We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect meal in a soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vietthao

Vietthao
Friedrichstrasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
ganei tiqwa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect meal in a soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

It was cold outside an we looked for something fast and not heavy. We got to the place through tripadvisor. The decor was old the food was something else.
Fresh, spicy, light.
We took a large bowl of beef soup with a lot of vegetables and spring rolls with tofu.
It was all good for that cold autumn night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must-try!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Vietthao is a small restaurant that deserves large praise!! The owners are lovely people, so down to earth and super friendly: he takes care of the front of the house and she cooks. Every year they return to Vietnam to learn new recipes and techniques. The dishes are simply amazing; fresh, vibrant, nicely plated and just yummy! All for a very reasonable price!
Would recommend to reserve beforehand since seating is limited and they turn tables like crazy!

It's our favorite Vietnamese restaurant and we even had our the-day-after-the-wedding-lunch there since they prepare special dishes from 10pax and onwards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small Vietnam , big on taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I chose to eat at Vietthao, by following the best review on TripAdvisor. They are right. Excellent food. They have about 10 tables outside and inside, but it's too hot. No AC !!! One of the many problems in Vienna . This is my best Vietnam restaurant in Vienna from now on :). But just an advise, pls check your bills carefully, I was over charged by mistake due to the cash-machine, they said. Bon Appetite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh visually appealing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Happened upon Vietthao on our way home from the subway having taken the wrong exit! We are so glad we did, we stopped for a beer as it was very hot, lovely Vietnamese waitress who waited on us, we decided to have a light lunch, ordered spring rolls, they were full of vegetables, cuunchy and delicious then we had sweet and sour prawns which were equally as delicious and such a visually appealing dish, red capsicums carved like a flower,
cucumber carved exquisitely, almost a shame to eat. Reasonable prices.

Would definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Short visit in vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

In the hot days ,we looked for food which in not heavy like the austrian food . We found this little restaurant and enjoy every dish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietthao also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Vietthao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietthao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.