We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabriel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gabriel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gabriel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landstrasser Haupstrasse 165, Vienna 1030, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Springfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We got our room, and I found some small insects in the bathroom. I asked receptionist to fix the problem, and he gave us another room saying that it was the last spare room. Later I found some small bugs (not bedbugs) there too.
Breakfast was excellent: sausages, cheeses, fresh fruit, vegetabes, scrambled eggs, yogurt, canned fruit, etc.
The quality of wireless Internet was very poor.
The worst part was on our check-out day. We asked for a wake-up call, and the receptionist didn't change the hotel clock to summer time, so we were almost late for our flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
17
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good things first: The location is good-Belvedere Palace and Prater are close by tramline.

Not so good things: This is an old fashioned hotel. The staff except for one old lady is ok. We had booked a room with a large double bed but we were given a room with twin beds so we asked for another room and we were treated in an unpolite manner. The new room given to us was on 2nd floor and it had no elevator/lift and no one to help us carry our bags to the 2nd floor!!

Recommended only if you don't get any other hotel in Vienna !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely little hotel, with a somewhat convenient location. Especially if you're arriving in Vienna via the International Busterminal, you love a good walk and don't want to get ripped off on accommodation, then this is the hotel for you.

I say the location is somewhat convenient, because getting to the centre is quite simple, everything you want to see is about three streets away. That is, if you don't mind walking for an hour - or getting the metro. If it's your first time in Vienna or you're there as a tourist, obviously you want to see as much of the city as you can and Landstrasser Hauptstrasse - where the hotel is located - is the perfect starting point. The hotel is located at the very end, close to the International Busterminal, but if you walk up the shop-studded street you will arrive at Stadtpark (City Park) in around 30 minutes. From there, you're just a much shorter walk away from all the sights in Vienna. It can seem like a lot of walking, but there is always the metro if you want a shortcut, but I found most of Vienna too beautiful to miss.

The staff at the hotel were very polite and accomodating, the breakfast included in the price was quite decent, the room was clean, comfortable and the free wi-fi was reliable. The TV was flatscreen and had a choice of a few English channels (CNN, BBCnews). The room was equipped with a safe (free to use with a key requiring 100% refundable deposit), but no minibar/fridge (only downside). The entire hotel is quite aesthetically pleasing (the rooms have chandeliers!) and undeniably an excellent deal for its price range, I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and it is well worth the money! The staff is friendly, speaks good English and the front desk is open 0-24. It is well-situated and easy to find (approx.10-15min walk from U3 Schlachthausgasse). My room was on the 3rd floor and it was nice, clean and quiet. Had everything a traveller like me needed! :) Breakfast is included in the price and has a wide range of selection. I will definitely stay at Hotel Gabriel again and strongly recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a room at friend's house in Vienna for 6 days and needed to find a place to stay for one extra night. I found hotel Gabriel on internet and made a pretty late call at 1AM to see if there's a free double room that we could rent. Staff at the reception desk sounded great and we arrived in the morning to make a check in. I was blown away by how simple everything was; we were paced in a cute room within 5 minutes. The room was spacious, extremely clean and warm and in a quiet surrounding. I had the best sleep in Vienna that night. In the morning we had breakfast that was included in the price of 75 euros which we found was a great deal, considering it was the holiday season as well (3. of January). Breakfast was in the form of all you can eat buffet and the choice of food was great, there were salamis, sausages, all kinds of cheese and pastry, tea, coffee, juices, marmalade and muesli. The staff was extremely pleasant and we really enjoyed every second of our stay at this hotel.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Been here for a weekend to see Vienna and enjoyed myself so much. Hotel is good located and has very friendly personel. Breakfast is great, there is lots and lots of everything. Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

It is not in the heart of the city, but still very easy to get to all the important places in Wien. Good, clean rooms. Maybe not quite warm enough during winter time, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel

Address: Landstrasser Haupstrasse 165, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.