We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drei Kronen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Drei Kronen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drei Kronen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schleifmuhlgasse 25, Vienna 1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Here are my biggest issues with Hotel Drei Kronen:
I. Middle of tourist traps
II. Highly overpriced surrounding restaurants and entertainment.
III. Nearly non-functioning WIFI.
IV. I also had a small problem with the staff being unable to understand my English accent in German or English, but it was easily resolved.
V. Tiny bathroom, even for a German hotel.

The hotel itself is nice and has a wonderful view of the Rhein. It is perfectly located to visit the Kölner Dom and isn't far from the Hauptbahnhof. That being said, if you want an authentic German experience this isn't your place. If you don't care much about the vacation giving you a real feel for German culture but just want to get to the sites quickly and cheaply, this is your hotel. I heard nearly as many people speaking in English or French as I did German, but if you don't mind being in a tourist trap, this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    85
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
25
46
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When my husband & I go for a city trip, we don't need luxury. what we want is a nice, clean Hotel with a simple and good breakfast. Hotel Drei Kronen in Wien (Vienna) was all that and more.
The Hotel is in a very good location. The famous Nashmarkt is at your feet. In the same street (Schleifmuhlgasse) are a couple of very good Bars and Restaurants and a fantastic traditional Vienna Shop to by Coffee. They roast the coffee wright there and you can choose between different kind of varieties. From the Hotel 5 min. by feet to the next metro station.
The room are small but clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've stayed 4 nights in April. Actually, we based on the other reviews, and I'd like to thank everyone and the TripAdvisor team. Because of the previous review, we knew to take bath amenities with us (they have only standard built inn vessel with liquid soap), and consulting others we knew to write an E-mail to the Hotel and to ask a quite room ( to Schleifmuhlgasse str) .
So we had wonderful 4 nights in a quite comfortable room.
The stuff is nice ,polite and helpful.
The breakfast is really good, fresh vegetables and fruits ,even sparkling wine!
And location!!! We never used any public transport,only tourist ring tram just for fun.
Besides, the best Vienna market with all it's eateries is just outside.
We liked this hotel and definitely would stay there next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

That's all there is to it... Very nice view from balcony and nice room. The last day we were allowed to stay for 2 additional hours due to late flight... All in all a nice stay. Will recommend young couples to take a look at this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutaisi, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good location: city center is just 6-7 minutes walking distance. Museum quarter and shopping area can be reach in 5-6 minutes. Karlsplatz Metro station is just 5 minutes away which has connection with Wien Mitte station and Airport trains. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Free city maps and other information are available at the reception. Budget-friendly hotel which is ok if you are not looking for a luxurious vacation. Acceptable service and facilities. Small size rooms, but very clean. Breakfast is good. Recommended for short-stay vacations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice hotel. Good value for money. If you are not going for a luxurious vacation, its perfect-it has all you need. Good location - the centre is 5 min walking distance. The breakfast is classic austrian breakfast I really liked it! I enjoyed my stay there. I will stay there again if I visit Vienna in the future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed her in November 2012 and liked the place. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were small but super clean. The location is perfect, right across the street from one of Europe's best markets, and within walking distance to pretty much everything in Vienna.

The only problem I have with the hotel is that it looks shabby. The outside paint is peeling, the lobby has ugly linoleum flooring and the elevator has graffiti etched in it. The hotel doesn't need top be gutted but some new flooring, paint and maybe a new elevator cab would be a big improvement.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drei Kronen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Kronen

Address: Schleifmuhlgasse 25, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drei Kronen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1897 by the Art Nouveau architect Ignaz Drapala, this hotel offers a central location in the immediate vicinity of Vienna State Opera, the Museum Quarter, and the Naschmarkt (open-air market). Free Wi-Fi is available.The Drei Kronen Hotel City's modern rooms include satellite TV, a safe, and a bathroom. In the morning a rich Viennese breakfast buffet is served. An internet terminal is also available.Many sights such as the Hofburg Imperial Palace and the Albertina Museum, as well as Vienna’s most famous shopping streets (the Mariahilfer Straße and the Kärntner Straße) are a 5 to 7 minute walk away.A bus stop is only a few feet away. The Karlsplatz subway station can be reached with a 5 minute walk from Drei Kronen Hotel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Drei Kronen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Kronen Hotel
Drei Kronen Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drei Kronen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.