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm so happy to read that the staff was able to assist you in pleasurable way and you especially liked our culinary offer.

Again, I am very thankful for your comments and I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future.
In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With kind regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

This hotel, right between the old city, mariahilfe (shopping) and Jozefstadt is a great place to lay your head.

With outstanding, super-friendly personnel and a very kind and helpful host we had nothing to complain about.

The breakfast is incredible, with more to choose from then you can ever ask for.

The rooms are clean and spacious and the bathroom is fairly large.

If you don't need to save money on your hotel, this is the place to stay.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Thijs,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review, this is very much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm so happy to read that the staff was able to assist you in pleasurable way.

Again, I am very thankful for your comments and I really do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future.
In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With kind regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld

Address: Schottenfeldgasse 74, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vienna
#87 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#106 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#110 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre, 7th district, close to the Mariahilfer Str., Vienna City Hall, innovative design, 144 trendy rooms with coffee machine, Wlan & Sky TV for free, restaurant, bar, wellness, fitness & conference area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkensteiner Hotel Am Schottenfeld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.