We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Vegetarian friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Da Angelo

Trattoria Da Angelo
Liliengasse 3, Vienna 1010 , Austria (Inner City)
01 5137810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and Vegetarian friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant on our last trip to Vienna. We often choose Italian because we are usually able to find something on the menu for vegetarians. The waitress was very accomodating and said they could accomodate us for whatever we liked. I ordered a penne arrabiato that was not on the menu and it was lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Unacceptable treatment of customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We returned to Vienna for another marathon and decided to have some carbo-loading at this restaurant as we loved it last year (see previous review). This time a chair was used to prevent entry by customers (?). It was pretty busy, but some guests were preparing to leave, so we waited. For 5 minutes, no one asked what we wanted (well, not difficult to guess). When these guests left, I asked the lady whether they had a table for 3. All we got was a cold: "closed".
She certainly misses some English skills as they were obviously not closed, but may be fully reserved. We will never visit this place again, because having a bad day or too many guests is just not a valid reason to behave like this.
Fortunately a few 100 meters away we then found Fratelli that is just a stylish Italian restaurant
with polite waiters and outstanding food.
Sometimes I have the impression that it is not too healthy to write too many too things about a pocket-size restaurant as they get frustrated by the sheer number of customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely little Italian Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recommended by our hotel, we enjoyed a lovely pre-theater dinner here. The octopus carpaccio is fabulous. I would love to go there again just for that. The husband and wife duo are friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed watching him cook and chatting across the counter as he did so.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“Amazingly tasty food!!! Very pleasant atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I absolutely recommend this place for it's cozy atmosphere and really good food! Veal liver is just perfect! Never tasted anything better! And the seafood is great! Very friendly owners! I would rather go there again and again instead of the famous Plachutta

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just average italian food which you can get everywhere around the city.
Good family atmosphere and nice location but do not expect something special.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Angelo also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Trattoria Da Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Da Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.