We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Das Capri to your Saves list
Das Capri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was very good value for money. Well located and excellent breakfast. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful, will stay here again. The hotel does not look like much from the outside but inside it is perfect. Underground is located just outside the hotel so it is easy to reach other areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    308
    44
    6
    2
See reviews for
172
367
73
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the location of the hotel is very close to the city centre and easy to walk. the atmosphere and the service is fantastic, also the rooms have a nice design and the breakfast is absolutely excellent. There is nothing to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed three nights and loved the location. Just steps from the underground which got us to all the major tourist sites in no time. The room was clean, comfortable and very contemporary in style, with a small but brand new bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was varied and delicious. Would definitely stay here again the next time we're in Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Location feels remote and isolated from town center, but it is right next to an underground stop which is just 2-stops from Stephenplatz. Local neighborhood is pretty boring and unimpressive.

Hotel looks/feels small and undistinctive. But it is quite functional on the inside. Modern, sleek looks with glass elevator and broad staircase.

Our family room was a huge 2-room suite with plenty of open space, couches, desk and chairs. Furniture was a bit ordinary, though.

Bath and toilet were separate (good) -- former was big and had two sinks, but the latter was small enough to feel like an airplane toilet and had a tiny, unusable sink with no soap dispenser (?)

Bed was just ok, one of the reading lights was out. Comforter felt too warm, even with the radiator turned to low. Didn't sleep well at all. The worst problem was sound of footsteps from above. It felt like cardboard between our ceiling and the floor above -- could hear every movement like a poundin on my head :-(

Breakfast was usual (room was nice). Good variety of jams, honey, cheese, etc. Only hot items were boiled eggs and sausage.

Wifi coverage in the room was spotty and speeds a bit slow. Staff was not overly helpful and seemed to have limited knowledge of activities (or weren't inclined to over-share).

All in all, a good value hotel, somewhat removed from town center (hence lacking ambience), functional but not memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario G, Resident Manager at Das Capri, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear rajeevfromca,

Thank you very much for staying at the Capri on your recent visit and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback concerning your experience in our hotel.

Soap dispensers were already installed where missing – thank you very much for this important input!

We checked the Wi-Fi system and it seems to work well, the signal strength is good and we are able to provide high download speed. We are very sorry for that it did not work well when you stayed here.

You are right, we are not in the city center itself - to St. Stephans Cathedral one would walk 10 minutes or would take the Underground (in front of the hotel) for only 2 stops.

Actually we do not agree with your comment about the boring neighbourhood. Only 150 meters away you can find the Johann Strauß Museum (he composed the famous Walzer “An der schönen blauen Donau” right there), further you find the famous “Viennese Ferris Wheel” and the wonderful Prater 5 minutes away, Urania Observatory is around the corner, many very good and nice restaurants and bars are in the area…and the centre is in walkable distance

Anyway, it seems that our staff was not able to communicate this well. Normally we have very good knowledge of the City and Activities. We will investigate that and train even better and harder!

Thank you very much for taking the time to point out several things. It is really a big help in order to improve our services and facilities.

We are very sure and self-confident that for everyone looking for a small individual hotel in Vienna we are definitely the right choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsu, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in room 401 which is right in front of the elevator. I was a bit worried that there would be a lot of noise at strange hours of the night, but I was wrong. We couldn't hear anything from the hallway. Despite double-paned windows, some noise came in from the street, but that's to be expected. There is a lovely church across the street from the hotel.

The entrance to the subway station is literally 30 seconds out the front door. Buy your ticket and take the elevator down. We could take the Red Line 1 train from the station and be in the City Center (Stephansplatz) within 5 minutes. So convenient.

The rooms are spacious, with good closet space, a work desk and orange chair which adds some colour and atmosphere to the room. No problems sleeping 2 adults and 1 child to a king sized bed. We all slept well and kept warm despite the cold temperatures outside. Very comfortable.

Shower room is OK. Shampoo and body soap is provided, but probably best to bring your own rinse and conditioner during the dry winter months. Hair dryer is in the bathroom. Water from the tap is very drinkable. No need to buy bottled water.

Breakfast is included. Simple and good selection. Nothing special.

Wireless signal is not that strong. Many electrical outlets in the room, so you can charge all of your devices no problem. Just bring adapters.

For dinner, there are various restaurants available around the hotel (Japanese, Korean, Italian, etc.). We ate at Eatalico (Italian restaurant) down the street, and were pleased with the cost performance (about EUR 10-15/person). Unfortunately, the local Gasthaus Nestroy was closed on the Monday following Easter.

We saw a lot of families here from different countries. Service was very friendly, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, especially women traveling together and small families. I tend to be difficult to satisfy, but I couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the second time and we enjoyed our stay.The rooms are clean and nice . The breakfest buffet is very good.The underground station is very close to the hotel.The stuff is helpfull.The regular room is not big but is well orgnised.We will come again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this property for 7 nights. The location is so convenient, walkable from the major rail stations ( from the Praterstern suburban rail which connects to the airport via S7) and its proximity to the underground (the nestroyplatz station is just opposite).
the stay was very comfortable with friendly people at the desk.
rooms are spacious and clean. The interiors are very user friendly. Utility of space is well managed.
the breakfast spread is nice. Caters to the guest coming from all over the world including those who are vegetarians.

Room Tip: The standard double rooms are spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#20 Family Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna.Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna’s subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.