We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3-star hotel in Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpha to your Saves list
Hotel Alpha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buchfeldgasse 8, Vienna A-1080, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Helsinki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great 3-star hotel in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel Alpha behind the "Rathaus" in Vienna is highly recommendable as a 3-star hotel. It is situated in a quiet street, but still at walking distance from the city centre (Hofburg etc). Also very close to U-bahn and tram. The staff is excellent (they speak English), the buffet breakfast is good. Fruit, coffee/tea complimentary during the day in the breakfast room. If you prefer transfer to the airport by taxi, they have a special deal with a taxi company. (in Nov. -12 it was 34 euros).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel Alpha. I appreciate very much that you also enjoyed the additional amenities we offer such as the complimentary coffee/tea and fruits.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon in Vienna.

Best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    109
    35
    9
    1
See reviews for
35
113
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First don't be put off by the rather dull exterior of the building - inside is birght, welcoming and has a lot of work by contemporary artists. The setting is fine - interesting neighbourhood with lots of 19th centruy palaces being refurbished (one on corner of block but not too noisy and must be finished soon). Good local restaurants around the area and it's very well located for the main museums, Hofburg Palace, old city etc. Very helfpul and pleasant staff - they booked us a meal at the Esterhazy Cellars as we didn't have the phone number, called taxis for the airport and got more stamps when they said they would. Breakfast is a good buffet, often quite busy but they have another area that can be opened up. We were a group of 20 visitng museum and the group arrangments of dates coming and going, room preferences etc were all met with no problems. Bathrooms perfectly reasonable size (despite other reviews, this is not an expensive holle and is in a capital city!), clean and very good showers.
Good value for money, very good base for a city break.Would stay here again - would be very handy for Christmas Market at the Rathaus (only being set up when we viisted). Great city - but ditch the diet before you get here!

Room Tip: From the floor plan it looked like room at end of corriodr had a bath not shower - ask if this is im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We,2 pairs, stayed in this hotel for 3 hights in November 2012. Personal are very friendly, rooms are clean and enough comfortable, but too small. Breakfast is very full. Free tee, cofee and fruits along a day. Location is very convenient to major sites in Old City. We higly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Mrs Regenfelder-Gassner at Hotel Alpha, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Alpha. You mentioned our three most important unique selling points:
- the location,
- our rich buffet breakfast and
- our customer-friendly service.

as well as we have taken good notice that you also enjoyed the complimentary tea-, coffee- and fruit service that is available throughout the day.

We hope to welcome you again soon and remain with best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel back on August. The first night they used my card for the routine check, but for some reason they actually charged one night at my account.

Then when I left, they charged me the whole stay (including the first night, which was so being charged twice). Some time after I came back to Spain, I noticed this mistake and contacted them by email. They insisted that they had not charged my account the first night (even after I showed my bank account charge), so I really felt like they had robbed that first night and couldn't do anything about it (If I had been at Vien, i'd had filed a report at the police).

After contacting my bank to see if I could ask VISA to somehow reject the payment, they noticed that the charge had been refunded two weeks after in my account. So in fact there was a mistake, but I was sent no notice nor any apology from the hotel management. In fact, I will never know if it was the hotel management or VISA the ones who fixed the mistake.

My stay was otherwise fine, but with so many hotels in Viena I won't risk repeating going through this experience, hotel Alpha is out of my list forever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager at Hotel Alpha, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

As your comment will be read by many future guests, we find ourselves in the situation that we have to post a response.

We regret that you have been faced with this unfortunate incident. However, we already informed you about our standard policy for the use of credit cards and we would like to confirm, for the record, that the hotel did not make two deductions from your credit card and strongly objects to the implication that you were robbed. We would suggest you clarify with your credit card company why a simple authorization was debited to your account as such authorizations are normally only to guarantee a booking in the case of a no-show.

We are glad that your stay was otherwise fine and hope that you will visit Vienna again.

Best regards,
Ulrike Regenfelder-Gassner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in September 2012. This is a pleasant, friendly, convenient hotel, ideal for tourists or businessmen. Spotlessly clean, with a full and tasty breakfast provided, the free tea and coffee in the lounge was very appreciated after a day's sightseeing. Rooms are compact but fine for two. The city centre is easily accessible via the Tram No 2 which stops every few minutes at the end of the quiet street. There was a little noise in the morning from around 7am from a nearby building being renovated, but not enough to worry us (earlier risers) and that will stop soon when work is completed. Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English. Powerful shower in the bathroom (but no bathtub) with plenty of hot water. TV channels were limited but who comes to Vienna to watch TV. I'd definitely recommend the Alpha

Room Tip: As at Sept 2012 rooms at the front may get building site noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Hotel Alpha and am impressed with the facility. Bottom line:
Upsides- Extremely convenient location to major sites in Vienna Old City and access to public transportation. Very polite, friendly, and helpful staff- they go out of their way to help you find places, order taxis, provide information on public transport options, recommend places to eat, etc. Very clean rooms. A good breakfast in the morning that is included in the room price.
Opportunities- Right now there is construction going on across the street, so there is some noise. Since I am a light sleeper, I was able to shut out the noise just by closing the window and turning on the AC. The rooms are modestly sized, but are very functional and have a safe, color TV, AC, access for the Internet, shower, heated rack for towel and drying clothes, and closet for clothes. The size of a double room for two people is listed at 19 square meters. Given the prices for the four and five star hotels in Vienna, this was a fair deal at Euro $99 per night. There was free wireless Internet downstairs in the lobby & breakfast room, but to get Internet in the room, there is a Euro $10 a day fee which is a bit excessive. Finally, the elevator (this facility has 4 floors) is the size of a phone booth, but you can always get your exercise by doing the stairs!

Overall, I was very pleased with the stay and the great hospitality of the staff in helping out with my visit. It is only a 10 minute walk to see Hofburg and numerous museums from the hotel. It is in a safe area, about 3 minutes walk from the Underground Subway station near Rathous. There are many restaurants close by if you need a quick meal. There is a basket of fruit in the lobby and free tea and coffee any time of the day. The breakfast buffet was high quality and featured various breads, fruit salad, cheeses, dried fruits, musli, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, numerous jams and jellies, espresso, coffee, milk, soymilk, and a wide variety of teas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third or fourth floor may help minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is located in a good area, very near the Rathaus. It is on a small street, on our first day we had some difficulty finding it. Our room and bathroom were small but clean. The hotel does not provide free internet in the rooms. You do have free internet in the lobby; however the system is a bit confusing: you have to ask for a password every 30 minutes, which implies an unnecessary complication. Breakfast was excellent (in particular the different types of first quality cheese), served in a nice area, and an employee constantly refilled the empty trays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha

Address: Buchfeldgasse 8, Vienna A-1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#124 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpha 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.