We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Classic Hotel Wien to your Saves list
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien) (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Vienna was the first stop on a 3-week holiday in Europe my daughter and I took this summer. I was a bit weary of booking hotels I didn't really know. I wanted to stay away from the typical hotel chains we find in North America - and enjoy something more classic and traditional of the places we were visiting and the Austria Classic didn't disappoint. It even exceeded my expectations! It was spacious, comfortable and quite elegant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good and very convenient. We found it quite central to everything and within walking distance to the metro as well as to many attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was included in our rate - and we enjoyed it - good start to our busy days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    275
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
136
317
49
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

It is located at 1 block from the metro station and 1 block from the train station, you can reach every point of interest at walking distance, breakfast is good and yes the hotel is old nevertheless accounts with everything you need, people is nice and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This turn of the century motif hotel is located just minutes from the Parterstern Bahnhof where all your underground connection of trains for the city and airport are located. We got a gracious greeting from the front desk and was quickly signed in. We were very early so we had our bags stored so we could sight see. The hotel has a very fast and free Wi-Fi along with a free hot breakfast and some incredible coffee. The weather was cool outside but there was plenty of warmth inside. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly, our hotel room was on the street side but the night was quiet. There are fabulous restaurants and coffee bars close and so is the inner scenic city just 15 to 20 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Although we found the street rooms quiet and more picturesque reserve the back room for a much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed with my family at the Austria Classic Hotel Wien two times during our trip to Austria. Both times the stay was extremely comfortable. The staff at the reception is hugely helpful and extremely polite. During our first stay, our room was enormous and very comfortable. We had booked it through expedia.co.in. The room was well appointed and ready for us, although we had arrived early in the day. The people at the reception helped us with the best routes that we could take to reach the tourist attractions. The second time, the room was much smaller though there was no difference in the comfort of the room. The hotel is a few minutes walk from Praterstern station and close to the Praterstern Amusement Park. It is also at a walking distance from the Vienna Sightseeing Hop on Hop off tour bus stop. However, it is quite a distance from the airport. This is not a problem if you are arriving in vienna during day time. But if you are to catch an ealry flight out, like we had to, I would recommend taking a taxi. It is a bit expensive (approx 36 euros) but a lot more comfortable. If you let the reception know, they arrange the taxi for you at the appointed time. The brakfast spread is the same everyday and wholesome, if not very creative. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling with family.

Room Tip: The quadraple suite is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I found this hotel to be convenient, quiet and a good value. It is located very close to an underground station on Praterstrasse and is also very close to an S-Bahn station. Both are in very easy walking distance. The staff was helpful and the room was very clean. The breakfast was excellent. By underground the center of the city is only minutes away. There are a number of reasonably priced restaurants close to the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room that does not face Praterstasse as this is a busy street. Most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our first time in Austria and will not be our last. In this hotel we found pleasant staff, a clean room with good facilities free wi/fi and a hot and cold big breakfast to get you started in the morning. Although it's not right in the centre it's only a fifteen minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. Looking around this is a fair priced hotel and we enjoyed our time here. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIENNA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a good stay in Wien. Good breakfast. Clean rooom. Excellent location and service nearby Securly i will check this hotel for my future trip in Wien..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Vienna
#29 Family Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Classic Hotel Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.