We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, bright and reasonable value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Das Capri to your Saves list
Das Capri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, bright and reasonable value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed in an “Executive” (Superior) twin room which overlooked Praterstrasse. Been a top floor room and with thick glass windows, traffic noise was not noticeable. Colour scheme was dark but bright colours (see hotel’s website). As I was alone only one bed was made up every day. Bed was pretty comfortable and pillow fairly soft/thin but it could be folded double if you wanted thicker. Central heating kept room warm.

Whilst room was spacious, the bathroom was a little more compact. The shower had good and constant water pressure and I never ran out of hot water. Room was serviced daily and the bathroom kept very clean and tidy. There are liquid soap dispensers next to sink and in shower.

Room had a large desk and on it was a tray with a kettle, cups, tea/coffee/sugar/milk. Also on the desk was a large flat screen TV with satellite offering +/- 100 channels in many different languages. There was also a small empty fridge in the room.

Breakfast was excellent. A good choice of cereals, fruits, breads/rolls, cheeses, cold meats, eggs (hard/soft boiled or egg spread), jams/spreads. There were small frankfurter sausages but no “English” breakfast food. To drink were fruit juices, tea, filter coffee and various “coffees” from a coffee machine. Seating was a little cramped in places but the tables and linen were clean and neat.

There is a free guest computer with internet access next to reception. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and I had not problems communicating in English. Guests can also make use of a luggage room behind reception if arriving early or leaving late. The room is kept locked and is opened by the receptionist.

Access to hotel via U-bahn is easy; go to Nestroyplatz and take lift from middle of platform; lift exit is in middle of Praterstrasse almost opposite the hotel.

Overall with a room that was neat and tidy, clean and comfortable, a tasty and filling breakfast, staff that were friendly and efficient, and easy access to public transport, I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Capri.

If you like local cuisine, try Café ¾ Takt just down the street. Tasty food, good portions, reasonable price and a relaxed atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    304
    44
    6
    2
See reviews for
171
361
73
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skiathos, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome from reception team, after a fraught journey. Cannot praise the staff enough, from Front of house, Breakfast room, Housekeeping and Maintenance man, A great team.

We had a problem with our daughters buggy that had been damaged in transit. A quick word with Janine, at reception, Christoph the maintenance man was called and within 10 minutes we were on our way. Ladies in the breakfast room were happy to allow us to wash the baby bottles after breakfast for us. They could not do enough to assist us and it was much appreciated.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, there is a great buffet breakfast, well stocked and great coffee from the 'Bean to cup' machine (Try the macchiato latte) or instant if you prefer.
Buy your Vienna card from reception, and in three days you will more than cover your travel costs whilst seeing the sights.

From the airport take the S-Bahn to Vienna mitte station its much cheaper than the CAT express train. The U-bahn at Landstraße (U3) is 50 metres away. Change at Stephensplatz for the U1

Note - There is no U-bahn at the airport.

The hotel is located two stops from the centre (Stephensplatz) on the U-bahn (U1) at Nestroyplatz. The lift from the platform level emerges on the centre reservation right outside the hotel.

Plenty of nice restaurants in the area, There is an italian just to the left as you exit the hotel. It was very good, and great value for money.

If you want a nice hotel, great staff and ease of location - this is the one for you ...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, absolutely delighted and will return.
It's about a 20 minute easy, pleasant walk from Stephensplatz. The rooms are being modernised and we stopped in one of the new rooms - clean, simple, comfortable, great beds, small but nice bathroom, absolutely no complaints. Breakfast - lots of choice fresh food and nice breakfast room. The staff are very helpful and want you to have a good stay.
We ate at 3/4 Takt just one minutes walk along the road - smoky but very good food at excellent prices. Had a lunch at Cafe Mozart just off Albertinastrasse which was super.
If you want to get the train from the airport to the main station in Vienna, then the hotel is an easy fast walk from it. No need to take a taxi, unless you have a lot of luggage, or have problems walking.
I think this is a really good hotel that represents excellent value for money.
M

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Capri Hotel. Whilst not part of the old city and just outside the Ringstrasse, it's actually about 10 minutes walk from the historic museums and palaces. The subway on U1 line is literally a stone's throw away from the hotel. So it is extremely well placed if you are happy to be just outside the city on a fairly main road.

Room was very clean and of a reasonable size. Bathroom, whilst not high end luxurious (and why should it be for the money) worked well with hot water at all times and thoroughly cleaned. Our room was on Praterstrasse and was a bit noisy, so I would ask for a quieter room away from the main street.

Buffet breakfast was generous, with a range of savouries (meat, cheese), fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals and wonderful breads. Self-service coffee from a fancy machine was excellent.

Staff at the desk were helpful at all times.

So, a small hotel with caring service. Good value for money in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersfoort
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

A good hotel, friendly staff and check-in desk, with a group of 10 people, went well and really fast. The rooms are quite large, wireless internet works fine. Modern TV.
Room decor, bed I found very little, reminded me of an Ibis. Functional but not luxury.
And something small but useful bathroom. Slightly to moderately towels, both size and number, and soap from a squeeze bottle on the wall, no other extras.
Location is very good underground line U1 opposite. But walking to the center, can also, a great fifteen minutes.
Breakfast is decent, sandwiches, boiled eggs, all kinds of fillings, savory and sweet, some fruit, coffee and tea, yogurt and cereals. Dining room at a hotel full of a little small, but around this time (Silvester) was more than reasonable charge occupied.
In short do you sleep and you do not expect luxury then this prime location hotel
Hotel has no restaurant

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for those who want to visit Vienna. A lift just across from the Hotel takes you down to the U Bahn from where all the major attractions & sites can be reached. at the end of the Praterstrasse to the right as you leave the hotel after the train station is Prater Park which has a Madame Tussauds as well as the famous Ferris wheel. I used the Qando app on my iphone and all you have to do is put in your destination and it will give you all the travel details. Whether its u, bahn,train, tram or bus.
We had a large spacious, comfortable room overlooking the Praterstrasse, the traffic did not affect us as we visited in mid December and we kept the windows shut.. The front desk Personnel go out of their way to help you with any queries. There was plenty of choice for Breakfast, The only suggestion I would make is that the wifi signal, really needs to be boosted on the respective floors as it was very weak on the 6th floor otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed in hotel Capri in mid july 2011 and all i have to say it was perfect ,

Room Tip: try and book on the lower floors , the lift is a bit slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46, Vienna A-1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna.Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna’s subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.