We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jugendstil / art neauveau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirche am Steinhof

Kirche am Steinhof
Baumgartner Hohe 1, Vienna 1140 Wien, Austria
01-91060-11-204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 310 Attractions in Vienna
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Jugendstil / art neauveau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This church may be visited only on saturdays at 3pm (or 4pm, pls check), it take about an hour and a half where a member of this magnificent shurch speaks about the architect otto wagner and the vision he had, when he built not only the church but the surrounding park and the hospital - most impressive, art nouveau /jugendstil all over, finely and with lots of love + green bucks renovated!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    27
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Steinhof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Is a mental Hospital but the Church is amazing. Build in "Jugendstil". The Church is surrounded by a very pretty garden. If you like old architecture you will love the Church.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not as grand as I had imagined”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked to see La Cerentola, which was fine, but I was a little disappointed by the Hall itself. I was expecting something very grand, but maybe because it was rebuilt in the 50s, it seemed rather bland.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Amazing Jugendstil Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Open only on Saturday afternoons, but well worth the visit. The stained glass windows by Koloman Moser are amazing. If you are a fan of Jugendstil architecture and design, this is the most amazing structure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Completely unexpected, spectacular sight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I followed the advice of other TripAdvisor reviewers and visited Kirche am Steinhof today...and am so glad to have done so! This church is completely unique from any others I've seen. I also recommend taking the U (metro) to Ober St. Veit and walking from there instead of taking the bus all the way, if you can. The walk is just over 2 km and is up the hill on the way there, but it gives you a better flavor for where some of the Viennese actually live instead of only seeing tourist areas all the time. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirche am Steinhof also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Kirche am Steinhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirche am Steinhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.