We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Capri

Save Saved
You added Das Capri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Das Capri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 370 hotels in Vienna
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Convenient and functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed there for five nights ..it was very convenient as the U bahn station is directly opposite the hotel. I arrived at 6am and they manage to get my room ready by 8am. It may look plain from the streets but my room was spacious and clean. Generally the staff were courteous and attentive but there was one day when they didn't do a thorough job cleaning my room. When i returned in the evening, the used coffee cups were left unwashed. Breakfast was hearty and adequate witha good range of salami, cheeses bread and beverages.

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite side from the street and with a balcony. Some of my colleagues complained ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    318
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
143
316
70
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

A good value hotel in a convenient location. Directly opposite metro station, close to rail links to airport and walking distance to city centre. Room was basic but large. Bathroom was similarly big and functional. Breakfast was very good, buffet style and large range of choice. Stayed here in August 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Capri with a friend for one night. When we arrived at the hotel we were a little concerned as the outside appears a bit dodgy. The lobby was sparse but clean and functional. Our room was quite nice. It was spacious, the bathroom was clean...overall, perfectly suitable. The breakfast (included in the price) was also satisfying. Luxurious, this place is not, but given how expensive Vienna is, we were overall very satisfied with what we got for the price we paid. Staff were generally helpful as well.

Most importantly, it is RIGHT NEXT to the subway, so getting to the major tourist sights (and beyond) is incredibly easy, which was awesome.

If you're going to Vienna on a romatic getaway and want champagne, chocolates and an opulent four poster bed...this is not your choice. If you're going to Vienna to sightsee and want a clean, comfortable, highly convenient hotel at a very reasonable price...I would definitely recommend Hotel Capri.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was very good. The rooms are huge in size. The bathrooms are also very spacious. The breakfast spread was also very good. All in all I will recommend this hotel to anyone. The location was also very good. Just 2 stops from Stephanplatz. The place has a very basic look from outside but do not judge this book called Hotel Capri by its Cover. The best part of my stay was the breakfast where you are served by the Angel whose name is Bianca. She used to liven up the room with her presence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Vienna or a weekend. This was a great hotel or my family. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Morning breakfast was European Continental, a nice selection. Convenient lotion for touring Vienna. Very good Italtian Restuarant located jut up the block. Front desk taff extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is our 6 – 7 time to visit Vienna and it was always city break. In that price range, by my criteria, this is definitely one of the best choices. Excellent location: city center in a foot range, underground station within 150 m, easily reached by highway. Rooms are clean and spacious, with fully equipped bathroom. There is one shortcoming, lack of air-condition. Buffet breakfast is good, variety of food. Parking is within hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful, trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I first stayed in this hotel in 2006 and enjoyed it so much that on a return visit to Vienna in Sept 2012 we had no hesitation in rebooking. This conveniently located establishment has a very friendly, attentive and courteous staff and the excellent breakfasts are memorable for us. Only breakfast is available in-house but this is not a criticism as there are plenty of eating establishments close by and within easy walking. One worthy of recommnedation is the "3/4 Time". This year we upgraded from a standard room to a superior room primarily because of the inclusion of tea/coffee making facilities and refrigerator (not in the standard room). For us this was very convenient as they are routinely available in Australian hotels. Additionally, this type of accommodation also provided us with larger room suitable to handle our travelling needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Vienna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#15 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna.Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna’s subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.