We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Drawings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albertina

Albertina
Albertinaplatz 1 | In the Imperial Palace, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
43 (0) 534 83 0
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #24 of 296 attractions in Vienna
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“More than Drawings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Albertina is principally known for its collection of prints and drawings and these obviously cannot be shown other than in short temporary exhibitions. However it also has been given a collection of paintings from impressionist to modernist that makes it a real must for art lovers. The temporary exhibitions, if like the current one on the Emperor Maximilian and Durer, are much more accessible than they may sound. Unfortunately the State rooms were closed on the day we visited but even without I rate it as unmissable if you have a couple of days in Vienna.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    299
    93
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“The pleace where I go everytime I am in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Albrtina has a great atmosphere, the interior is white with the red carpet. You may see there the Habsburg rooms also, not even the exhibition. It is near to Sach hotel, You should visit both. From the terrace you will have a view to Opera, Sachr and more...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Weird mix...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I really didn't get it. To me, it looked like a mix of things without any concept to connect them... Probably, there shouldn't be one, but still, I got a weird feeling of disappointment. There are 3 main parts - impressionists, the prints in the rooms and some medieval thingies of Kaiser Maximilian epoque. Two latter didn't catch my eye at all. The main aim of my visit was the impressionist exhibition. But it turned out to be so small. Don't expect too much if you decide to go :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The Albertina currently has an unmissable exhibition of works by Durer and others on the life of Maximillian 1 (who modestly declared himself Holy Roman Emperor) really worth seeing, especially the 50 meter 'diorama' of Maximillian's imagined grand parade. This.is as well as the very significant Batliner Exhibition Monet to Picasso which many works I have not seen before.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Do visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The permanent exhibition “Monet to Picasso” worth seeing for everyone who has a soft spot for the art. Matisse, Degas, Toulouse-Lautrec, Monet, Picasso and others. Not many paintings, for some just one or 2, Picasso however is well presented.

State Rooms are marvelous and some paintings and drawings are presented on the walls. There’s no need in audio guide, unless you really want it. All paintings and drawings are signed and as far as rooms there’s an indication of who and what and when but only in German. I don’t speak the language, but I could read names and sort of imagine the rest. The only one paragraph I was interested in and a nice fellow tourist near by were kind enough to translate for me.

The Exhibition “Maximilian I” is interesting and whether you’re a fan of the emperor or never heard of him it is definitely worth seeing. There’s an audio guide but the information is extensively presented in English on the walls, so if you’re not a fan of audio guides skip it. I did.

11 Euros for all exhibitions.
After you treat your soul stop for lunch or dinner in Augustiner Keller (same building).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albertina also viewed

 

Been to Albertina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albertina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Albertina to your Saves list