We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not hesitate to stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Das Capri to your Saves list
Das Capri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Would not hesitate to stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Vienna for three nights at the Hotel Capri. We arrived earlier in the morning, sometime around 11 a.m. and the staff was able to accommodate us with a room early to put our luggage away and clean up. The room was very clean and comfortable. I am pretty picky when it comes to the bathrooms and pillows, and that said, I was completely satisfied with both. We had a room with a tub/shower and the water temperature and pressure was fabulous. It was the BEST shower I have ever had at a hotel. The room had a safe and a tea station.

The reception staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke very good English (this was never an issue throughout Austria). The breakfast had a buffet of meats, cheeses, soft boiled and hard boiled eggs, a variety of breads, pastries and fruits. Tea, juices, water, and many varieties of coffee were accompanying the buffet. There was more than enough food to go around.

The location was perfect. You are steps away from the Metro. The metro is so easy to use and from the location of the hotel you can be anywhere you want to be in minutes. Trains are regular and you can be at Stephansdom in 5 minutes and further afield in 10.

You must realize (as we didn't) that hotels in Vienna do not have air conditioning. If you are lucky enough to find a hotel that offers it, you will pay extra for it. Our room was not facing the street, it was facing apartments and we were on the 4th floor. We were able to sleep with the windows open and it not be a problem with noise. The room does come with a tall circulating fan to cool things down and this was sufficient.

I would stay at Hotel Capri again if in Vienna and strongly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room off the street to reduce noise from open windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    304
    44
    6
    2
See reviews for
171
360
73
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Capri in July and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was large and well equipped (comfortable bed, flat screen tv with channels in many languages) and the bathroom looked brand new and very clean. The people at the reception were lovely and friendly, offering information each time we needed. The breakfast was rich and offered a wide selection (from fruit to cereals, yoghurt, many types of cheese, bread, jam, honey... anything you could wish for, plus coffee/espresso/latte macchiato).
The neighborhood is quiet, civilized, there are supermarkets down the street, and it is a short walk away from the centre (Stephansdom) and from the Prater. It also has a subway station right in front of the hotel, leading to the centre.
Overall it would say the Hotel Capri was the best choice and that we had an excellent stay. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: A room on one of the higher floors is a better choice - there is less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Hotel Capri, which says a lot in itself. It's a friendly hotel in a great location - walking distance to city centre and right by the U-Bahn, with a range of useful local shops, bars and restaurants nearby. The rooms are modern and comfortable and there is a great breakfast buffet. The thing that makes the Capri really stand out, though, is the helpfulness of the staff. We had complicated arrangements involving transport of bicycles which had to be packed up carefully and the hotel really helped, even going to the trouble of sourcing bike boxes for us from a local dealer before we arrived. I can't praise this hotel too highly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Vienna was a very nice surprise for us, mainly because how beautiful the city is and also because the high quality of life you can feel there. And Hotel Capri was fully aligned with that: excellent location, very friendly staff, clean and spacious room and very complete breakfast. We fully recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to stay in Vienna!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff was very nice, the room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious.


We had a great time at Hotel Capri. The hotel is very close to public transportation which is a big plus.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Good location, very near metro (across the road if you take the elevator up from the platform), walking distance to the river. Breakfast provided an excellent choice. Check in and out was very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms with view to the street tend to be a little bit noisy if you leave the window opened.Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had two rooms, one facing the street and one facing the back. The one at the back had a balcony and overlooked another apartment block, the one at the front no balcony and overlooking the street. We didn't find it noisy in the streetside room and we slept with the windows open - as others have noted, no air-conditioning. We had a view of the church from our bed! Rooms were spacious and clean. Good location, very near metro (across the road if you take the elevator up from the platform), walking distance to the river. Breakfast provided an excellent choice. Check in and out was very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - some of the street side rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff at the reception are really kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet offers a lot of different products and should have something for everyone. The quality of the food was very nice (and fresh).
We had booked a package online and when we got to the hotel, we were told that they had upgraded us to a premium room which was a real nice bonus. The room was large and had a big fridge (which came in handy as we had bought some products along the way that we wanted to keep cool). The room was clean and offered comfortable beds.
The bathroom was a bit on the small side. For me a larger shower would have been more comfortable. Having said that, everything was nice, working and clean. Which to me is a big deal. So overall the room and the bathroom were very nice.
The location of the hotel is great as there is a subway station about 2 minutes from the hotel that will take you into the city center (Stephansdom) in about 10 minutes.
The hotel offers private off street parking at a fee. If you want you can also reserve one of their garage boxes in advance.
I consider the price/quality (location) for this hotel to be very good and definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: A room at the front will experience a bit more noise but offer a nice street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#21 Family Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna.Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna’s subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.