We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and friendly but could use some cosmetic improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drei Kronen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drei Kronen to your Saves list
Hotel Drei Kronen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schleifmuhlgasse 25, Vienna 1040, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Centrally located and friendly but could use some cosmetic improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed her in November 2012 and liked the place. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were small but super clean. The location is perfect, right across the street from one of Europe's best markets, and within walking distance to pretty much everything in Vienna.

The only problem I have with the hotel is that it looks shabby. The outside paint is peeling, the lobby has ugly linoleum flooring and the elevator has graffiti etched in it. The hotel doesn't need top be gutted but some new flooring, paint and maybe a new elevator cab would be a big improvement.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    88
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
47
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is located less than 10 min walk from the Vienna opera where all the tours begin.
The breakfast is nice and is included
The people at reception are very helpful, especially the ladies Malgorzata and Elizabeth
They gave me advice where to tour and where to find a concert.
Worth visiting the market area right in front of the hotel,
not only food stands but also restaurants of all kinds.

Will stay there again no doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a high floor looking into the internal court for quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the hotel as it was one of the conference hotel. Single room was small but clean. The furnishings looked relatively new. Bed was comfortable. Only down side was that for my room (top floor) i had to walk up a flight of stairs as the lift only went to the 4th floor, also, there was a dripping sound through the radiator in the early mornings. The location is a good. Next to the Naschmarket so loads of restaurant and shops. Supermarket is 2 mins, Karsplatz underground is 5mins and the museum is 15mins away on foot. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast room was spacious and the food spread was good (continental+torn bacon+scrambled eggs+fruits+salad). Even had an open bottle of bubbly each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in Drei Kronen hotel for one night in September. Originaly we were planning to stay at the airport hotel but we could not get a room....Drei Kronen was the only hotel that wold accomodate family of 4. The rooms were clean, breakfast was very good. We had only 1/2 day in Vienna and wanted to show our kids as much as we could. The location was really good for exploring on foot. The only negative would be that there should be taxi waiting for us at the airport but the hotel forgot to book it...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

When travaling for turism, i belive there is some essencials for a good place: good location, near to the center, near to places to eat and near to the subway/tram lines. This hotels fit all those four options. The hotel has a simple brakfast, clean hotel (no refrigeration), free internet and acess by elevator. Its 3 blocs from a station and in the same street are some restaurants. But if you are smart you wont eat there (even if they are cheap for viene prices!) becausa one block from the hotel there are a open market with several restaurants. Nice place to stay, definily would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeek, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Old building, nicely kept, with lots of atmosphere. Our room was high-ceilinged - very pleasant - and gave on to the Schleifmuhlgasse, which made it rather quiet. I can imagine that any rooms on the Rechte Wienzeile side would be quite a bit noisier. Breakfast was excellent, as buffet breakfasts go. Even the boiled eggs were perfect every day! The coffee could have a bit more Viennese, though (read: better). I found the service very friendly.
All in all our stay (Friday through Monday) was very pleasant. Good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

It was a clean hotel. We picked this hotel because of the location. It was really a good location for the value. Next to a street market. Breakfast was really good. It was too nice for three star European hotel. We enjoyed our breakfast a lot. Bed was comfortable. Tv was small. Clean and big bathroom. Only complain we had other guests. We could hear everybody upstairs , next door, corridor, and stairs. If you go to bed early it is hard to sleep. After midnight everybody was settling down so it was better. No outside voice, every sound was coming from inside of the hotel. (from other guests). Staff was nice, Internet connection is good. There are a lot Of restaurants and grocery stores around the hotel. We walked to the palace and some other places.10- 15 minutes walk to old town. Subway is close.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drei Kronen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Kronen

Address: Schleifmuhlgasse 25, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drei Kronen 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1897 by the Art Nouveau architect Ignaz Drapala, this hotel offers a central location in the immediate vicinity of Vienna State Opera, the Museum Quarter, and the Naschmarkt (open-air market). Free Wi-Fi is available.The Drei Kronen Hotel City's modern rooms include satellite TV, a safe, and a bathroom. In the morning a rich Viennese breakfast buffet is served. An internet terminal is also available.Many sights such as the Hofburg Imperial Palace and the Albertina Museum, as well as Vienna’s most famous shopping streets (the Mariahilfer Straße and the Kärntner Straße) are a 5 to 7 minute walk away.A bus stop is only a few feet away. The Karlsplatz subway station can be reached with a 5 minute walk from Drei Kronen Hotel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Drei Kronen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Kronen Hotel
Drei Kronen Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drei Kronen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.