We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most miserable stay in our three-week vacation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien

Save Saved
You added Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rennweg 99 / Rinnboeckstrasse 1, Vienna 1030, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Most miserable stay in our three-week vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We didn't choose this hotel because we were on a tour. We have already told the tour company that it was the one place on our itinerary that really fell short. Since it was part of a package, we have no idea of the cost. So, perhaps for the cost, it's worth the inconvenience, but we were not happy.

Yes, it's near a tram stop, but that was the only positive part of its location. Our view was of a car dealership. Since Vienna is such a cultural city, being stuck way out of the city center in such a nondescript neighborhood was quite a disappointment. There was nothing enticing about the retail/business/industry area that encouraged strolling around outside.

The breakfast was OK. But, really, scrambled eggs in a juice cup? What was that about? Once again, this hotel suffered greatly in comparison to other hotels on our tour. This breakfast was barely qualified for being more than a continental breakfast, far from a full European breakfast buffet that we had other places.

The worst part for us, however, was how hot it was. We kept trying to turn our air conditioning down. The dial said it would go to 19, but it never got below 21. That's pushing 70F, and far too warm for us to be comfortable, especially at night. When we told the front desk that there was something wrong with the AC because it wasn't responding to our repeated attempts to turn the temperature down, they said, "Oh, it never gets below 20." Then we asked for a fan. They didn't have one. So, our only option was to open our huge, over-sized window, which meant we couldn't draw the drapes. Try sleeping when you're too hot and have to deal with the lights of a car dealership shining in your eyes. While this was frustrating, what really irritated us was the lackadaisical attitude of the staff. Too bad for us we weren't comfortable. We spent two miserable, sleepless nights--not something you want to experience on a long-awaited vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
45
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Recently stayed for six nights at the Vienna Trend Hotel Doppio. It is conveniently located right across the street from a tram stop that will transport you to the center of Vienna and "The Ring" area. For the price it is hard to beat! Rooms (Superior) was very spacious. The breakfast buffet (included) was sumptuous. For about $5.00 extra they will fry you a couple of eggs with ham. There are other egg choices, however, included in the free breakfast. Would definitely stay again. The staff was helpful, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel on excellent location in quiet street , beside botanic garden and 2 min. walk from Belvedere. Private parking is available.It is near bus station but you can easily walk to the center. Stuff is very professional and offer very useful information.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, nice, qualified personal !
I'll be back in Wien at Doppio ! Good location, close to the City, good restaurants
( Salm Brau ) and Belvedere Palace ! 5 minutes from the Altstadt ( Downtown - Wien )...Wir waren Zufrieden !

Room Tip: all of them are Good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Been there for a short time. New, clean and good hotel with convenient prices. On the one hand not to close to the city center, as you need to travel like 15 min by tram, on the other just next to the motorway with a free parking. Rooms are silent with double glass windows so you don't hear any nose from the motorway at all. Big rooms with comfortable beds. Haven't tried any food there. Good place for a short stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Clean hotel...seems to be newly built and in a great place for the business traveler. For the holiday visitor, it is too far out of town to walk. There is public cable car near for travel in to town that is easy to take. However, I wouldn't use it after dark. The hotel is located on the side of town that is an industrial area. They have no real restaurant and no room service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is new and looks good. We stayed there for 2 nights. Liked: parking, cleanliness, wifi, room amenities. Didn’t like: payment before entering the room, size of room windows (large and double, good soundproof, for opening not so much), air condition a bit too loud, bathroom door too big and impractical.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien

Address: Rennweg 99 / Rinnboeckstrasse 1, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Trend Hotel Doppio Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.