We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Topazz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Topazz to your Saves list
Hotel Topazz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Right after Budapest we moved to Vienna. It was even more difficult to make a hotel choise there, because Vienna has soo much Hotels. And all of the m look nice and reasonably priced. But we been atracked by modern design of Topazz hotel. And finally we have been absolutely pleased by rooms, location and service. Great place with unique organic design.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Zac K,

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We highly appreciate it and we would personally like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at Hotel Topazz.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel TOPAZZ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    50
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
119
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Arrived from Budapest to Vienna a few days ago and checked into the Topazz. The Topazz is a quirky design led hotel with tasteful and interesting features. We checked into our room and asked for a change as it didn't have the characteristic port holes we asked for when booking. The lady who booked us in Julia was brilliant and gave us the perfect room. We didn't opt for breakfast but the hotel has a lovely salon on floor -1 which has free drinks between 12 and 10.30pm. The hotel is very central, a few mins from Stephens and 20 mins from the Museum quarter on foot.If your are a foodie there is a jaw dropping deli and coffee shop over three floors opposite.
I summary - lovely hotel, great staff, good location

Room Tip: Choose 5th floor rooms with a view, no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mr. JeffbeckD,

Thank you very much for your review and for having chosen to stay with us during your last trip to Vienna! It´s a great pleasure to hear that everything from our service to our lovely rooms, as well as our salon and the central location impressed you!

In the future, please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do for you in order to make your stay even more pleasant.
On behalf of the entire team, especially from Julia, we would like to thank you again for your charming comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

With best regards from Vienna,

Yours

Team Hotel TOPAZZ Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights.
The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna, in a perfect location for the visit of the city.
The rooms are modern with circular windows, but in my opinion are too small.
Excellent free mini bar in the room, but the staff is not qualified enough for a five-star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr. 71Jack,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad that you liked the design of our award-winning Hotel TOPAZZ.

We are awfully sorry that you haven´t been completely satisfied with our staff.
Our supreme goal is the satisfaction of our guests and we are constantly trying to improve our services.

We do hope that you will be visiting us again in the future in order for us to be able to show you that Hotel TOPAZZ can in fact provide everything you rightfully expect from a hotel of our kind.

Yours faithfully

The HOTEL TOPAZZ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of December. The location is amazing, absolutely central and believe me, when you choose Vienna in winter you had better have a warm,central refuge near for a couple of stops during your walks. Our room was the prestige and I recommend that you insist on having two oval windows. Lovely views and ambience. The decoration of the room was really nice, simple but stylish. The nespresso machine comes after a request and we had as many capsules as we asked for. Very generous! The breakfast was delicious, though more health oriented than I would prefer. You can also order from a menu, but again limited choices and if you consider the price, not a value for money. Another negative point is the personnel. They seem to have many different posts at the same time, as they serve the Lame Hotel as well, just opposite the street. Not a very good image. They also seem to have no strict supervision,resulting not only in rudeness but even worse in a chaotic organisation. For instance, the free snacks offered in the Salon at specific times were literally never on time or never there at all! As for the cleanliness, they should definitely invest more money and time for such a hotel. The ladies were always very forgetful. The towels were becoming fewer and fewer every day and they once forgot to empty the bin in the bathroom. Finally, the night of our departure they had to refund some money after a wrong charge the day of booking( I had their written assurance ), and when we asked for that,the manager was very rude and stated that normally he wouldn´t give back the money at that late hour. How can the guest know when the right hour for them is?? For 300€ per night I have experienced muuuuch more politeness and pampering.
All in all,not a disappointing stay but you have to be demanding to get what you deserve. The room was probably the best in this hotel and not the services. If you have seen two happy girls lying on the sofa in front of the oval window and waving, you know somebody had a good time up there!!

Room Tip: Choose a prestige room with two windows on the fourth floor. A corner window with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mrs.Vasilis,

First and foremost we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention. It is only through constructive feedback like yours that we can continuously strive to improve our services and offerings for our guests.

We are deeply sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Please be advised that this is not our standard and we will make sure to address your room challenges as well as your feedback concerning our front desk service with the appropriate department heads.
We do take comments like yours very seriously and we would like to assure that, in the meantime, the various issues have successfully been solved. Beside that we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel with the central location and our beautiful surroundings!
Again we would like to sincerely apologize for not having met all your expectations during your recent stay with us and we do, however, hope that you will be visiting us again in the future in order for us to be able to show you that Hotel TOPAZZ and the staff can in fact provide the service you rightfully expect.

In the meantime we remain

with best regards from Vienna

Hotel TOPAZZ Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a real gem: if you want to find a great centrally located hotel with a more personal touch Hotel Topazz is an excellent choice. We really liked the round windows and the creative design. Shower, bed and complimentary drinks were of great quality. The hotel staff was very friendly and offered great help with finding and reserving restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a prestige room with a city view and two windows, we really found this being worth of the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Juginem,

what is left for us to say other than: Thank you! Your five star feedback is a terrific compliment for our entire team and we could not be happier that you enjoyed everything- from the magnificent views of our round windows to the staff.
We hope to welcome you again in 2014- it will be a great pleasure for us! Wishing you all the best, peace and prosperity.

Best regards

Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of Vienna with a special VIP service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Close to Stephansdom, Figlmüller and Zanoni&Zanoni - what more can you ask for? Designer hotel, relatively small room (ask for the rooms with the round windows you can lie in), very friendly staff. Unfortunately no gym, but free drinks and snacks in the afternoon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for these lovely words about our Hotel Topazz. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have a gym in our hotel but we offer day passes for a gym very nearby. They have also a swimming pool and massages on request.

We look forward to welcome you again in 2014.

Best regards
Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of Vienna with a special VIP service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 3 day visit to vienna and stayed at hotel topazz. This is a great designer property with modern decor and very centrally located. Everything was within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They serve coffees, wines and teas in their basement lounge free to all guests. They also have a breakfast which we didn't pay for opting instead to eat breakfast at one of the numerous cafés in the area. Vienna is a beautiful city!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLorenzLamee, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Topazz, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Marie H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you had a great time and are looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next trip to Vienna!

We wish you all the best and a happy New Year.

Hotel TOPAZZ - situated in the heart of vienna with a special VIP service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Topazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazz

Address: Lichtensteg 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Topazz 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Topazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Topazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.