We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Schonbrunn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Palace and Museum

Belvedere Palace and Museum
Prinz-Eugen-Strasse 27, Vienna 1030, Austria
+43 1 795 57-134
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Belvedere Palace and Museum like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Vienna City Highlights Tour
Ranked #8 of 480 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Former residence of the Prince of Savoy consists of two palaces: one houses the Museum of Medieval Austrian Art and the Museum of Austrian Baroque; and a second contains the Austrian Gallery.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than Schonbrunn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This palace is smaller than overwhelming Schonbrunn, but I think this is a plus. It has a beautiful garden and a great collection of Art. We bout only the Upper ticket and it was more then enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,606
    1,428
    338
    47
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Superb View over Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Upper Belvedere offers an outstanding view over the city. I am not a great lover of art galleries but even I was impressed by the wide variety of paintings from painters such as Monet and Renoir.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of Geneva
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“What an amazing palace and Klimt museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Splendid garden and beautiful palace! But more importantly, home to the magnificent art pieces of such artists as Gustav Klimt, Egon Schiele, and sometimes on loan..works of Van Gogh. This is one sight that is not to be missed. It is such a beautiful place with so much history. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Wow just amazing!!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Such a beautiful place, just breathtaking."
Inside and out, one of my favorite painting's of all time THE KISS, by Gustav Klimt was even more beautiful in person!"
Only thing I was very upset about, is picture taking is not allowed inside any of the museums!
Very disappointing!!!
But other then that we really enjoyed our selves, went with our 3 children they relly enjoyed it too!" very nice that children under 18 are free!" a plus there!" :)
Would definatley go back!"

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas
Top Contributor
1,134 reviews 1,134 reviews
531 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
610 helpful votes 610 helpful votes
“What an amazing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is one sight that is not to be missed. It is such a beautiful place with so much history. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belvedere Palace and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Belvedere Palace and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Palace and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.