We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great hotel in a great location with the most beautifull breakfast room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erzherzog Rainer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erzherzog Rainer to your Saves list
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Hauptstr 27 - 29, Vienna A-1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“The great hotel in a great location with the most beautifull breakfast room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is great. I love the design of the breakfast room so much and because of this place I will definitely return back. The design of the stairs, sitting room and breakfast room especially let you feel like in real Vienna – more than in a lot of famous cafe& restaurants in the city centre.
The room was big, warm, quiet and cosy with a nice wooden lay around. I really appreciated separate bathroom and toilet. Small surprise is the wardrobe with light inside. In the room there was a big safe box with really easy use.
The breakfast is great. I like the tomatoes grilled with parmesan cheese. It was really delicious. There was a huge selection of bread and pastry, ham & cheese, eggs & sausage & ham, fruit salad and vegetables…The also served sparkling vine, but I did not try it. They had a vanilla sugar by the tea and forest fruit by the yogurth -waw.
The restaurant is nice and they served also traditional food, I liked it. The guy in the restaurant was really helpful and friendly, he still smiles on the guest and was polite.
The young dark hair lady in the breakfast room was also great, she recommend me 2 restaurants in the city centre- both excellent. Younger receptionist and the front office manager were really helpful and friendly.
The hotel has good position; it is in a walkable distance from the centre and if you are little bit lazy just jump in to the tram 1 or 26 that will take you everywhere. The Belvedere is about 10 minutes by walk from the hotel and the Geometer is on the same underground line as the hotel.
I will come definitely back.

Room Tip: I had a great room to the coutyard- could sleep with open window as home(:
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear HotelJulianPrague,

thank you for posting your impressions about our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.

We are delighted to read that you loved the design of the breakfast room and will definitely come back to see it again.

Your entire stay in Vienna seems to have been up to your expectations and we thank you very much for your compliments and your praise to the staff.

We will be happy to welcome you back again and look forward to your next booking.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    173
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
170
41
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

this hotel is not far from the Ring, so you are not in the center, but just a 10 to 15 minutes walk from it
the breakfast is correct, the breakfast room well furnished, modern and comfortable with a part (I mean walls and ceiling) in early 1900 style
personnel very kind and professional
my room, a double, was very wide and comfortable; good bed
the bathroom ample enough
if you like a flavour of old, specially in the lobby, this is the place
however, all spotlessly clean

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Arzillo,

Thank you for your review.

As you wrote our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer gets its flair from its almost 100-year-old tradition.
We are glad that you fully enjoyed its particular charm and really felt comfortable. Thank you for your nice compliments.

We hope to count you soon again to our guest and remain,

with best regards from Vienna to Italy

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were very lucky to stumble upon this hotel for our stay in Vienna. Primarily chosen for its good value and decent location in relation to both the coach drop off point from Bratislava Airport (Sudtiroller Platz less than 15mins walk away) and roughly the same distance to the very centre of town. Not far from Karlsplatz and the wondefully lit Karlskirche at night. Room was fine, with ample storage, decent bed, plus a safe and a bathroom with shower & bath. Staff were particularly pleasant - so much so that we sent them a thank you e-mail upon our return and got a swift and nice reply. Breakfast excellent. Located within striking distance of some nice restaurants - Gasthaus Ubl and Restaurant Sperl both recommended. Would visit this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 2fromWarrington,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer for your Viennese holidays.

With great pleasure we learn that you really had a nice stay in our beautiful city.

We would also like to take this opportunity and thank you for investing so much time in reviewing your stay with us. Not only you wrote directly to the hotel but you also took the chance to post your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that our offer fully convinced you and we appreciate your nice compliments for our staff, the hotel position and the advised room.

Looking forward to your next, hopefully soon, visit, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly hotel. excellent service. Walkable distance to city. quiet and elegant breakfast. helpful staff. definitely recommend to anyone staying in vienna. The hotel taxi transfer service is reliable

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear markchanchan,

We are delighted to read about your experience and thank you for your compliments.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will soon be again our guest.

In the meantime, we wish you a nice autumn and thank you for recommending us.

With best regards from Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solroed Strand, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer for two days. The receptionist was extremely helpful at arrival and the room was very nice. Breakfast was splendid with all that you could ask for. The location was very convenient - close to the U-bahn Karlsplatz, but also in a walking distance from the city center. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and was a bit disappointed, but except from that, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear MarianneEN,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience on TripAdvisor.

With pleasure we learn that you had a very pleasant stay at our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer and are happy about your nice comments regarding the receptionist, the breakfast offer and the hotel location. Thank you.

We regret that the restaurant offer could not convince you and hope to become a further opportunity to show you our service and quality consciousness.

Waiting for your next visit, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is located very successfully. A tram stop is near the hotel. To the next subway about 200 meters. To the Vienna opera about 800 meters.
Room was spacious. The bed is convenient. The bathroom is rather big with new bathroom equipment.
The hotel had very good breakfast with a wide choice of dishes.
The unique shortcoming is lack of the conditioner in a room. At open windows it is well audible passing trams.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Andrey K,

We appreciate your review and thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you were very happy with the hotel location which enabled you to visit simply and easily all corners of our beautiful city.

Thank you also for your nice compliments regarding the breakfast buffet and the advised room. We are happy you enjoyed!

As you wrote the hotel has no air-conditioning. We still hope you could spend some restful nights.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in future and await your next booking.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer for 8 days at the end of June. I chose this hotel based on the location ~ it's away from the busy city center, but close enough to be an easy walking distance. There's also a U-Bahn station nearby. I was constantly going to/from the hotel all week, and it was so convenient! The hotel staff was professional and friendly, always there to greet me and answer any questions. The breakfast was delicious, the wifi was free. Overall I had a very pleasant stay, and I will gladly stay here again on future trips to Vienna!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Kari R,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

With pleasure we read about your experience and are happy that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

We gladly look forward to your next Viennese holidays and send you, in the meanwhile, our best regards to San Francisco.

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erzherzog Rainer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzherzog Rainer

Address: Wiedner Hauptstr 27 - 29, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#64 Business Hotel in Vienna
#69 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#90 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erzherzog Rainer 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition, Viennese charm and outstanding Austrian hospitality all await guests to the 4-star Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. The 84 rooms in Wilhelminian style are continually modernized without compromising the hotel's character. The central, convenient location not far from the Vienna State Opera guarantees a vacation in which there's opportunity to immerse oneself deep in the Viennese soul. Upscale Viennese "Gasthaus" cuisine is celebrated at the restaurant "Wiener Wirtschaft". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Erzherzog Rainer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erzherzog Rainer Hotel
Best Western Vienna
Erzherzog Rainer Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.