We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabriel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabriel to your Saves list
Hotel Gabriel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landstrasser Haupstrasse 165, Vienna 1030, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a room at friend's house in Vienna for 6 days and needed to find a place to stay for one extra night. I found hotel Gabriel on internet and made a pretty late call at 1AM to see if there's a free double room that we could rent. Staff at the reception desk sounded great and we arrived in the morning to make a check in. I was blown away by how simple everything was; we were paced in a cute room within 5 minutes. The room was spacious, extremely clean and warm and in a quiet surrounding. I had the best sleep in Vienna that night. In the morning we had breakfast that was included in the price of 75 euros which we found was a great deal, considering it was the holiday season as well (3. of January). Breakfast was in the form of all you can eat buffet and the choice of food was great, there were salamis, sausages, all kinds of cheese and pastry, tea, coffee, juices, marmalade and muesli. The staff was extremely pleasant and we really enjoyed every second of our stay at this hotel.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
22
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
prague
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Been here for a weekend to see Vienna and enjoyed myself so much. Hotel is good located and has very friendly personel. Breakfast is great, there is lots and lots of everything. Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

It is not in the heart of the city, but still very easy to get to all the important places in Wien. Good, clean rooms. Maybe not quite warm enough during winter time, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If the location were convenient, maybe one could look past the poor quality of the hotel, but this place has nothing going for it! The furniture is pressed wood, curtains are vinyl, very hard concrete floors under basic carpeting, and mold in bathroom(not just in shower). One of our windows only had a sheer curtain, nothing to block out the light (or the view inside), which was the hotel's bright marquis sign. The areas around the lightswitches were very dirty, and overall, the condition was shabby. While not terribly far from the city center, it is a 10 minute walk or a tram ride to the metro.
Absolutely would not recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We are a family of four in a quad-room, it was nice and clean,only missing a bar fridge!!!,staff were very friendly and helpful!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durdevac, Croatia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in triple room for one night in this hotel. If you ever plan to visit Wien in order to see a music concert (as we do) in "Arena Wien" venue (Baumgasse 80) this is perfect choice! Hotel is 10minutes walk away from venue.
Hotel is placed in 3rd district, few underground stops from famous shopping street "Maria Hilfestrase". It` a basic 3* hotel, with no air-condition and Wi-Fi available everywhere. It was not a minus for us, we were to short there to use it anyway. Triple room could be bigger as bathroom too, but it was enough space anyway. Hotel has two buildings so I suppose the one faced on to the street is louder but the other one faced to the garden is perfect. Hotel have own green garden with nice tables and chairs for breakfast or just relax. It`s clean and natural, there are even squirrels there. In general rooms are clean, beds are big and clean, hallways are clean, everything is clean. Hotel does have parking in own yard for app. 10 cars / 10 euro per day. It`s also possible to park in nearby garage for 10 euro a day. There are lots of hot dog stands, kebab, pizzas, bakery, and supermarkets few meters away from hotel so you can`t be hungry :). There is also 0-24hrs Agaip gas station nearby if you need something overnight. Kebab or hot dog is app. 2,50-3,50euro. If you take hotel breakfast you also won`t be hungry. Breakfast is nice, with many dishes, traditional Austrian cheese, ham,...etc. The staff speaks English great as other languages and well. (lots of Croatian and Serbian people works there :)

Room Tip: Take a garden faced room and a yard parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Very friendly staff, small hotel, in a location with many restaurants. The bathroom size is about the same as the room. Which are both small. If you like to watch television, don't bother, very small set, placed on top of the wardrobe in an impossible angle to watch.

Room was very warm, simple table fan provided, but you need to choose: either try to watch television or have the fan on. With the dan on you can barely hear the television on full volume.

Wifi only works in the reception area, not in the rooms as claimed on the website.

Breakfast - included in price - is ok.

Bottom line: if you stay only a couple of days and don't care about the above: good hotel/pension.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriel

Address: Landstrasser Haupstrasse 165, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.