We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiserappartements

Kaiserappartements
Michaelerkuppel | Hofburg, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
+43-1-533 75 70
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 296 attractions in Vienna
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We read up on Vienna before the trip and was rather fascinated by SiSi the Empress. So we visited Kaiserappartments to have a look at her carriage, bedroom, dining room, etc. We were underwhelmed as we felt the royals were not ostentatious enough, so in this sense, we were disappointed. She was, rather, a modern girl who had to stay within the regimented standards of those times. We were also not very interested by the clothes etc. Will recommend that the Kaiserappartments be skipped and that a visit to the imperial treasury (next door) to be made instead.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“ok but too many people for the space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The porcelain is worth seeing - huge displays of glorious services quite inspiring in design and overwhelming in sheer volume. Ditto the gold and silver services. Sisi Museum is overdone - she's obviously the Austrian Princess Di equivalent but you have to be in to that type of vacuous person-worship to enjoy it. The appartments are ok but nothing particularly special.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Good value and interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is really three museums in one, so represents very good value. You can book your tickets online in advance and then use a separate entrance to avoid the queues. Make sure you pick up an audioguide, which is very informative.

The Silver Collection (Silberkammer) is the collection of tableware - silver, gold, porcelain etc - used by the Habsburgs. Very impressive, particularly the 30m gold centrepieces. You need about 90 minutes to see the collection properly.

The Sisi Museum is devoted to Empress Elisabeth, who is evidently a famous figure in Austrian history. This section is no doubt fascinating if you know a bit about her - it seems a very detailed examination of her life - but to outsiders like me it's a bit dull. Allow 1 hour if you're a fan, race through in 20mins otherwise.

The Imperial Apartments are a more traditional look at the Habsburgs, particularly Franz Joseph, who comes across as a sympathetic figure. Anyone in the Empire could turn up for a personal audience with the Emperor, and they even have a tape-recording of his unvarying response. There's more stuff on Sisi, who evidently went off the rails a bit towards the end of her life. Allow 1 hour for this section.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,230 reviews 2,230 reviews
2,008 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
1,898 helpful votes 1,898 helpful votes
“A Must See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We took a tour of the Imperial Apartments using the audio guide. The first place we saw was the Chamber of Court Silver. There were many rooms which showed the gold and silver table ware used by the Habsburgs. There were many collections of porcelain china. Of particular beauty were the china sets that featured flowers and butterflies and birds. The porcelain that came from China and Japan was quite beautiful. The Milan Centerpiece consisted of gold plates and art objects. Later we saw the Sisi Museum, which discussed the life of this woman who had a mind of her own and was an intellectual in a time when women had a lower status than men. The last thing we saw was the Imperial Apartments. We saw how Franz Joseph led an austere life in the palace, because of his own choice.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crowdy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

It's one of the most popular places in Vienna, which means there's going to be a crowd. However it exceeded our expectations. We've got in early in the morning with the tickets purchased the previous late afternoon. The lineup was out on the Hofburgplatz by the time we finished the tour.

It's a nice tour, there is some repetition with the Schönbrunn Palace, but very very good overall. Get the free audio tour though (I've seen some folks that were going through without and they didn't have a clue at what they were watching).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiserappartements also viewed

 

Been to Kaiserappartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiserappartements, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kaiserappartements to your Saves list