We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations - all met!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mochi

Mochi
Praterstrasse 15, Vienna 1020 , Austria (Leopoldstadt)
+43 1 9251380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 2,919 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“High expectations - all met!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After managing to reserve a table a this hot spot we finally had dinner at the Mochi yesterday. Enjoying the privilege of sitting outside (they keep a table for you inside and outside if you have a reservation), we ordered three courses: Kim Chi, Mochi for Two and of course Mochi for dessert. Since we had Mochi for Two, the main course was split into 3 courses, I guess mainly to keep everything as fresh as possible considering the outside temperature of well above 30° Celcius (86° Fahrenheit). After the good and quite spicy Kim Chi salad we were both blown away by the variety of nagiri, sashimi and maki. Both the fish and the rice were of highest quality. The dessert also exceeded our by then very high expectations.

If you plan to visit Vienna, don't forget to reserve a table at the Mochi at least 4 weeks ahead of your stay. Otherwise you can always try to be lucky and wait for the next table to be free.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have been here for lunch and really enjoyed the whole experience. The Quality of the Food is very good and innovative. Perfect and exceptional Sushi and interesting other dishes. Staff is nice, friendly and professional. In summer it is a great place to sit outside which almost creates a kind of holiday flair. Prices are not cheap but well worth it. Definitely a place to go if you like Japanese/Asian cuisine!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Loved the salmon sashimi! Japanese Fusion menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We eat out and travel a lot. Vienna is a wonderful city - but .. Asian food is far from its strength. Sashimi especially is a tough ask in this city. At last count 10 different 'sushi' places and I would not go back to a single one. On a tip from a local friend we visited Mochi (2nd time now) - we were open to the menu. This is not a straight sushi bar, this is fusion. That being said - we are sashimi people. I never order anything on the menu until I taste this one dish and here it was excellent. Easily the best we have had in Vienna. It was, melt in your mouth good. Served at the right temperature and the correct thickness of cut. The edamame was also good and fresh, served with fresh shredded horseradish. I can see how 'die hard' sushi lovers who want their version of 'traditional' Japanese food might struggle with the menu. But keep an open mind - try some dishes and you will enjoy the dining experience.
On the afternoon we were there, outside was fully booked - back to back. This place is TINY ... so booking or at least calling ahead is necessary.
I agree, the staff can be a little slow - but all in all they did a good job and spoke very good English. This tends to be more of a local place - so be prepared to dine with people next to you that may have their dog with them (like us)
As with all reviews this is a personal opinion - but we have had 2 visits here and both have not disappointed. It is sad when people can't place balanced reviews. We will be back again - but next time I will book ahead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good-ish, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

While not Viennese, we live in Vienna and we're adventurous eaters. And, let's just say that (fried) Schnitzel and Tafelspitz (boiled beef) has gotten old. I had read the hype on this restaurant and listened to the accolades from friends, and finally got around to having lunch here with my husband and son.

The outdoor setting is wonderful; a beautiful shaded area dappled with sun just off the busy section of Praterstraße. We sat for an early weekday lunch (11:30), and within minutes every table was filled, with people hovering about waiting for an opening. Waitstaff were friendly (ours was a bit forgetful, though).

We started with Edamame, nicely crisp and tossed with a perfect fusion combination of sea salt and horseradish. Our lunches came with either miso soup or salad. The guys declared the miso soup quite good; I enjoyed my mixed green salad with a light sesame dressing--no leaves were drowning in my bowl. I ordered the "Spicy Salmon" sushi with avocado, innovative in that the salmon was finely diced rather than as a whole piece, but more "Austrian spicy" (that is, not at all spicy) than having a true spicy tone. Still, my lunch was good. Our son ordered the Ebi Katsu Don of crispy shrimp atop a daikon and rice bowl that was of good portion and flavor. My husband ordered the Tori Katsu Don, a similar bowl with chicken that was horribly over salted. He reported that when back in the office that afternoon he felt a bit upset from the salt overload.

Will I dine here again? If out with friends who suggest it, then yes, for the sake of consensus. Will I suggest the restaurant? No. It's popular and trendy, but just good-ish, not great, and definitely not worth hovering about waiting for a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming, hip and very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located on an attractive, small square in the quiet 2nd District, Mochi managed to squeeze us in without a dinner reservation. We were delighted to find it a non-smoking restaurant. We noticed too, that none of the sushi chefs or wait staff were Japanese, and that nothing especially Japanese decorated the premises; but this didn't matter, once the 'Mochi for Two' combination began arriving. The set consists of three plates, arriving one after the other. All were quite tasty, most laudable being the sashimi--not quite, but nearly melt-in-the-mouth tender, with a nice assortment that included octopus. The waitress was kind to bridge a few language barriers, and to compensate for jet lag-addled social skills. We enjoyed our meal very much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mochi also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Mochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mochi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.