We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Vienna Prater

The Vienna Prater
Prater 9, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)
728-05-16
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Vienna Prater like an insider
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Vienna Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus...
Ranked #56 of 480 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vienna's landmark amusement park features the familiar 65-meter-high Giant Ferris Wheel that towers over the park's 200 booths, ghost train, go-karts, merry-go-rounds plus a Plantarium and the Prater Museum.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was disappointed by the general feel of the Park. Maybe it was because we visited it on a working day, I don’t know.
It felt deserted, just a few people in the park, even fewer on the rides. Some rides were closed- probably due to the lack of people at that time.

It does seem to animate more in the evening when people finish work/school. In the evening it’s nice to walk in the park with all its lights and people walking around you.

There wasn’t a fixed price at the entrance. You have to pay for every ride, which is good to some extent. The prices are between 2-5 Eur per ride as far as I remember.

My husband did enjoyed it – he is like an amusement parks collector, needs to go to every one if possible.

My advice would be not to go there with high expectations – I was expecting it to be very populated like Disneyland and this is why i was so disappointed

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    556
    281
    82
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“NYE and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved the fireworks on NY Eve but have eye protection handy! The ash falls right on you and even our regular glasses didn't keep it out of our eyes. It was spectacular, though. But - pack your patience it was crowded! We went back another night and walked all around it in the dark. Some thought it was creepy and some thought it was cool to do so. Some of the rides were open.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun on the prater, but many closed attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited the Prater on 26 December only to find most of the rides and attractions closed. We enjoyed the big wheel and had a really good schnitzel at a little pub on the Prater. Will definately go back to see Madame T's etc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

There was a longish queue and the wait looked much longer than it actually was due to the fact that the carriages take about 15/20 pax. There are some very interesting models just before going into the carriage. The trip up towards the skies is very interesting and shows some fabulous views of Vienna. Very much worth the €9.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRNO
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Jolly good fun in Pratr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

What is called PRATR in Wienna is a really big area including woods, fields, lakes, parks. Those who like biking can hire a bike here and rest thein mind while body is working. My heart was pleased with the ride on the historic Wheel. You do not have to be scared even if you suffer from claustrofobia the move is so slow. You have time to admire the city and the green parts of Pratr, the combination is great reminds you of intertwined past and present time. One ride is similar to your life – start means you were born – at the top you are in love – going down and petting slower – you are old. Have a good ride – have a great life !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vienna Prater also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to The Vienna Prater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vienna Prater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.