We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything special about this hotel, believe the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Altstadt Vienna to your Saves list
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything special about this hotel, believe the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I want to put some time into a decent review instead of a one paragraph throw away which I do not understand especially those that say 'nothing special' or 'lacks character'. I completely disagree wholeheartedly, there's everything special about this Hotel!!!

This hotel is one of the best romantic getaway hotels in a culturally rich European City. At first you will be greeted with a discreet entrance to the building with nary a soul in sight except to a large and spacious staircase up to the second level - the grand red carpet, large enclossed collosal candles and unusual mirror-shined steel plate on the side of wall give you a hint for the design epic that you will eventually step into. But don't let the less than grand side entrance and walkup to reception fool you, this hotel is as boutique and design as they get.

Each hallway had a theme and it was fun just exploring around and taking pictures of the different floors and rooms around the hotel (ranging from dark wood/maroon velvet, to playful light alice and wonderland style colors). The common dining/lounge area was exceptionally designed with a different theme for each room, high quality furnishing, you definitely feel the luxe and attention to detail that is infused into the design. We stayed in the "Felix" room (named from the floor carpet with a huge cursive felix inscribed into it - booked a standard design room and got upgraded - Thank you Aldstadt!) which we recommend to couples or soon to be coupling ;) The room is very large, dark, shape is odd with long hall and 1/2 nude prints on the wall and one on the ceiling above the bed, which got a good laugh but was very tastefully done per my girlfriend. Here is my stream of thoughts on the design deatils: the room is dark dark dark, dark wood trim, open air sink, second bathroom (with door) for toilet was a little odd off on the side, has an elevated corner with open bathtub illuminated from above (it looks amazing), the ceilings are extremely high, mini couch/coffee corner, illy espresso machine (with 4 complementary shots), super tall windows (with roll down darkening shades) facing interior courtyard (and opposite other voyeurs), really grand chandelier and exceptional mood lighting with a million unmarked 'figure me out' switches, needs more outlets for gadgets, odd mini TV standing on trip in middle of room, sheer curtained off area for hanging clothes (not exactly a closed closet), and walk-in dark tiled shower big enough to fit 10 (would not try it). This hotel definitely turned an intially questionable trip into a memorable and enjoyable one :)

The staff were exceptionally friendly. I can't stress this enough as an incredible value, esp. after somewhat of an abusive experience we foreigners experience in some Viennese dining facilities. The waitress during the morning breakfast was so friendly and helpful (always smiling - seems to be having the best day of her life working in the Aldstadt) she really made out day. The breakfast itself, mostly continental, and huge variety of cold cuts/dishes, tasty and filling (and included!) rounded out this stay.

I recommended this to my European Friends as well as any Americans who want to have a unique boutique romantic experience/getaway.

Location: ***** (by walking:8 minutes to the subway, 12 minutes to museum quarter, 20 to Karzplatz Church)
Service: ***** (Uber friendly, see review)
Design: *****
Food: **** (plenty, big spread, but more warm food options would be nice)
Price: **** (you get what you pay for, it's definitly a splurge but worth it)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    206
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
147
615
63
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful for our stay in Vienna. The room was clean and very comfortable especially the heated floor in the bathroom. The breakfast was first rate and the afternoon tea was an added treat. The staff were helpful and friendly. I don't think you could find a better hotel for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Altstadt in Vienna and were impressed with this hotel. We consider ourselves very experienced travelers.

Hotel Altstadts' staff were friendly, helpful and courteous throughout our stay, and even taught us a bit of German! The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. Daily cleaning staff was excellent. The breakfast was phenomenal, with a large selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, fruits, breads and pastries, plus made-to-order eggs and coffee's of every kind! In addition, the staff recommended a fantastic restaurant, called Schnattel - Danke!

It's location is close to the metro, to great restaurants and just a 10 minute walk to the Vienna historic ring. Vienna's metro system is very easy to navigate as are the streets.

If we have occasion to visit Vienna again, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Altstadt, thank you for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The building used to be a bourgeois place in the Neubau area , close to the Museumsquartier and Volkstheater. You can walk to Maria Hilf or Ringstrasse easily.
The staff was very helpful - I liked the lady serving the breakfast and getting me a perfect 5 minute egg every day.
The rooms are a mix of ancient and modern design - I will go there again.
As the hotel is a few meters from the main streat it is a calm place.
The living room serves as a bar in the late afternoon and evening with friendly caring service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We choose the hotel because of the great reviews in Tripadvisor and still were pleasantly surprised about this amazing hotel.
We ordered a double room and got a fabulous apartment.The design was amazing,the comfort and service all you could wish for.The breakfast was so good with all the fresh fruit and other goodies.The service outstanding,In the beginning we thought it wasn't really central but we got everywhere by walking or with trams and subway really close. It is really worthy to take bus 48A to or from the Volkstheater station if you don't feel like walking.
I can't think of a better place to enjoy this special city. My compliments to the owner for his exquisite taste in design!!!
If I come back to Vienna I will choose the Altstad again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was small but mighty! The rooms are renovated old flats, so they are quite large. They have very high ceilings and we had a view of the peaks of some nice churches in the distance. They were doing road construction when we were there (May 2013). Not the fault of the hotel at all, but it was a bit noisy, so maybe inquire if that is still ongoing and get a room on the other side other building! Our 5 year old needed a Dr. when we were there and the front desk was very helpful! The only parking is a bit of a walk away, but we didn't mind because we were there to see the city after all.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a walk so make sure you have all you need when you check in, you won't be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Altstadt is set in a very substantial old Viennese building with a beautiful huge internal staircase. (there's a lift too). the entrance is very understated and the reception is on the first floor where the staff are very friendly and very helpful.

My room (1.) on the second floor was great. Very stylish and beautifully decorated with a comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and strong wifi. It faced the internal courtyard which is never a problem for me when on business, as it's lovely and quiet! in fact not a sound could be heard.

The breakfast is excellent and the various rooms that are both dining areas and lounging areas are very comfortable well decorated.

The whole hotel has an arty feel due to lots of interesting art and the relaxed and friendly atmosphere; this takes nothing away from it's delivery of a great night's sleep in a very comfortable and stylish room.

Room Tip: My room, 1, was lovely rich dark colours and a beautiful chandelier dominating the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altstadt Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.